We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Krystal Ixtapa to your Saves list
Krystal Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Ixtapa, s/n 4 y 4A Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Hoquiam, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Beautiful location, great pool, service and a short walk to the beach. Jose waited on us the entire trip and I can honestly say he made my dads, my friend and myself's trip a great experience. He outdid himself! He found us lawn chairs when there wasn't any available and always greeted us with a smile on his face. He was always willing to chat about always cared about how we were doing. One of my favorite waiters ever. Definitely recommend him when you visit! The only problem I had was the shower. The shower would always randomly turn off for seconds and then turn back on. Besides that, great place!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is always a pleasure give you a nice stay.
We appreciate your kind comments on our staff service.We are working on the point you were saying.

For us it would be an honor to have you back. Let us pamper you as you deserve it.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    121
    88
    61
    64
See reviews for
119
105
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Linden, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We made our annual trip to Ixtapa in March to the Krystal Hotel for the 3rd year in a row. We have been to Ixtapa since 192 and we were not disappointed. The Hotel staff were great and I have to single out Liceth the Maître De Lobby for her wonderful attention to our comfort from before we arrived, during our stay, and helping a sick person in our group. Jose and Annanelle at poolside were entertaining and fun! The accommodations were good oabove the 7th floor and air cond. worked well. We stay on the European Plan to enjoy the restaurants in Ixtapa and Zih., but we were well attend to on this stay by all service employees. We would like to see the Swim up Bar reopened and a little more variety on the lunch menu, but we were pleased with our stay and look to be back again next year! Flights to Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo are hard to book and pricey!
Señor Dennis, UP Michigan

Room Tip: Book the European Plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello

First of all, let us thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about the service. We are glad to hear that you spent a good vacations staying with us.We really care on our guest, we will waiting for you to give you a warm welcome.
Thanks again, come back soon and let us pamper you..

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at the Krystal Ixtapa from February 6 to 20,2014. No hassle, friendly and comfortable trip. Staff at this hotel were all very friendly, easy to communicate with and seemed to enjoy their jobs. This hotel was extremely clean, accommodating and easy to get around. The beds were very clean and comfortable. Everything was spotless including the glass on the windows! Pool was cleaned 2x's/day, pool area was cleaned all day long. You did have to get up early to get some chairs poolside, fortunately for me some of my fellow travelers are early risers. You have to get there by 6:30a and stand in line for towels and pool floats. Food was plentiful and enjoyable. I met very good people and I made lots of friend from the USA (Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, and many other places). In the evening you can take a short walk to the town and you will find lots of place to have fun and enjoy. I certainly come back to this place again..

Room Tip: Take rooms overlooking the ocean great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello...

Thanks for let us know your comments about the service, we really take care on our guest. hope to see you the next vacations. Let us pamper you as you deserve it .

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chase, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in ixtapa in January ya the Emporio, and now the Krystal in March. The Krystal is a much nicer resort by far. The room are average slightly outdated but very clean and the air conditioning works great. Not like the emporio 2 doors down. The food in the hotel had a much larger selection and for all inclusive they offered to ala cartes. Which the emporio has none. Bogarts restaurant which is an al a carte in some packages is by far a 5 star restaurant and I highly recommend. There are a lot of negative reviews about this resort like missing toilet seats in the lobby etc. I found no such issues. The front desk staff were speedy in the check in and out process, the maid service was wonderful, the place, lobby, pool area etc, was always clean. The staff very friendly and helpful. I would not rate it a 4.5 star because of its out dated qualities like the big old Tvs and the wifi is very un reliable even in the lobby. Overall, I would return here, where I would not return to the Emporio. The population is probably 80% Mexican at this resort when I was there but that may bother some but not me. Be careful that not all things are all inclusive. Just ask. The mini bars/fridge in the rooms are locked. When we asked to have the fridge unlocked we were told it would be 50 pesos per day, crazy I thought to pay for the use of a fridge to keep my water cold. Not true, it would be 50 pesos per day if I used the contents of the mini bar. Which I did not. I was not charged to use the fridge. Be a smart traveller and just ask questions before you assume everything is all inclusive. That was the only weird quirk I ran into and would still highly recommend this resort. This area is very old so expect that things are a bit old and outdated, but really, you have miles of beaches, sun and sand, who cares if you have an old tv or new, how much time do you spend in your room?

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view don't offer to pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi!!

We are glad to hear that you had a really good vacation on your stay here..hope to see you soon and do not forget that we are here to pamper you.... Have an excellent week..

Thanks for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie ,Alberta ,Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Ixtapa is my favorite destination in Mexico.The weather is just perfect, +30 everyday.. The beds at the Krystal were really nice, the rooms average, we had good room service and always enough towels. We didnt pay the extra for an oceanview room but they gave us one anyway. Yes the mini bar is extra and you get charged for everything you use..The beach is amazingly wide and nice soft sand.The ocean water so warm, but can be very rough. We really enjoyed the pools, they were kept clean and theyre not cold. Now the food and drinks left alot to be desired, small selection of food and the quality and taste varied alot from one day to the next.. Sometimes it was good and then next time there was no taste and just alot of mashed up dishes.The thing that I just couldnt get is they had no guacamole!!! All inclusive allowed you only certain liquors and even if they had better stuff it was only for the guests who didnt have all inclusive. We found some of the staff accomadating while others just couldnt be bothered. Overall we had a great time because Ixtapa is so relaxing, the Krystal just needs to update all around and it could be a great place again.,

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, room 921, it had a great ocean view and balcony. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello!!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know your comments about the service.. we really care to make a great vacation for you... Do not forget that we are here to pamper you...

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent service by hotel staff and SunWing Vacation Rep, Daniel. Terrible experience with abusive bf. The staff and security took the utmost care with protecting me and making sure that I was safe and comfortable during my very short stay. Thx!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello!!

We are glad to hear that you had a really good vacation on your stay here..hope to see you soon and do not forget that we are here to pamper you, we´re going to be waiting for you the next vacation.....

Thanks for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hills
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great pool, great service, we spent extra and upgraded to a deluxe oceanview, find out while we were there, all rooms are ocean view and our deluxe room was just basic hotel room with two beds. We also upgraded because of a mini bar fridge, we thought would be included because we were all inclusive, ...BUT....not included plus to use it for your personal stuff, (keep water cold), etc. there was a $5.00 a day charge if your personal items were found in the fridge, so we didn't even get the key. Talked to a lot of other people that had the same complaint. There was a coffee maker in our room but the coffee was locked in the mini bar fridge, so, we spent 2 weeks not able to make coffee in our room because we refused to pay for it since we were all inclusive. We are ocean lovers but spent the majority of our time at the pools because it was never less than red flag. Most day black/red.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello!!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know your comments about the service.. we really care to make a great vacation for you... Do not forget that we are here to pamper you...

Have a nice day!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krystal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa, s/n 4 y 4A Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krystal Ixtapa awaits you with 255 recently refurbished rooms & suites, all offering cozy contemporary style, and extraordinary ocean views from your private terrace. You can truly relax with your choice of one of the best beaches or the most spectacular swimming pool in Ixtapa, with its own waterfall & waterslide! Located very close to the golf course, marina, and shopping, you will be able to truly experience all that Ixtapa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Krystal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Resort Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Ixtapa
Ixtapa Krystal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.