We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Presidente in Ixtapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa to your Saves list
Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
Foster City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Intercontinental Presidente in Ixtapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 10 days at the Intercontinental Presidente in Ixtapa and had a great time, particularly due to the effort of their concierge, Jorge Sanchez. He was very friendly and responsive and extremely helpful in making our stay extremely enjoyable. The hotel is an all inclusive deal and a great value comparatively. I would recommend staying in the tower because of the beautiful views of the shore. The entire staff is very helpful and attentive. Just be careful of the ocean and be respectful. It has a reputation of deceptive riptides so be cautious and you will enjoy a gorgeous beach and beautiful landscape. Two golf courses in the area and you can afford to have a caddy and still play for a lot less than in Hawaii or ever Cabo San Lucas for that matter. Alligators hang out on the golf course and make it a bit thrilling, although they seem to be bored with the tourists. Never got that close to challenge that however. Be sure to have your ATM card because once you leave the hotel, while most things are able to be charged, you will find having cash or pesos very helpful and good for bargaining. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower. You have to navigate the elevator, but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    230
    116
    68
    84
See reviews for
266
207
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned from the Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa yesterday, March 24th. We started off wondering what everyone was complaining about. Once I entered the high tower room, I understood. The rooms in the tower are in need of upgrading. We asked to be moved to the 3 story buildings and we were taken care of the very next morning. The room we moved to appeared to be upgraded, was very clean, had a safe and big deck (2232). We were very happy with this room and the maid service was excellent. No complaints there! The pools and grounds are manicured constantly. Never a leaf, trash, etc. could be found. The employees are probably the best we have ever encountered. (We travel to Mexico 3-4 times per year). Carmen by the bar lounge was friendly and entertaining. Jesus by the pool was constantly refreshing our drinks and everyone else that we noticed.
The breakfast and lunch buffets were very good. Breakfast buffet always had an omelet area and lots of fresh fruit. The Italian and French restaurants were bad in our opinion. Service great but the food just wasn't good. One night they had a beach party - there was no party but the food was fantasic. Best evening meal we had on the resort. We missed their Mexican Festival because we already had plans to go out to dinner that night.
The ocean is absolutely beautiful and the beach about the best I have seen.

If you aren't too picky about eating at the buffet for morning and afternoon, and then go out to dinner this is a great place to stay. Shopping and restaurants are just across the street.
Ixtapa is a wonderful little town filled with the nicest people. Shopping was unbelievable and afforable. I'd love to go back to Itapa but I would not stay at the Presidente - sorry.

Room Tip: Stay in the 3 story buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear VMON72,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with your stay, these were soon sorted and this allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover, mn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went to Ixtapa mid March for spring break with my husband, 16 year old, and another couple and their kids. We had an ocean view room on the 9th floor of the towers with an awesome view of the entire bay.. absolutely gorgeous. Rooms are fine, 2 double beds, nothing fancy, but nothing bad either. Best part of course was the huge balcony and view. Several days we were up there to watch the sunset and ordered room service (free.. just tip), some cerveza's, tequila and guacamole. Balcony is huge so we basically had a party up there with others. The resort itself is wonderful.... not huge, so we didn't lose each other. Very popular swim up bar as it's super hot out. Drinks were good.. the service was outstanding. You can get served anywhere you sit near the pool or on the beach, which has palapa's and lounge chairs everywhere. Food was really good.... the usual breakfast buffet's with superb fruit, and american and mexican breakfasts. Lunch was good.. either go to the "snack bar" which had hamburgers, hot dogs, nacho's, etc. or a buffet meal which always had really good salads, fish, and usually there were making either fish, quesadilla's, or taco's on the spot. We did some of the activities like bike tour (highly recommend), lots of beach volleyball and water aerobics. The lounge in the evening was really good... again, easy to get drinks, and the service was outstanding. Dinner was either buffet, or ala carte, either french or italian most nights which was good. Our last night (saturday) we could choose from either the sushi restaurant or the fiesta that was going out outside.... since sushi is my favorite and the fiesta was fantastic, I have to admit I wasn't happy that this was the only night the sushi restaurant was open, I wanted to do both (and eventually did). The fiesta was fantastic. The hotel itself wasn't booked during the week, but the weekend completely changed with mexicans coming in for just the weekend. Overall very very happy with the resort, and fell in love with Ixtapa again! (Haven't been there for 15 years).

Other things to do... we walked down the beach to the right, my husband and I had massages $30 for the two of us.. hour long massage with the waves crashing in the background, awesome. Walked down to Carlos and You (formally Carlo's and Charlie's ) for a different venue, sat out and had a few cerveza's and the best guacamole ever. Went into Zhiwa for fishing.. not deep sea, not sure what you call it but it's closer in and it cost $160 for the panga boat (divided it up between 2 families). Caught a mahi mahi and brought it back to the presidente where they cooked it up for us at dinner and it was absolutely fantastic.. the cooks did an amazing job. Walked arouncd Zhiwa a bit. Also went to Ixtapa Island.. took a bus down there, hopped a water taxi and did some snorkeling, shopping, drinking beer on the beach, lots of fun. Also quick mention, we had a birthday for someone in our group while we were there and the resort was amazing.. getting us a small cake, getting us the best table at the restaurant, they really went above and beyond. Overall, a wonderful trip.
Special thanks to everyone who works there.. too many to mention (or remember), but Ernesto at the swim up bar, Carmen at the lounge, Abel with the restaurants, amazing service.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with ocean view.. ours was included in our price so we didn't have to upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments in TA. Your feedback, very complete, is very important for us and for my team to improve day by day our level of service.

Ixtapa have the best sunset and from our rooms of the tower, it is the perfect spot to enjoy this very special moment of the day!!! Also Ixtapa is one of the best places in world for the Deep Sea fishing (sailfish, marlin, mahi mahi, tuna, and roosterfish) and if you are lucky our Chef will more than happy to prepare your catch of day!!!

We are very happy that you and your family enjoy our buffet, the food in general, the drinks and the service (one of our best skills). I take note about the sushi and we will open it more often during the week, Thank you for your suggestion!!!

We hope to welcome you and your family in a near future.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I recently stayed at this resort with a group of people.
Cons: the rooms were dated some of them smelled musty. Not all rooms have patios or mini fridges but they were clean. They have 6 restaurants but only 1 restaurant plus buffet was open per night. Had a few problems with air conditioner but they did send someone right away to fix the problem. It was hard to get drinks in the morning (besides the restaurant). We had some couples who were not happy with their rooms but the front desk was right on top of helping them find another one. Entertainment was average. They have a Martini and sushi bar that we were very excited about but it is only open 1 day a week and of course we were on a tour that evening. No wifi available in rooms.

Pros: The service was great!!!! Jorge the concierge is willing to go above and beyond for his guests. The wait staff in the restaurants and bars was good. Some of the waitstaff I really enjoyed were Carlos, Tomas, and the whole crew at the swim up bar (really made you feel welcome). The food in which ever restaurant was open that night was very good. Free wifi in lobby. Beautiful beach, great location, nice clean pool. The location was great. Shopping and restaurants were right accross the street.

To wrap this up, this resort is a fair rating. I would recommend this resort and I do think it is a good value. You just need to know what to expect for your vacation.

p.s. This is a family resort.

Room Tip: rooms with 1 bed have larger patios. Rooms with 2 beds may not have a patio at all. Ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you are planning a vacation and are thinking of staying here, you may want to think again. While there is nothing physically wrong with this hotel, it is clean, staff are pleasant, what you see on the website and what actually is are not the same. The beds are very hard, so hard I woke during the night as my arms were asleep and every morning my hips were sore. When the air conditioner kicks in, it sounds like a jet engine (Room 3225). While the site says there are 6 restaurants, they are not all open. There is only two open at a time and as for the ala carte, Italian/French on alternating nights but with the same menu. Lunch - buffet or snack bar (hot dog, burger, nachos). The buffet had 7 items, salad bar, and dessert. Pool bar is the only bar open during the day and the sports bar is the only bar at night. There is only entertainment on Friday/Sat and if you stay for 2 weeks, you get to see the same show twice. Bottles of water have to be requested through room service, and a pot of coffee to you room is 300 pesos per person. There is only internet in the lobby so you can facetime your family at the same time as everyone else, no privacy and kids are there playing their games. Hotel caters more to locals than CDN/US. Resort is quiet Tues-Thur but come Friday it is overun with local families and while I chose to go to the "Quiet Pool" away from the kids pool and central pool, it was not enforced and was full of screaming, splashing children - not a good place to try and relax and read. There is NO yoga as advertised, but there is a small gym but the eliptical is not fully functional but they do not provide cleaner to wipe off the equipment after you use it so whatever you touch is covered by someone elses sweat - ewwww. The food was ok, but mostly Mexican and alot of the same type of stuff. I ate fruit/yogurt/granola every morning as I did not want to start with beans, and mostly ate salad for dinner. We ate out at least 5 times just for a change. I found it a long two weeks at this resort as there was not many activities or entertainment and with all the families with children it was very noisy and non relaxing. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to others. It is a nice hotel, with a nice view but I would stay elsewhere.
\

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comments in TA. Guest feedback is very important for us and it helps us to increase our standards and to do our work better.

Our buffet menus are established on 15 days rolling schedule and our a la carte menu changes every 3 months so it is complicated to repeat the same menu during your stay. The Room service is complimentary with just a delivery charge of $30 pesos (less than U$ 2,5 American dollar), nothing to compare with the 300 pesos per person and you can check it in the Room Service menu. The breakfast buffet offers: 6 different hot dishes (including Waffle o Pancake), eggs station to prepare omelet a la minute, fresh fruits, cereals and breakfast pastry…

About the Gym, the elliptical mother board was damaged and we had to buy a new one. About yours comment about the cleaner, thank you very much we will apply it. And in reference of the activities, we offer: beach volley ball, beach soccer, aqua aerobics, ping pong, bingo etc… And At night we always have an activity: shows, karaoke, casino night, live music etc…
We are sorry that we do not meet your expectations and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a wonderful balcony room near the top of the "tower" - breathtaking views and sunsets. The staff was all very friendly and willing to help with any question. We enjoyed the 20 km bike ride one morning, and water aerobics another day. The food had plenty of variety so that everyone could find something to their liking. We only ate one meal outside the hotel - lunch in Zihuatanejo one day, and had plenty to eat and drink. I thought it was a good value for the amount we paid, and I have been to Playa Del Carmen plus one other time in Ixtapa for comparison.

Room Tip: I recommend the ocean view rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

You people from the USA have way too high of expectations, chill- this resort and the destination is excellent. The service was simply amazing and I have stayed at all-inclusives all around the globe- the only one that was comparable was in Playa del Carmen at the Gran Porto Real.

Food- was great- you will always find something at the buffet- and you do not have to make reservations with fine dining.....and the food was outstanding along with the service. Ask for the stuff that you don't see- like bacon, they do have it. Water is like gold too, they would rather serve you beer... if you are leaving the grounds, call room service and they will bring you bottles, they have a fridge in the room but they do not stock it.

Beach- the water is fun with the huge waves, current is a bit strong just don't leave your small children in there alone, our kids 13, 15 and 17 were in there most of the day....
no rocks, shells, just breathtaking and very warm- great walking beach too!

Beach service was outstanding, they will come around every 10 minutes with drinks, they know what you need. They certainly do not expect a tip, but I gave them $10 on the first day and wow, did I feel like a queen, I didnt have to move my tush the entire week.- sane service throughout the resort.

Pool- clean, fun, pool bar is what you would expect. if you have kids, they can be in the same pool swimming while you have a few drinks.

Lobby bar- a different theme each night- it gets loud, but they shut down at midnight. bring earplugs if you hit the hay early and you will be fine.

Room- no issues... the tower will have a great view of the water but you have to take the elevator which I don't care for, the other rooms below will have garden view- which is perfect

Resort- the only thing I will mention is that the resort will fill up on the weekends with the locals and they bring the entire family with them- grandmas, and the 6 kids under the age of 6, so lots of screaming babies, then they leave on Sunday- so a good idea to leave the resort these days- they are loud and don't seem to be considerate when others are sleeping- they like to party- with babies on the lap....

Bus and taxi is cheap- taxi $5 USD into town- bus is under $1- Ixtapa Island is worth checking out- vendors are all over the place trying to sell you stuff on the beach. The market is across the street selling the same stuff- same price- doesn't matter where you go- just barter,

It is what you make it- if you are good to them, they are even better to you- have fun- I would send anyone to this resort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comments in TA. I appreciate that you give a full feedback of your experience in the Hotel with a lot of details. We are very happy that you enjoy your vacations and we will be more than happy to welcome you again.

Thank you for recommend our resort.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.