We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing family vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

First visit to a Club Med - we were blown away! Celebrating a 50th anniversary we were an extended family of 8 ranging from age 6 to 75! All were pampered by the staff and as busy as we wanted to be. Entertainment was amazing with a special treat of an opening night of a new show led by the trapeze artists but including all of the staff. Performances, dancing, lighting, music was all superb. Every night was fun for all but that evening felt exceptionally theatrical! Well done - special shout out to Patrick, Hannah and Mary-Fer (sp?)!!! Amazing.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    341
    86
    48
    26
See reviews for
1,363
192
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (8 including kids) went at the top of October during their slow season. The staff (GO's) went out of their way to keep the energy up in the resort and we had a blast! The kids loved the mini club and would spend half the day with them and enjoyed all the activities they took them too.
Food was good and lots of variety. The personalities of the main bar staff and trapeze ( Patrick , Marifer, Hanna ) team made the week memorable!
Looking forward to my next CM visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I reserved to go to the Club Med at Ixtapa, Mexico and reserved with cancellation insurance (which is almost $300). Due to personal reasons I had to reschedule my trip..Well!!!... you CANNOT reschedule, the only thing you can do is ask for a refund and re-book another trip, by submitting an insurance claim and that's not all... they refund only half of the money I paid because they take-off fees (re-shelving???), and the cherry on the cake they don't give you cash back, the insurance sends you a voucher towards a future trip...SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE, you cannot foresee life so you want to use a vacation provider with commercial ethics, Club Med is not one of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the first time we stayed a Club Med resort and we expected more then we got. The food was just ok, the shows were bad, and the service at the beach bar was the worst I've ever experienced. The beach boy only came an offered drinks when a boss was around. The service was awesome at the main bar and at the main restaurant. Didn't care much for all the staff intruding in during meal times either. Mehdi the directors is great with his guest and likes to check up on things all day. However he asks how things are going so fast, you don't get a chance to complain or comment because he's off to the next guest. We had to ask for a different stroller because they gave us one that was so old you could almost not use it. The beds were hard and most rooms have mosquito and lizard problems. There is an older pool attendant who talks bad about the guests in front of them not knowing that most people speak Spanish. He also complained about his hours and shift to the younger pool attendant. Not a great way to enjoy the pool. The internet deposit of a couple hundred dollars was obscene! Who needs that kind of deposit to use the internet? We will not be returning and would recommend Secrets Resorts instead.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Fourth visit to CM Ixtapa and very likely to go back again. Each time has been with a different Chief and different team of GO's but each visit has been great due to the teams.

Below are links to 2 prior reviews and both are still true. This review is to specifically call out and commend certain staff (GO's) who really made a great impression and deserve recognition.

Cynthia in reception during our welcome and through our stay - she can really dance! (look out for her late night 'Coyote Ugly' crazy bar dance!)
Hannah in circus - a lot of fun! Basti and Saul in the bar really went out of their way and can mix some mean drinks. Christian (archery) and Osher (Baby club) for just being great company.
Christina, Hoshi, Aylina, Julie, Alex and Augstin in Mini club, who are just so good with kids. They really made our 6 year old daughter feel special and cared for.
Catherine (head of services) and Medhi (chief of village) who went out of their way to address any concerns. Also German, the chef who made a special effort to find fresh passion fruits for my wife, as they're her favorite fruit in the tropics.

The only critical feedback is the photo team / company. This is a little outside of Club Med's control as it is an outside company and a new one to this resort. On past visits the photo team had been very present with many photos to choose from each day. We usually bought the full package of all the photos on CD. We were there 12 days and for the 1st 4 days there was not a single photo of any of us, and there were only around 70 guests in the entire resort. Later in our stay (over the next weekend) there were no photo of any guest. Their pricing / packaging is a bit of a joke. They are using a 'Santa Photo in the Mall' model where you are only expected to buy 1 or 2 pictures at a very high price. They do the Sunset family photos which is nice, where they take up to 100 shots but price it out so you'll only choose a few. (We ended up paying $350 for 34 digital and 17 print - I only wanted digital but this was not even an option). They had no flexibility or willingness to come up with any alternative packages.

We love Club Med Ixtapa and our only hesitation on returning is the poor photo team/business. The expectation was set much higher from our prior visits where we've had lots of wonderful family photo to look back on.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g153445-d154176-r80361747-Club_Med_Ixtapa_Pacific-Ixtapa_Zihuatanejo_Pacific_Coast.html

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g153445-d154176-r118509922-Club_Med_Ixtapa_Pacific-Ixtapa_Zihuatanejo_Pacific_Coast.html

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great family resort. Great location, excellent food and the entire staff was just awesome.
We went with our three boys (13)(10) & (6) and we all had a blast. The circus staff kept my kids entertained for hours. The shows were so fun. I actually got to relax on vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife, daughter and I went to Club Med Ixpata late in August. We had a great time because Club Med really knows how to do all-inclusive resorts. You get the best bang for the buck at Club Med. Is it the best resort in the world? No, but it does give you outstanding all around value. The food is really good. The rooms are very comfortable, maybe not five star, but who goes to these kind of places to stay in your room. Seeing that Club Med was the first major all-inclusive resort company, they got first choice of great beach locations and Ixtapa is par for the course as Club Med's go. It is a beautiful spot on the Mexican Pacific coast. Once you walk down the stairs from the entrance and see the Pacific Ocean you are hooked.

This was the second year in a row that we went to a Club Med family resort. Last year we were in Club Med Punta Cana. We picked these Club Med family clubs especially for our 7 year old daughter and on our flights back home from both clubs, our daughter repeatedly cried about leaving. She didn't want to go home. "Can't we stay" she repeatedly asked us. She had a great great time and this was due to the wonderful Club Med Mini Clubs and the energetic GO's whose job it is to make sure the children have a great time. Above all else, the friendly excellent service that the GO's provide really elevates the Club Med experience beyond a good vacation to a great one.
The GO's are key to the Club Med experience. If the Chief of the Club does his job with professionalism and GO's have enthusiasm, the GM's (guests) will have a great time. This was the case for my family in Club Med Punta Cana last year and especially so in Club Med Ixtapa this year.
My family say thank you to Club Med, a truly excellent hospitality company.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Club Med and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.