We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Timeshare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta del Mar

Save Saved
You added Puerta del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerta del Mar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de las Gaviotas, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Family Timeshare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

After reading the reviews I didn't know what to expect! Well the elevator works! The units are clean, there quite. The restuarant is ok. This place is a good family place to stay. They have cermanic painting you can do by the pool. Theres 4 pools, a bar. The grounds are kept nice. The staff are not to much on speaking english, however if your in mexico you should know enough to get by anyways! The activities desk staff are friendly and well knowledged about the area and activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Other Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is a six-story hotel, and the frightening elevator mentioned by others has been removed - now it has no elevator, just a boarded up hole. If you have any challenge walking up/down stairs, this is probably not a good fit. It is at least a ten minute walk to the public beach access, across the main highway and behind a small "rustic" plaza.
The grounds are nice. The site was very peaceful and room noise, aside from the AC, was pretty quiet. Good, well-priced restaurant and swim-up bar on-site. Rooms are not a cave, as previously described, but the rooms do have a very rough, "carved" appearance. Didn't bother us but could be unsettling to others.
Biggest issue was that after our first night on the week exchange through Interval Int'l, we wanted to move to another hotel. The manager said five days notice was not enough - they require FIFTEEN (15) days to avoid a one-night penalty and refused to credit my VISA card for an extra night I'd reserved. Had to contact my bank to have them pursue a refund. It's a needless hassle, especially since the place was at least 80% empty - no one was denied a room by our leaving!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Mexican hotels aren't necessarily bad, as long as you know what you're getting into. First of all, you'd better know some Spanish, because almost none of the employees speak English, incl. front desk staff. When we were there, most of the guests were native Mexican, this hotel apparently caters to Mexican families.. The rooms were spacious and clean, but had quirks you generally find in Mexican hotels, like hard beds and questionable plumbing. The kitchen sink was not plumbed for hot water, I guess you wash dishes in the bathroom. The hotel is 6 stories tall, yet the elevator is nothing but a hole in the building, looks like it could be a while before that gets fixed. The swim-up bar sells ice cream to the kids, so expect to share your space with other peoples children.
On the plus side, the suites are large, with full kitchen (okay, no oven, and the stove is a 2-burner hotplate), 2 full bathrooms (although no tub), and a nice balcony overlooking the gorgeous, well-maintained grounds, with 2 pools, a restaurant with room service (do you speak Spanish?) and lounge (neither is air conditioned). Fortunately the rooms are very adequately air conditioned, because that's the only air conditioned space for blocks around. When we were there it was mid-90's and muggy. This property is not on the beach like most hotels in Ixtapa, beach access is within walking distance, but limited, the American-style hotels guard their beaches even from American tourists.
Rack rate for this place is $110/night, but we only paid $50/night. If you can get that kind of deal, and can get by in Spanish, and don't mind being 2 blocks from the beach, this hotel may work for you. We liked it just fine, but we're learning Spanish, and don't need to sit on a beach, the grounds of Puerta del Mar were perfect for us. Did I mention the birds? And the staff was very kind and understanding of our language-challenged attempts to communicate.
As for the shopping area across the street, it's a tourist oriented menage of cheap souvenirs, restaurants and bars, with a few upscale shops and a couple of grocery stores. This is NOT a Mexican town!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The hotel does not compare to the beach front hotels. It is more home like. More like authentic Mexico. The service was great. The prices were very down to earth. The garden about the pool is tropical and lush. The walk to the beach is about 500 yards. We drove to the beach but the beaches we went to required a drive. We went across the street to the Dorado Pacifico one day and ordered drinks at the swim up bar. 2 cervesas and a lemonade were $10 american. At the Puerta del Mar, every day was a happy hour with cervesas 2 for 1 at $2 each. The people you would meet at the pool were friendly and nice. We looked forward to the pool each evening. The rooms were kept clean daily by the staff who you get to know if you are there for a week. The staff was very friendly. If we go back, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

One of my friends children got hurt getting out of the pool, the Hotel Manager did come to assiste them but only to take them to the Marina Hospital, not knowing the language they were just left there. At this moment no one in the Hospital spoke english and the Maniger did not ask if they needed anymore help. On getting back to the hotel they then offered to call a Docter that can speek English. After all that we went through.. Well I will not ask friends to stay, If the Hotel Staff says they do not speek English.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

I don't know what type of experience other people were looking for when they stayed at this property by I found it to be a charming, wonderful hotel and location. It has a wonderful rustic feel with the adobe-like construction (not "Flintstone-y in any way). The staff were most cordial; the two pools the hotel offered were wonderful. The grounds surrounding the pool area were meticulously trimmed. The location of the property, away from the big resorts on the beach and their constantly blareing music was peaceful and relaxing. Also, a five minute walk to the Ixtapa shopping area meant you had scores of shops and restaurants to choose from. We even had a iguana nestled in the tree canopy out the back visit us each day. What a fun and delightful stay, a place we would definitely consider again.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkton, md
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

It is not the most glamorous place, but its definitely comfortable, clean and the staff is nice.
The only problem was the 3 flights of stairs, the elevator didn't work half the time and when it did I was too scared to ride on it.
As much as I ate on my vacation the 3 flights were good for me! The pool and pool bar are just amazing, I couldve spent my entire vacation right there.
We will be staying there again next year!

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta del Mar

Address: Paseo de las Gaviotas, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Puerta del Mar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Hotel Ixtapa
Puerta Del Mar Ixtapa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.