We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time - Just as Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2nd Time - Just as Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our second time to Ixtapa and our 4th Club Med vacation. We stayed for a week and once again had a great time. The weather was perfect, the food delicious and the beach and ocean amazing. As before, we found the beds to be extremely comfortable and our rooms quiet.
Our kids (6 and 9) really enjoyed the mini-club and this year took part in many more activities than previously (tennis, trapeze, archery, kayaking). Thank you so much to the Mini-Club GO's and to the Circus Team who really encouraged our kids to participate, especially in the evening shows (talent show and mini-club show) as they don't normally do these types of things at home. Our kids really enjoyed hanging out with the GO's, especially Elie, Augustin, Josia, Wanny, and Giovany.

Some improvements would be welcomed - the game room could be outfit with more activities as it's a great place to go to escape the early afternoon sun. As well (and this pertains to all Club Meds) it would be great to receive more information about the kids club and themes for the evenings (dress) prior to arriving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    330
    84
    47
    26
See reviews for
1,340
187
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were very happy with our time at Club Med Ixtapa. Our three kids (6, 4, and 2 years old) enjoyed the beach, the food, their beds, and their clubs and leaders. They bonded with Hoshii, Wanny, Elie, and Augustine especially, but all the GO's were great. All the staff genuinely cared that we enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommend Club Med to other families and plan to return.

Room Tip: Our travel agent helped get our room. We were between the Mini Club and main pool. A great locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Club Med Ixtapa (we stayed for 11 days) and it was a blast.

We were lucky enough to see some friendly faces from last year (both from the incredible staff of G.O.s, as well as some guests). But that was icing on the cake. The entire staff is always willing to help and make your stay special. And it’s always great to connect with new guests.

Tip: If you are returning, make sure you let them know if you want the same room as you had the last time. They’ll try to accommodate.

This year both of our kids were in the Mini Club (4 and 6-year olds). The Club staff is amazing. Not only were they kind and considerate, they also were able to make sure the kids were having fun and trying new things. Both our kids did the trapeze, which we were super impressed with.

Wanny (“Chicken Nugget”) and Ellie (“Boom Boom”) had the kids laughing the whole day. I cannot believe how those guys kept up the energy and creativity, both during the day and the shows at night. They treated the kids with respect and made sure they (and the parents) were comfortable and enjoying every minute of the day.

Morgane, the head of the kids club, kept everything running smoothly! While Hoshi (who our kids loved last year) was in charge of the older kids, she always stopped to give ours a big hug and checked to make sure all was well. The same for Augustin! And Ricardo, Fer, Fausto, and Oscar were awesome and it made a huge difference with our kids having an incredible time… and us feeling good about our kids (and about my wife and I having some time to relax ourselves).

The resort is small enough to feel connected at all times (only a few minutes walk to most everything), but large enough to have good variety of activities. Every year, we try to do more things… but I really look forward to sailing and kayaking. Diego, who heads up the team, is great! Funny, helpful, and goes out of his way to connect with everyone. Plus he’s usually the one on stage at night getting the most laughs. (word to wise… if you don’t want to get “volunteered” on stage at night, don’t get too friendly with Diego… this was my second year getting pulled up for the comedy show!). And Zack was great at encouraging our son to go sailing and kayaking. Alvaro and Cele were super helpful as well.

My wife loves archery and Christian was great at running the group, managing the tournaments, and even showing off some fancy moves at the shows at night.

Patrick and the entire trapeze staff were working hard each day, encouraging all the kids (including ours) to take the leap (literally) and get out of their comfort zone and up high in the air.

The resort had volleyball, pool activities, rock climbing, yoga, and a ton of other things to do during the day as well. Carlos, the chief of sports, was always around, ensuing all was well.

And the food and drink staff were wonderful. Tonio and Filipe made sure our glasses were always full and Karen always made sure we had a table outside (with wonderful views of the ocean).

The night shows were fun. The kids loved them. And the adults, including us, enjoyed them as well. It’s amazing how the staff spends the entire day with us and then the entire night entertaining us. So much fun. We love how interactive the vacation is. Our kids are pretty social all the time, but this place takes it to new levels. And for those who want to expose their kids more variety, this is a very safe (and fun) place to do so.

And a special thanks to Medhi, Chief of the Village. Always around with a smile, kept the energy going throughout the village, and has some “interesting” roles to play during the shows. Rock on!

I feel like I’ve repeated this review 3 times already. But, we literally have only great things to say about this resort. We love it and look forward to coming back next year. Thanks Club Med!

Room Tip: Iguana rooms are closer to most activities and the kids clubs. But can be slightly more noisy at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Let's start from the beginning... We booked a last minute (bought the trip Monday, left for Ixtapa Saturday) trip to this resort January 18/25th, we dealed with Nathalie at Margarita travel and she really diserves two thumbs up! Se answered to all of our questions quickly, everything went just fine!

We were travelling with our 2 years old and 4 months old daughters. Our expectations were to have a good time on the beach, relax as much as we can and - that's why we've chosen this resort - a hassle-free experience.

We stayed on a beachfront family suite, a huge room, with a direct beach access and tons of amenities... The conciergerie service was really good, the ever-smiling Luis was always happy to welcome or help us. We had access to a private beach with a "beach boy", Manu, who serves drink all over the beach, with a smile to remember, very sympathic, and always a good suggestion when you need a refreshing drink. Another 2 thumbs up to Luis and Manu!

Room clean-up was great, we had our suite cleaned up twice a day and the job was always very well done.

We had good contacts with the GOs, everybody was smiling and did his best to make sure we had a great time in Ixtapa. The food was great, drinks were flavorful, service at the speciality restaurant was good, be sure you won't loose weight at Club Med!

We didn't tried the mini club med, wanted to stay with our kids. The only thing you need to bring is your diapers, sunscreen, mosquito repellent (depending on the season), and a mosquito net for the stroller (worked out pretty well for us). The Club Med-provided strollers are pretty good (Graco Literider - some of them are almost new), but you cannot stroll on the beach with them - the wheels are too small.

It may not be the cheapest resort out there, but that kind of peace of mind is priceless!

Room Tip: If you intend to travel with young kid and mainly have fun on the beach, the Beachfront family suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We spent 9 days at Club Med Ixtapa and had a wonderful time. We’ve been to Punta Cana before and enjoyed that a great deal, but were interested in seeing Club Med in a new setting. My husband and I traveled with our 8 year old son and 13 year old daughter. Just as does Punta Cana, Ixtapa feels like a glamorous family camp where everyone can have a good time doing whatever they want, together as well as independently. This was a perfect holiday, highly rejuvenating and highly recommended.

The sports are super; Carlos is a very capable leader of the team. The classes are small so one receives a lot of attention. I learned to play tennis thanks to Sergio and Juanito who were very patient. I stuck with Salsa every day and thanks to the wonderful Armando came out able to do a step or two! My daughter (in the junior club with the super teen leaders Hoshi and Giovanni) did trapeze constantly and became quite good, receiving instruction on increasingly advanced moves and even performing in the “catch” show. My son was terrified at first but by the end, thanks in no small part due to the encouraging teachers, made it not only to the knee hang but a toe hang and ankle catch, too. Marifer, Patrick, Hannah, Felipe, Ray Ray and the circus group made me confident that my kids were in safe hands. My son in the Mini-Club loved all the activities under the guidance of the kind and responsible Chava, Wanny, Cesar, Morgane, Julie, and others. It was a joy to see him sailing, kayaking, trapezing, playing tennis, etc. He just had a great time and stayed with the miniclub every day from 9 till about 3 when we all joined together on the beach.

The shows are a lot of fun. What they lack in polish they make up in playfulness, especially as the week goes on and you know the people more and more: it is hilarious to see them pop up in zany costumes on stage in roles, like when your camp counselors as a kid would perform in skits. They are not glitzy but shouldn’t be—they have a wholesomeness that is appreciated. My only wish is that the GM would relax a bit and get into it more…. But that is certainly not for lack of the GOs trying! The resort is very quiet after the evening shows, so drinks and conversation near the bar are enjoyable. It does not have a wild nightlife, but does not need it. Saul always brought us drinks on the patio and took good care of us and being outside in the evening under the stars near the ocean was lovely.

The resort is on a beautiful stretch of beach with a warm and calm ocean. The rooms are well designed (we were in Iguana in a family club room. I am glad we didn’t pay more for another one, this one was very spacious and comfortable) and well maintained by an attentive housekeeping staff. The food is very healthy and nicely prepared. I tend to go for the healthy and regional dishes (fabulous tortillas, fresh fruit/vegetables, local cuisine), and was very happy with this format, especially since the kids are able to select what they want, as are the adults. We ate outside on the terrace overlooking the ocean nearly every meal. The dinner on the lawn under the stars one night was really an amazing thing to behold.

Little details: Yes, bring a ton of sunscreen. Mosquitoes are only a problem at dusk and dawn, and they have repellent in the restaurant if you need it; not nearly as bad as the Caribbean. Walk down the block to see the crocodiles and birds. If you book through Club Med, they are helpful in getting the best rates. Because of their persistence, we ended up getting a great deal (air, too) at a different time than we expected, and having 9 nights instead of 5 and for less. The agents are very helpful. If you book your travel through Club Med, you probably get better service in addition to transport to/from the airport which was nice.

Room Tip: Iguana Building is right near the miniclub so very convenient. Club family room was excellent layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We came here two years ago with our kids and had a great time. The management, staff, and food were top notch. Unfortunately on our current stay the management has been MIA so the staff seem to be taking advantage of it, energy at the resort is low the instructors and staff at the kids club are sleep walking through the day resulting in our kids not wanting to go to camp.

Also, i'm very disappointed in the wireless service, I'm ok with paying for it but if i do i expect it to work. The service disconnects you very frequently, sometimes only a min into the session. long overdue for the management to upgrade their wireless service.

Tips: bring the following with you....conditioner, anti itch cream, lots of sunscreen, mosquito repellent, camp bags for the kids, several bathing suits.

Room Tip: Iguana rooms are convenient to the kids club and relatively central to the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were just a Club Med Ixtapa for a week with 2 other families on vacation. Unfortunately, we were placed in a handicap room with our 19 month old. We asked several times to be moved to a family room but were told that there was no availability. We were very disappointed, given how much we had paid to stay there and had to be very creative to get our baby to sleep in the same room as us for a week. Also the floors were very slippery when wet (no carpets/area rugs) and our baby fell on numerous occasions because the shower floor was level with the rest of the bathroom area and water would get everywhere whenever someone showered. Overall our room was really not well suited for a family with a small child and we spent as little time in there as possible.

The food was mediocre, at best, despite a lovely presentation. The mosquitos were pretty bad at night so bring bug spray. Also bring lots of your own personal care products as the boutique was 3x what it typically costs in a store and there is no where to go within walking distance of the hotel. However, we found the baby club to be a nice outlet for our daughter and the care provided was of high quality. Also the staff were very friendly, personable, and kind to everyone. The location is lovely, especially if you want a place to relax, play in the water, and escape. If you are into adventures and going exploring when you are on vacation, this is not a good place for you as there are limited sight seeing/adventures away from the resort and the local city is a 20 minute cab ride away.

We enjoyed visiting with our friends, playing with our children, and relaxing and would probably recommend Club Med Ixtapa to another family with similar interests.

Room Tip: If you have a family, make sure you get the family room. Very nice set up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.