We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa to your Saves list
Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fun place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It was a nice place to stay, the service here was very good and they were all very considerate. The place is very clean and whatever you need they will try to get it for you. The food on the other hand is mediocre at best, unless you are willing to order the menu that cost extra (the food off there was very good). But being an all inclusive I didn't really expect that much from the food. The staff a there at the hotel are number one, an A+. Overall I would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    231
    117
    68
    84
See reviews for
270
208
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Positives: Nice setting – lobby and low rise buildings very well done in Mexican décor. Beach was clean and great to walk on – nicely spaced beach chairs with palapas. Sea was rough when we were there. Great service and friendly staff.


Negatives: Food could be improved, specifically the buffet. The a la carte was o.k. Biggest disappointment was that besides on Mexican night, I did not hear any Mexican music or mariachis. Noisy on two nights (we were there 1 week) with outside events that kept us up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent our Valentine/Anniversary here and were in awe of its beauty. Jorge ( or George to some) was most helpful. We transferred from an 18th floor to ocean view to 17th with a balcony facing Playa Palmar. It was clean and the staff were friendly and worked hard. The hotel was well managed as seen by the numerous events that took place all week: A formal wedding on the beach, the same night as a Mexican fiesta in the plaza. A couple of conferences took place and a Mexican BBQ on the beach. We went on a 6k bike tour thru the town and Treks to the marina stopping to take photos, accompanied by a staff member. When we caught a 100 lb Sailfish, we took half back to the hotel and Jorge arranged with the Chef to prepare a feast for us Jorge became a friend and was visible as a low keyed manager. The wait staff were all professional and had a warmth they shared with the guests.

Room Tip: e mail concierge prior to arrival with any requests or ask at desk. Towers with balcony is great. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to post your comment in TA.

Our staff is the soul of the hotel and every day they do their best to make your stay a memorable stay. All the team work to make this hotel one of the best Resort in Ixtapa based on the service and our knowledge.

The bike tour is excellent is discover Ixtapa because our staff will take you to the Playa linda crossing the ecologic park when you could appreciate the fauna and the flora of Ixtapa. And another activity very important for the destination is the Deep fishing… We do not need to be ashamed because we had sailfish (good catch), Dorado, Tuna, Rooster fish etc… Of course if you catch your fish, our chef will be more than happy to cook it for you.

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort and we hope to welcome you again… By the way: Happy Anniversary.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retired AF Wisc guy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There were 10 of us, five couples, staying from Sunday to Sunday.
Check in went quickly. The staff was courteous. We found that not all the rooms had safes, so several in our group changed rooms rather than store money and valuables at the desk. Our room did have a safe.
The initial impression of the room wasn't good. The floor was dirty, there was still trash in the waste baskets, and visible mold in the bathroom. Also, the room was uncomfortably hot and humid. But after tinkering with the thermostat, it cooled down nicely and the maids kept the room quite clean after that. I think they had been rushed when we first arrived. We were on the 19th of 20 floors in the tower. We didn't want to switch rooms, as the view of the ocean was magnificent. The elevators (two of them) were fast, so we never waited long for one. I enjoyed the view from them, as they were scenic elevators, with glass walls (not for those with acrophobia). The TV got very few English-speaking stations. I only found three or four, and no premium movie channels.
The food was good, and there was a pretty good variety. None of us got sick, so that is saying something. It's very casual. I didn't even bring long pants, and didn't need them. There was a snack bar open all afternoon that served hamburgers, hot dogs, french fries, and nachos. Some in our group called the burgers "hockey pucks" since they were usually a bit overcooked. Well, better than being undercooked. They still tasted good. I liked the hot dogs after adding mustard, ketchup, salsa, and nacho cheese.
The waiters and bartenders were all friendly and gave you what you asked for. It took a while to find this out, but there were top shelf brands available if you asked for them. They normally poured local brands, but there was Absolut vodka, Johnny Walker scotch, Jim Beam, etc. in cabinets under the bar. The only beer they had was Sol, both light and dark. It was pretty good. Many people brought Big Bubba mugs, which are getting very popular. With a little ice, they keep drinks cold for much of the day. The bartenders were happy to fill them with whatever we wanted.
The pool was very clean. The reason was, they didn't allow food to be taken into the pool area. So there were hardly any birds hopping around, pooping and looking for scraps. This made a lot of sense to me. At the towel exchange, the attendant was very friendly and always had big, absorbant towels ready. He also had a book exchange.
Beach chairs were readily available any time of the day, except near weekends. From Sunday to Thursday we never had to reserve a beach chair. Thursday afternoon started getting busy, with Mexican families coming in. By Friday and Saturday, the number of guests seemed to have tripled, most of them Mexican families with children. The restaurants were harder to get into and many non-Mexican guests were getting annoyed at the number of children splashing around and squirting their little water cannons everywhere and taking up room around the pool bar. So this was the most disappointing part of the trip. By Sunday, when we were leaving, things were quieting down. The resort should do something to keep the children in line so guests aren't tripping over them, getting splashed or squirted by them, or fighting to get through them to the bar (where they shouldn't be anyway).
I only went to two places off the resort. One was Ixtapa Island; the other was a restaurant called The Blue Shrimp, which I will review.
I would visit this resort again. But I would try and time my visit to begin on Tuesday or Wednesday, and plan off-resort activities for Friday and Saturday to avoid those crowds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our 10th visit to Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa and as always we had a wonderful time! All of the staff are amazing and I do not understand the comment about activities announced only in Spanish! This has never been true in the 10 times we have been there. No food at the pool is absolutely the best thing they ever did! Tourists are so lazy they would leave their plates of leftover food sitting around and the birds were swarming in to grab it - kids would leave their food - birds would come and grab food off their plates and then the kids would come back and continue eating after the birds were pecking at their food! It was disgusting! Sorry to the person that wants to "eat with the birds around the pool".

We will be back next year for another amazing 2 weeks!

Room Tip: If you have a room in the tower or near the sports bar it will be noisier - but by no later than mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been to this area multiple times and are never disappointed. This hotel was in need of some updating for sure. The energy saving lighting in the room was awful for getting ready to go out was the worst. The electricity went off when I first used my hairdryer. One night water started pouring from the air conditioning unit in the ceiling. They did remedy both things. The staff at the hotel were great, so friendly and very accommodating. We loved the pool staff, Thomas and Carlos were outstanding. We thought the food was great. The variety and quality and service was the best. They didn't have every restaurant open every meal because of the amount of people staying there at any one time. Loved ordering off the menu in both the Italian and French cuisine restaurants. Shopping area and many restaurants were just across the street. It was very convenient and felt safe all the time. Never felt any over the top pressure to buy, just fun to barter with the local vendors. Ixtapa is always a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool bar would be a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our level of service and our installation. You mentioned the problem with the saving lighting and be sure I will check it with the engineer to find what actions we can take to solve this issue.

The food is one of our priority and I am glad that you enjoyed our food and our A la carte Restaurant. We used to change the menus 3 o 4 times a year so we can offer to our guest news options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I am sure it will be very useful for people who want to visit Ixtapa and the Resort.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently returned from a week at this property and had a great time. The property is aging and I would not classify it as a 5 star hotel BUT then cleanliness and staff more than make up any difference. Our room (standard garden view) was immaculately clean with white walls, white linens, white towels, and white duvet covers all beautifully pristine. The pool and grounds were always swept, shined, spotless. All of the staff from the front desk, maid service, waitstaff, and concierge were veery professional and courteous, and genuinely seemed happy to help and converse. The food was presented beautifully and seemed to me to be plentiful. Anyone should be able to find something that you enjoyed at each meal, and again it seemed that the restaurant conditions were very clean. I would recommend this propery for a budget conscious trip with a very relaxed atmosphere. We walked into the Ixtapa area for shopping and a couple of meals and were welcomed by the local shop owners and never felt "unsafe". We are considering this property again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.