We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - WHAT A GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa to your Saves list
Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
lake tapps, wa
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WOW - WHAT A GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

General Manager, Stephan, has assembled the finest staff of any hotel we have ever been to.

This is the second time we have visited this hotel this year because of the great service, perfect ocean beach , fantastic pools and affordable pricing.

Also, this visit we noticed an improvement in the quality of the food at all levels.

Abel, (culinary manager?) is a new addition having been at the fine Portofino restaurant at las brias for 20 years. he went out of his way to prepare dishes for us not even on the menu. he was great.

During the week, occupancy ran 10-20% providing the guests with 400 plus employees to serve. on the weekends the locals came in nearly filling the hotel and making it transform to a busy place. good time to take a tour. while there for two weeks we were privileged to see over 200 baby turtles hatch cared for by the security staff.
special recognition should be made to Carmelita ( 35 years in the bar), Sylvester and Carlos, waiters by the pool, Ceasar the towel manager and many others who made us feel special and were there constantly to assist us.
we love this hotel and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: i would avaoid the tower part of the hotel and try to get an ocean view room near the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for posting your comments in TripAdvisor. Your feedback is a very important tool to do our job better every day and to reach the quality of service.

To be honest with you, the staff is the most important that we have in the hotel and we work as a team. Abel is very passionate with his job and he is “the newest” in the hotel, but everyone is doing an amazing job: The chef with his Team, the Food & Beverages
Manager with his team etc…

And the turtle are part of the beauty of Ixtapa. The hotel is certified and is part of the sea turtle conservation program. This year, we received more than 15´000 turtles eggs and we are very proud to belong to this program.

We wish all the best for 2013 and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    295
    140
    90
    92
See reviews for
323
249
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

As a first time visitor to Ixtapa and this resort I was blown away by the level of friendly service provided, starting by welcoming our group at the airport and continuing thru our 5 day stay. The resorts top amenity is the staff, with smiling faces and genuine caring with an anticipation of your needs that was amazing. Along with a great beach and great food our vacation was perfect.

Hratch B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and for posting your comments in Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback because it helps us to increase our levels of services.

We hope to welcome you again and Happy New Year 2013.

Best regards,

The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We enjoyed a great 2 week vacation at this resort. This is our second time at the resort and we would not hesitate to return. We had exceptional service from the very efficient conceige Jorge from the moment we arrived. He was there to assist us with our every need. Ricardo the chef was also instrumental in making sure we had great meals cooked in accordance with our food allergies, not only were they tasty, but beautifuly presented. Thanks to all the staff who served us, Captain Abel and all his servers, and also the cleaning lady, who always left our room nice and clean and made sure we had a lovely towel creation each day.

Room Tip: room 3350 overlooks the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit Lake, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Once again we had a great time at the resort. Our friend Jorge went out of his way to make every thing perfect. At the restaurants the food servers were very friendly and helpful and the people at the front desk greeted us every day. We have no fear and feel very safe at all times when we are there. We have been going here for over 15 years and I am sure will make it 16. Our 3 weeks were the best. Cleo at the towels and the activites guys were great and did a superb job.

Room Tip: I really think all their rooms are good and most have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at this hotel in November 1987. Just got back from celebrating our 25th anniversary at the same hotel. WOW! what a difference. Very clean, service was impecible, and food was abundant and delicious. The excurisons were excellent and well worth the prices. We felt very comfortable and safe as we traveled in both Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo throughout the various marekt places. The obvious presence of both federal and military police gave us a sense of security that allowed us to go anywhere we wanted without concern. Love sharing our stories and pictures with family and friends. Highly recommend this hotel and destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going here for the past 8 years and this Feb will make number 9..The Staff is wonderful and will go out of there way to please you and make sure you have a great vacation. I have gotten to meet many of the staff members and we are now email buddies as well. This place is great that is why we call this place out 2nd home

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice. We like to stay on the ocean front But really how much time do you spend in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Customer;

Thanks you for sharing your great experience in Tripadvisor.

We are sincerely happy that you choose our hotel as your second home !!! It is a privilege to welcome you and every year our staff are so happy to receive you again… And the most important for us is that you enjoy every moment of your stay. And for me, your feedback is important also your objectivity.

Thanks again and see you next year.

Best regards
The General Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Hotel stuff was excellent, anything outside the rooms was A+ food, pool, view, and room service. Room was below 2stars rating a/c not working properly, I requested to change my room, and they showed my at least 3 more rooms, but all rooms had the same problem. Not a nice problem to deal with in hot and humid weather. One more thing I hated that I was sent to a timeshares like presentation now they are calling it (vacational nights or noches vacacionales) so wrong when people is trying to relax and just have fun with their family. One thousand thanks to all the hotel stuff for their excellent service. (to the manager please address this problem so it will match your awesome people)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your comments in TA. Your feedback is very important for us and helps us to improve our service.

I am very happy to hear you enjoy the hotel with your family. Our staff is very focus on the service and always try to make you feel “home”. In reference of the food, our Chef prepares his menus to give to our guest a sample of the typical Mexican food and more especially from Guerrero. And our variety of buffet and a la carte restaurant, give you the opportunity to taste different cuisine (French, Italian, Sushi).

I am very surprise about your comment about the A/C, because usually our rooms have a good temperature for this latitude and my chief engineer did not report any problem with the A/C during your stay. And I imagine this inconvenient make you rating the room 2 stars because our rooms have all the facilities of 5 stars: 60m2, flat screen TVs, Safe deposit, duvet, iron board, etc…

In reference to the Club, after the check-in they give you all the information about the hotel´s facilities, the restaurant schedule, etc… And they will invite you to their presentation, but you are free to accept or not to assist.

Thank you again for your comments and I promise you that for your next stay you will not have any complain about the A/C or the Club.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.