We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made our 20th wedding anniversary absolutely wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Hastings, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They made our 20th wedding anniversary absolutely wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We just returned from Presidente Intercontinental in Ixtapa = we were there from 8/1410 to 8/21/10. This was our 6th time there and we went for our 20th wedding anniversary!
We can't thank Jorge and the staff enough for making our 20th anniversary so special! The fruit basket and dinner cake were wonderful!

We had a room overlooking the quiet pool and it had an ocean view. It was absolutely beautiful! Our maid Adelfonsa was great and muchas gracias again to her for the hand painted box, the bracelet's and the earrings and Marilou for the special decorated pen!

The restaurant options and activities are different this time of year than they are in January when we usually go but this is their slow time. The ocean was very rough and people were upset because they were not allowed to be in it - but with the undertow - it was for their own safety that they were made to stay out!

We hope to go back again in January 2011! Thanks again to all of you!
Steve & Donna

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    226
    115
    67
    82
See reviews for
260
207
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Jal.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

The hotel was just new (in the 80's), and needs a lot of work.
Instead of that, there are activities, the one I loved was at evening at the kiosko, there were mexican dinner, tacos, pozole, etc, Very good =).
The drinks at the pool bar are cheap, come on, they can do better por the price (wasn't cheap).

It's good, but it's not an Intercontinental

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We've travelled all over Mexico, this was a decent resort. The beach has the rough kind of sand that really digs into you and the waves are much too high for swimming - they are very like the North shore of Oahu. So good for surfers, bad for families who want to swim. Rooms clean (by Mexico standards) and the staff were all outstanding, polite, courteous, and went out of their way to assist us. But we had an infant, and this resort does not have kitchenettes which would have made a big difference. The staff did offer us an upgraded room with a refrigerator, which we took and that helped. But with a 10 month old- mixing formula, washing bottles in a sink poor for the job (I ran hot water thru the coffee pot to scald bottles and took a Zero pitcher to purify baby water), getting a crib - it was a lot of work. We probably would have had a better time if we'd waited until our son was a little older, maybe 3 or 4. This is a locals hotel, some tended to look at us at outsiders. That was fine with us, usually we know it's a pretty good place by that measure ;-). Overall, the staff is great, the hotel/food is good, beach okay. Probably not a good idea for families with infants but okay with little bit older little ones. Oh- and don't buy a fishing trip via fishermen approaching on the beach, use the hotel staff to find reputable fishermen. In the past this worked okay for us but this time we were cheated on the down payment and the fishermen refused to take us out without giving them back the receipt we got for down payment (to cover their butts). It was a little scary at moments. Another thing to note is that usually only one bar was open at a time, there is no beach drink service and the pools shut down for maintenance in the late afternoons every day (when we actually wanted to use them). Also which restaurant was open when was not clear. I had the feeling that perhaps they were too short staffed to keep everything running.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Traveled here with two small children and found the one-bedroom suite to be very spacious, though out-dated and somewhat dirty (especially the floors). Furthermore, one of our sinks was clogged for more than a day, and we didn't receive soap until the last day.

The resort grounds are attractive with a beautiful view of the beach. The pools are average, with some debris like straws. There was a kiddie pool, but not a lot else special about it.

The highlight for our family was the kids club. My 4 yr old loved it! Tons to do, engaging and responsible staff...she still talks about the experience!

The themed entertainment at the buffet dinner was very nice. We used all the restaurants (buffet and reservations), as well as the room service. None of the food was exceptionally remarkable, but overall not bad.....plus it was all covered in the all-inclusive....good value there.

Very convenient location within Ixtapa, across the street from shops and stores.

Nice beach, though the waves are too big for the littlest kids.

Overall we had a nice stay, not top-shelf, but if you're only expecting a 3-star, slightly outdated family resort you could do worse.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Before we went on vacation we read some of the reviews of the hotel because we are members and all i read were bad things. As we arrived all of what I read was not true I loved it the food was amazing and the rooms were clean up to date and all of the people were so humble we will be returning next year I highly reccomend this all inckusive resort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was our 6th year to this resort and we have never had anything to say bad about this wonderful place...It is our dream vacation every year and they never dissapoint us...The staff is wonderful and it is very clean and the people are very very friendly...for the price and weather you can not beat it

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacatioin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The room was very beat up. The beds were very hard. The hotel was over booked. They did not clean up the beach at night. The all inclusive did not include a refrigerator with bottled water and beer as in other Mexican resorts we stayed at. Breakfast and lunch were good and convenient. Dinner was nothing special so we went out most nights. We were ripped off by a beach vendor named Big Benny. He had a beat up boat that took on water. He did not deliver on his promises. The bike rides provided by the resort were wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.