We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK- Don't Drink the Water and put a life vest on!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Krystal Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Krystal Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Ixtapa, s/n 4 y 4A Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just OK- Don't Drink the Water and put a life vest on!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have traveled to many parts of Mexico including several resort towns. This hotel I booked on the spur of the moment when I decided to visit with my wife and two kids. This was probably a 2-3 star hotel despite what any other ratings gave it. First the Positives: The location was great, close to town, so you can walk there and explore. The staff seemed accomadating, except when I decided to bring in a pizza for the kids from Dominos- it cost me a 40 peso tip to the waiter to agree to let my kids eat it by the pool without having to go back to the room. The service was great- yeah Jesus the bartender is a pretty nice guy at the pool bar. They serve you at the beach and the beach seemed clean and maintained. I had dinner at Bogarts- doesn't look that nice from the outside but inside is pretty cool- with the whole Casablanca look and a pianist playing a grand piano. Food was pretty good, a little expensive about $120 for dinner for 2 with drinks. The Negatives: Try to visit during the middle of the week, when few people are around. Once Friday comes along- bus loads of visitors (primarily Mexican Nationals) flood the hotel for the weekend. No lifeguard on duty, meant that I had to save a drowning little girl in the pool by the slide- this is not funny- and I was terribly upset that if I was not there she might have drowned. The hotel needs to hire lifeguards instead of hiring two groupies to conduct aqua aerobics in the water. Lastly it appears that a certain caliber of people appear to stay here- I saw a kid on the side of the kiddy pool peeing into it as the mom helped him. My wife let her have it in Spanish. More strict enforcement of conduct needs to be present- and less emphasis on my kid eating pizza by the pool, since I purchased food and drink every day I was there from the hotel. I will probably not be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi!! Good afternoon!

First of all we want to thank you for your comments about the service, we are working on the points mentioned.

Have a nice weekend!! Wish you guys happy holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    115
    85
    60
    58
See reviews for
114
99
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here February 2011 and 2012. Staff here are very friendly, especially the bar staff outside. Gloria is great and Jesus the bartender. Pools are fantastic. Pool bar is closed now. Went in high season 2x and must get your chair before 9am so be prepared. Never rained and was 30 everyday and sunny. We like sitting by the railing before the beach as we dont want shade. Walking the the main part of town only takes 5 minutes. The golf courses are beautiful. Beaches are not busy and can walk forever, best way to suntan. Not a good place for singles looking to hook up. No real night life in the hotel but has small bar with pool tables. WiFi Internet is included in the room as well as your mini bar fridge. Going back Feb. 2013. Lets meet for some golf!!

Room Tip: Get the renovated rooms near the top floors. Higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi everyone!!!

Thanks for let us know you comments... we´re glad that you had a great vacation... we´ll be waiting for you on Feb. 2013..
Have a nice weekend.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel and grounds: clean, nice beach and pool area, some family friendly activities.

Room: gourgeous view, clean, average motel room, small balcony.

Service: good, everyone was very nice and helpful. Beware they try to get you to buy "vacation packages".

Food: only tried breakfast buffett and it was good. Common american and mexican breakfast items. Best in my opinion were the freshly made masa empanadas.

Overall I may return to this hotel if the deal is super good but othewise will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi!!

Thanks for your comments... we´re glad that you spend a good time with us... hepe to see you soon...

have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We just got back yesterday from this Motel 2.5 establishment. The staff seemed like they don't want to be at work even though they are there in person. No greeting in the morning by anyone other than the folks trying to get me to go on tours. Food was horrific at best. Can't even think of a time when hot dogs were put out as breakfast sausage...It happens here. No as advertised swim up bar, 1 bar open with frequent long lines for alcohol, sports bar with 2 pool tables in severe dissarray, cleaning service was spotty at best(towels missed replenishment), and a hotel lobby that was in need of updating probably 10 years ago...Don't see the benefit of having an all inclusive package here to get borderline dog food for meals...If you want a place to lay your head this is your place..Expected much more but got very little in return. Only saving grace to this place are the vouchers that can be used at some eateries in town. The 232 peso vouchers helped mitigate some expense in eating out. Ixtapa and Zihua were great towns with this blemish of a hotel as a dark spot to our entire vacation.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello!!

We are sorry about your vacations, and thank you for your comments... that help us to be better.... we´re working on your suggestions..

Thanks again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Based on some of the reviews I had read on Trip Advisor I was somewhat skeptical, unsure as to what we would find when my two children and I arrived at the Krystal Ixtapa in April 2012. I was pleasantly suprised! The hotel staff was amazing; very attentive, polite, accomodating and quick to check us in. We received help getting our bags to our room and yes the elevators worked! The view from our room took my breath away; beautiful view of the ocean, you could hear the roar of the waves, nice view of the pool and garden area. The room was clean and neat. The bathroom could have used some updating, however, it was clean, the shower worked as did the toilet. We spent such minimal time in our room that honestly even if the room would have been shabby or completely outdated it would not have mattered as it was clean. I am not the type of person who needs a 5 star hotel just a clean place to shower and lay my head, however our room exceeded the minimum standard. The staff helped us with some minor tour mix ups, were always willing to help. Jesus the waiter/bartender at the pool and on the beach was the BEST!. He made sure we were always taken care of. We did not do the all inclusive as I wanted to experience the local eateries and what an awesome experience that was. We did eat at the hotel on two occassions for breakfast, ordered off the menu and lunch on the beach. The food was great. The beach was great; clean and there were many places to sit under papala's (sp?).
We were in walking distance to the Artisian Market in Ixtapa, a grocery store, other shopping, and places to eat. The City bus which runs constently stops right outside of the hotel property. We rode the city bus to Zihua on several occassions. We never felt unsafe at anytime during our stay in Ixtapa. Everyone we encountered was gracious and friendly. This was an awesome vacation for my children and I and we will definitely be going back and staying at the Krystal Ixtapa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi!!

We are glad to hear that you had a really good vacation on your stay here..hope to see you soon !!

Thanks for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is the last place you want to stay if you’d like a tranquil vacation. Ixtapa is a beautiful place, that’s why we decided to return. Our stay was part of an all-inclusive vacation package. I’m not going to beat around the bush with any fluff on this hotel. The management has zero (CERO in Spanish) training in hospitality. Rooms are small and the typical Mexican flair. By no means are they updated or clean to the lowest hotel standard in the US. The food was less desirable than a school cafeteria. Hot dogs for lunch, hot dogs in BBQ sauce for dinner and what do you know HOT DOGS labeled as sausage the next morning on the breakfast buffet. No swim up pool bar as advertised and no adult only pool as advertised. Don’t bother putting in any complaints with the front desk…THEY don’t care. The manager…Yeah he doesn’t care either. I do my fair share of traveling and this is the 1st time I’ve ever written a review. This is to warn you in advance not to waste your vacation and hard earned money at the Krystal.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi!!

Thanks for your suggestions... we really sorry that you didn´t have a great vacation staying with us... we´re working on it.. we hope you give us other chance to prove you our good service..

Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Ixtapa is a beautiful place to see. Very friendly people and very safe feeling! Our second time to the Krystal and as the first time very happy with accomodations, staff, and beach location. Rooms have pretty much been all remodeled. All rooms are ocean view so don't pay any extra when booking. Very clean, excellent staff, and good food always available. It's a smaller place and that's what we like the best, service is incredible around the pool, it's a holiday to relax. Some evenings are quiet, some evenings they have things going on if you want to join in. Great shopping and restaurants and everyday is HOT!
They have beautiful sunsets, highly recommend the evening Picante catermeran tour, good time!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more you see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi!!!

Thanks for your comments... we´re glad to hear you had good vacations..
We would like you to be here in a future...

Have a nice day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krystal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa, s/n 4 y 4A Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Ixtapa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krystal Ixtapa awaits you with 255 recently refurbished rooms & suites, all offering cozy contemporary style, and extraordinary ocean views from your private terrace. You can truly relax with your choice of one of the best beaches or the most spectacular swimming pool in Ixtapa, with its own waterfall & waterslide! Located very close to the golf course, marina, and shopping, you will be able to truly experience all that Ixtapa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Krystal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Resort Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Ixtapa
Ixtapa Krystal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.