We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is really bad! Limits all the time, no recomendable for a good vacations.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qualton Club Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Qualton Club Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Qualton Club Ixtapa
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Escenica, Playa Linda | Zihuatanejo, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Ixtapa
Leon, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The service is really bad! Limits all the time, no recomendable for a good vacations.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Was a bad experience, I always try to show the good things about one place, but unfortunatly this hotel has only a few good reasons to stay there.
My big family and me visited the hotel in the easter week, the receptionist had normal atentions! But when we were in the restaurants or bars, the staff was more worried in to prohibited everything than to make feel good!
Only I saw one smile on the barman in the discotec, but in other moments never got a greeting of good morning or wherever..
The kayak only can borrow you a shortly time, the same case is for other activities that they said are goods, but I dont think so.
My family is very deceptioned for the hotel, but more for the staff and service.
The rooms are small but you can sleep without problems, the water in the pool is harm, that´ s fine.
The food is almost the same every day, daily are diferent topic night, but the dishes are alway rice, fish, pasta, the flavor is not bad, but no delicious.
Maybe can improve in the service, must be!! Because the facilities aren´t bad in all!
Please put atention in the way that they wash the dishes, glases and cups,!!!
I didnt like my stay in qualton, Only I would come back for the shows or to eat rice!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    66
    41
    26
    21
See reviews for
81
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

OK - it's not the Hilton. This is a Mexican resort designed for upper middle-class Mexicans. Most of the staff, though smiling and helpful, speak no english. WE LOVE IT! Had our 2nd stay in 5 years the first week in December, and we were the token americanos the entire week. Beds are Mexican-traditional firm (OK - HARD), rooms are clean but a little primitive. Food is good, ocean view is idyllic; a very laid-back and wonderful place to kick back and relax. The Qualton is at the very end of Ixtapa's hotel row, and just past the public beach next door is 3 miles of the most beautiful, unspoiled tropical beach you've ever seen. 100 yds past the public beach you'll have the place to yourself. Very romantic. Do bring a can of Off - sunset will bring out a few skeeters to nibble at your ankles. Also - walk out of the resort, turn left, and go 100 feet. There's a great crocodile impoundment with a deck to walk out over. Tropical birds everywhere - many seem to pose for you.

For souvenirs, bypass the over-priced stuff in Ixtapa and hit the dock/beach area in Zihuatenejo - ask the cabbie to take you to Paseo de Pescador. It's 130 pesos by cab (plus tip) (about $10). Craft and silver stores abound in the area. Be sure to grab lunch at La Sirena Gordo (The Fat Mermaid) while you're there. If you want to go deep-sea fishing for sailfish, mahi-mahi, or marlin, Cap Miguelle Valle will take you out of Zihua for 8 hours for $200 - includes lunch, water, and/or beer. Stop at the Cooperativa Triangulo del Sol next to the Sirena Gordo and ask for Cap Miguelle. Our fishing day caught and released 4 sailfish, 2 Mahi-mahi over 25#'s, and 6 or 8 mackerel. Tell him Paul and Sandy sent you.

Overall, this is not the Sheraton nor the Hilton. If you want an American-style hotel stay at the Intercontinental Presidente or at the Melia. If you want to truly experience what Mexico and Mexicans are really like THIS IS THE PLACE! My wife and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish,BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The rooms are nothing special and the beds are not very comfortable.... so we just paid a lot more on the Mayan Riviera and the beds were no better....BUT the food is really good, the entertainment, day & night, fun and the staff incredible. This is not a high rise on the beach, you don't have to 'dress' for dinner and the drinks are not watered down. We like the true mexican vacation. The location is beautiful right across from Ixtapa Island and next to playa linda with the market and beach restaurants. We also like to explore and Zihua is great or hire a cabbie and go to Barra de Posia.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Stayed here Feb./09 for 3 weeks.
Found a deal on-line and booked flight and hotel separately for $4500, 2 ppl all included.
This is a very relaxed place to stay and the weather is perfect for getting a dark tan. Not a drop of rain or cloud in 3 weeks.
NO frills here, food was very average and lots of mexican dishes. Adult pool with swim up bar very nice.
Lots of Mexican ppl stay here on the weekends. Nightly supper fiestas were wonderful.
NOT a wild party place! Was 92 degrees every day!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Wa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed for a week at this hotel and were not impressed at all! Staff tried to be friendly but most of them did not speak enough english to help you with anything. The restaurants left alot to be desired as far as cleanliness, the buffet style food was terrible.
Our room was less than comfortable, beds were rock hard and pillows were lumpy. Not to mention that there was no screens on the sliding doors which were sticky and would barely open enough to allow you to get out to the balcony. The brick dividers on the balcony were moldy and falling apart and the dead and dying plants inside the brick portions were lovely!
Our bathroom was nothing more than a toilet and shower with a shower curtain seperating the two. The hole in the wall on the outside of the bathroom was super too, you could clearly see how moldy the inside of the wall was and about two days after our check in it was patched over!
Tha grounds are beautiful, the pool is nice ( when near the adult pool no one enforced the no chilren in adult pool rules) the beach is great, quite shallow for a long way out. What ever you do do not order your frozen drinks from the waitresses they have on staff .. you will get nothing but melted margeurita's! they only have one type of beer and they do not serve it in bottles, they pour it into a tiny 5 ouce plastic cup!

I WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE IF THEY ARE LOOKING FOR AN ALL INCLUSIVE IN IXTAPA!!

BOOK NEXT DOOR AT THE MALIA HOTEL, at least they have a bit of night life, everything at Qualton closes by midnight!!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Front Desk/Check In, we got in at 3:00am, pretty much everyone had to be moved to different rooms after complaining, they were either not made-up, dirty, ants, no water, smelled like sewer, expected two guys to share a room with one bed, ect. It took about two days to find rooms for everyone. The front desk staff was not very helpful. Claimed there was a hostpitality room for the final day but they never gave us a chance to use it (we booked out at noon but our flight didn't leave till 2:00am). Some of the better English speaking staff were waiting on tables instead of working at the front desk.

Staff: overall very friendly, can always find someone who speaks enough english. Tipped 10-20 pesos here and there. Maid service was great.

Rooms: crappy, but I slept well in my bed and thats all that matters. Ants, gecko's, cracked tiles, no hot water.

Grounds: very pretty and well manicured.

Entertainment: poor to good, some shows were embarressing and some were really good.

Food/Booze: Food was great, loved it all, sometimes it was cold though and we were there right when it opened. Booze was good, bottles beer poured into plasic cups.

Beach: big and empty, waves were small

Pools: Always a place to sit, too loud for me, drove me nuts. Mexicans like Techno/Disco music and they like it loud. Buddy sliced his toe open on a cracked tile in the pool. The place really needs some essencial work done.

Demographic: 95% mexicans, they were fun to be around. Really kept to themselves.

Other: Market right outside the resort, you can buy it all there. A couple of cantinas there as well, Check out Tomacoon the crockidile guy Saturdays around 5:00pm, don't miss it. They guy is from anouther planet. Bus right outside the resort to town for 8 pesos. Plenty of cantinas in town to eat/drink at. Beer planet was a hoot. Zih was very relaxing compared to Ixtapa. Franks place had good Pizza and a crappy rock band but it was very fun and friendly there. Even crappy rock is good rock in Mexico. Senior Frogs is the local night club in Ixtapa, 100 peso's cover charge. young crowd. A guy in our resort got sucker punched by a local in there, according to witnesses he was minding his own business. I believed him. Some of them just don't like us. Can't blame them, some of us are pretty ignorant. I got a bad vibe at a few establishments. Did a combo tour of town and country. It was a good way to kill the day. $60USD

Overall: Went with my buddy, I would not take a lady to this resort. Not worth the headache. I prefer cuba and dominican. Food is not as good there but more culture, and I felt safer. Haven't been to mexico since 1998 and its not the same. Just seemed like they didn't want us there. If you are just looking for a place to crash then OK, however, there is no nightlife nearby. The sun was hot, beach was fine, food/booze fine. The rooms were crappy (At least fix the broken tiles so a guy does't rip his foot open) and they need an adult pool not connected to a familly pool. A pool that is quite with no kids.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish,BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This is the best mexican experience you can have at an all inclusive! The guests are 90% mexican.. it's a agreat immersion into the culture and language with the other guests and the staff BUT if you need to be understood there are many friendly english speaking staff. The activities & the entertainment staff are a lot of fun and make sure eveyone is included and feels welcome. The food was authentic mexican with lots of buffet selections..New Years was a fantastic meal & with a great Big Band sound! The rooms are nothing fancy but they are always clean and there's so much to do we weren't in the room much.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Qualton Club Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualton Club Ixtapa

Also Known As:
Qualton Club Ixtapa Hotel
Qualton Club Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Qualton Hotel Ixtapa
Qualton Club
Ixtapa Qualton Hotel
Address: Carretera Escenica, Playa Linda | Zihuatanejo, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#10 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Qualton Club Ixtapa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Qualton Club Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qualton Club Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.