We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa to your Saves list
Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Vineland,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation Again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from our 9th year of staying at the Presidente in Ixtapa. We had a great trip staying for 2 weeks with the friendly staff here. The weather here is pretty much always nice and warm.The rooms are always kept nice and clean. The only thing we would like to see is a fridge put in the rooms. The breakfasts are very good with omelettes made to your liking, bacon, toast and a variety of fruit. The staff are always cleaning. Always nice to go off resort and feel very safe. rented bikes agin this year and did the great ride out to Playa Linda. We will be returning next year as long as they is travel from Toronto to Ixtapa.

Room Tip: There are a lot of great rooms at this hotel if you choose poolview. we have never stayed in the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    232
    117
    68
    84
See reviews for
272
209
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kelowna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE.....food is terrible. Where are the restaurants they advertise. Change the menu, add table cloths and the restaurant changes? Give me a break.

Noisy air conditioner, no bar fridge in room, no make-up mirrors, always short of towels...................booked this property because it is part of the Inter-continental group. Never again, worst holiday ever. Breakfast & Lunch were awful everyday, speciality dinners were OK. Oh and be sure to bring lots of cash to the pool/beach if you want service. They wait for the weekends, the best part is all the Mexicans arriving to belly-flop into the pools, where they disregard the no smoking rules.

NEVER, EVER WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PROPERY.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear JoyDanner,

Thank you for staying with us and writing our property a review. I am happy to know that our location was convenient for your needs. However, allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced with the food served. Thank you for letting us know about this unsatisfactory circumstance as this is our best means of enhancing our service that we offer.

Again, thank you for the candid feedback and my apologies for the inconvenience experienced.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our 9th year in a row @ the Presidente in Ixtapa. Once again the staff and weather were awesome. We have never ever had a rainy day during our years of vacationing there and the weather is always nice and warm.The hotel staff from top to bottom are wonderful,the pool bar is a great hang out for everyone to meet new friends. The beach games are also wonderful,The entertainment crew are the best around also.
The only Problem we had was with American Airlines. We missed our 1st day stay there because the plane did not leave on time so we missed our connecting flight.
The hotel room we stayed in which have had for the past 6 years was clean and well kept up to date.
We will be there for our 10th year god willing that is. Only he will stop me from this wonderful paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Only about 25% occupancy when we visited (End of February 2013). Only 1 of 3 buffets were open at a time but that was sufficient considering the lack of people. On weekends local residents (Mexicans) boosted the occupancy which was good in the case of entertainment. During the week there really wasn't any shows other than Bingo or Karaoke. At least on the weekend they had live shows. No need to book a la cartes, There was only 1 and it moved from restaurant to restaurant each night. First room probably hadn't been used in a while, musty smelling and no balcony. They moved us immediately when we requested another room. 2nd room was quite nice, clean, and quiet overlooking quiet swimming pool.
The area outside appeared very safe (with cops walking around with their large guns). We never felt as if we were in danger. Only complaint outside were the number of time sharing people (known locally as sharks)

Room Tip: If you have a problem sleeping with noise in the background ask NOT to be close to the sports bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Annibells,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It was a nice place to stay, the service here was very good and they were all very considerate. The place is very clean and whatever you need they will try to get it for you. The food on the other hand is mediocre at best, unless you are willing to order the menu that cost extra (the food off there was very good). But being an all inclusive I didn't really expect that much from the food. The staff a there at the hotel are number one, an A+. Overall I would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Positives: Nice setting – lobby and low rise buildings very well done in Mexican décor. Beach was clean and great to walk on – nicely spaced beach chairs with palapas. Sea was rough when we were there. Great service and friendly staff.


Negatives: Food could be improved, specifically the buffet. The a la carte was o.k. Biggest disappointment was that besides on Mexican night, I did not hear any Mexican music or mariachis. Noisy on two nights (we were there 1 week) with outside events that kept us up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent our Valentine/Anniversary here and were in awe of its beauty. Jorge ( or George to some) was most helpful. We transferred from an 18th floor to ocean view to 17th with a balcony facing Playa Palmar. It was clean and the staff were friendly and worked hard. The hotel was well managed as seen by the numerous events that took place all week: A formal wedding on the beach, the same night as a Mexican fiesta in the plaza. A couple of conferences took place and a Mexican BBQ on the beach. We went on a 6k bike tour thru the town and Treks to the marina stopping to take photos, accompanied by a staff member. When we caught a 100 lb Sailfish, we took half back to the hotel and Jorge arranged with the Chef to prepare a feast for us Jorge became a friend and was visible as a low keyed manager. The wait staff were all professional and had a warmth they shared with the guests.

Room Tip: e mail concierge prior to arrival with any requests or ask at desk. Towers with balcony is great. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to post your comment in TA.

Our staff is the soul of the hotel and every day they do their best to make your stay a memorable stay. All the team work to make this hotel one of the best Resort in Ixtapa based on the service and our knowledge.

The bike tour is excellent is discover Ixtapa because our staff will take you to the Playa linda crossing the ecologic park when you could appreciate the fauna and the flora of Ixtapa. And another activity very important for the destination is the Deep fishing… We do not need to be ashamed because we had sailfish (good catch), Dorado, Tuna, Rooster fish etc… Of course if you catch your fish, our chef will be more than happy to cook it for you.

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort and we hope to welcome you again… By the way: Happy Anniversary.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.