We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Save Saved
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A really great place for the family to go. We were there for less than six hours when the kids (ages 6 and 9) proclaimed it the "best family vacation EVER!" The Family Rooms were excellently designed and well appointed, with privacy for my wife and me. The kids loved the mini-club camps so much I had to fight to get time with my 9 year old - she wouldn't leave the camp for blood or money! The food was surprisingly good, with fresh fish served almost every night - sashimi quality mahi-mahi and yellowfin tuna - SO GOOD! The GO's were great - especially Ronaldo who worked the trapeze school. Juanny and Aidee from the mini club were favorites of my kids. I would take the family back for certain! My only complaint is the lack of connection to the Mexican culture - we could have been almost anywhere in the world and it would have felt the same...

Room Tip: Don't both with the ocean view rooms - you spend so little time in your room there that it hardl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Joshua B,
Thank you for posting a review about our Ixtapa resort. It is our goal to make sure each guest has an exceptional time and we're thrilled your family had such an awesome vacation! We're especially glad you found our Mini Club, staff, activities, facilities and dining options to be terrific. We're so happy your whole family had a memorable experience, and we hope you return soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,226
    274
    71
    41
    23
See reviews for
1153
166
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Lambert, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I travelled to this club med for spring break 2013 with my family and another family. We loved our experience. All 8 people are very different and everybody found their activities and had it's own daily routine. For me, 17 years old, it was zumba every morning, trapeze every afternoon and beach and pool time in between. I've done only zumba but it really seems like all the fitness classes are great since my friend's mom went everyday and appreciated it very much. The highlight of my week was definetly trapeze, I had already done alot in other club med's and the experience there was also great. The team was amazing, my friend, my father and I had a blast with Maureen, Joe, Salgado, Joe and Rolando. They were great to help us become better and were also very kind. Maureen has even been nice enough to pass here grips so that I could keep on doing trapeze! The food, as in all the club med's I've done was very good, I wide selection of different types of food and excellent ice cream ;). My brother and my friend's brother had a great time at the junior club and appreciated their stay.The only negative point is that the nightlife (party) wasn't amazing (as in Punta Cana or in Cancun). Even so, there is something for everybody because all 8 of us from age 11 to 50 years old had a great time. Thank you Club Med Ixtapa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear IKalar,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Ixtapa resort. We're so glad you had a phenomenal vacation and that you enjoyed all our resort has to offer like the trapeze, fitness classes, beach and pool. It also makes us so happy to hear you found our dining options and staff to be fantastic. Thank you again for the kind words, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friend and I just came back from a 2 week vacation at Club Med Ixtapa. It was the best holidays I ever had.

First, the staf is amazing. Everybody is smiling, helpful, welcoming and very friendly. The first 2 g.o. that came to us were Augustin and Felipe from the Mini Club. They came to us to participate to the crazy signs, and remained very friendly every day after. We had very good times with them (ex.: party at the beach, karaoke, shows...) Sahian, who works at the boutique was amazing. She made sure our stay was perfect. Stephanie is also amazing, she is full of energy during the fitness class and throughout the day.

The food was excellent: there was various menus and was also very tasty. This Club Med is very family oriented. So if you are looking for a quiet place with no kids running and/or for a fun night life, this is definately not the place to go. But for everything else, it is a little paradise.

Special thanks to Polo who made us fell like home and is stil very helpful even after the trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear L_Pres435,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We love when our guests have a fabulous experience and we're thrilled you thought our staff and dining options were excellent. It also makes us so happy to hear you enjoyed all our resort has to offer like the entertainment, beach and fitness classes. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Is a wonderfull place, with lot of activities for your kids, that helps all the family to enjoy the resort, get rest and fun.
Food is very good, rooms are quite confortable and the GOs are amazing.
I want to thanks all the GOs in the village, specially Mellisa, Gerardo, Jaime, Kari, Ximena and Agustin, they took care of my kids and helped us to have an unforgettable vacations.
Felipe, Gaby, Felipe Jr and JJ

Room Tip: If you have Kids, Iguana Building is your option, is just next to most of the kids activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Felipe E,
Thank you for posting a review about our Ixtapa resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation and that you found our staff, dining options and facilities to be excellent. We're also so glad you enjoyed so many activities we have to offer. Thank you again for sharing about your stay, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just got back from an amazing family vacation here! We had never been to a Club Med and were not sure what to expect. Upon arriving my 8 year old said "wow this really is paradise" and that pretty much sums up the whole experience. The staff was amazing! We were welcomed by Remy who manages this place with expertise and a big smile on his face! The counselors and caregivers for the kids camp and baby camp were AMAZING!!! We have a 6 month old and the caregivers in the baby club were so great. Registering the kids was super easy and Nallely was such a big help with the process. She was there at each drop off and manages the baby club with ease. I also have to give a BIG THANK YOU to Alina!! She made our experience such a wonderful one. Our baby was so happy each morning when we dropped him off and Alina always welcomed him with a huge smile. We also got to have dinner a few nights with Alina and she would always entertain the baby and let us eat....can it get much better?!?! I also have to say a big thank you to Dora and Ceci who also made our experience so great. These ladies are great at their job, love working with the babies and are very sweet people!
Our older boys LOVED the camp! They never wanted us to pick them up until the very end. Thank you so much to Veronik, Vania and Selene. You all made our older boys experience a great one. They have all let us know that we need to go back again next year....only we need to stay for 10 days instead of 7!
Such an amazing vacation and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a safe, clean, amazong experience for their family!! Love love love it there!!

Room Tip: They have family suites that are great or can get 2 ajoining rooms. If you need 2 bathrooms make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Aumi-Hennings Leber,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're thrilled to hear you had a fabulous vacation and that our staff, service and Mini Club surpassed your expectations. It is our goal to make sure each guest has a memorable experience, and we hope you return soon for another vacation!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Five of us ranging in ages from 81 to 10 had a magnificent time at this inspired facility, beautifully designed and passionately produced. The GOs were diverse and talented: our 10-year-old daughter thrilled to be in the trapeze show and get so much good coaching. Our 14-year old son had the ultimate hang-out time with friends he met there, and both kids and I had great fun piloting the catamarans--they solo skippered for the first time.

Stephanie the exercise teacher and Dan the water aerobics leader stood out in a talented field of GO's. Between my wife, mother-in-law and I, we had a combined total of easily 10 classes a day of Zumba, Toning, Water Aerobics, and sports like water basketball. Stephanie fires up the crowd and is so giving in taking people to new levels. Dan is funny and a fun teacher. The circus team of GO's is extraordinary, both as entertainers and teachers. The sailing team made our sailing experiences very fun--Diego revived the Hobie 16 with great fittings, and I scooted it like a banshee on fire across the green Pacific on a good wind day. All of us look forward to returning. Oh, I didn't mention the food--it was beyond expectations. The chefs at their stations making custom omelettes and dishes--everyone takes such pride and the ambition levels are high. What a treat! Thank you, Club Med. (p.s. Aero Mexico couldn't transfer our luggage accurately during a four-hour Mexico City layover, and it arrived at the village hours late. We hadn't packed our swimsuits on the carry-on--do that. And perhaps choose a transfer city other than Mexico City. We learned it's not uncommon for baggage to be inaccurately handled there).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Suburbadad,
Thanks for the kind words about our Ixtapa resort. We love when our guests have an awesome experience and we're so happy to hear our staff and dining options exceeded your every expectation. We're also so glad you enjoyed so many of the activities we have to offer like the trapeze, sailing and water aerobics. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently spent a truly delightful week at Ixtapa Pacifico with our 15-year-old son. The location, food and accommodations were everthing we had hoped for. The staff was without peer for their friendliness, enthusiasm and competence. Our teenager announced on our last night that "this was the best vacation we've ever taken!" Our Deluxe Family Room had a beautiful beach view and plenty of privacy for us and our son.

A couple of small nits: the Mexican sun is brutal even in mid-February, and while there were chaise lounges aplenty on Playa Quieta in front of the club, there was a noticeable lack of umbrellas to help Club guests avoid roasting themselves alive. When we mentioned this to a club manager, he told us the palm trees that line the beach provided sufficient shade. If that were the case, then why did we and many of our fellow guests rise at 6:30 am each day to go down to the beach to secure one of the precious few umbrellas for the day? Nit No. 2: The main restaurant, Encanta, has great food, but it's a loud, raucous cattle-call, with three- and four-year-olds literally running around with full plates and tumblers. If you're looking for a quieter setting, the Club has two alternative restaurants, both of them very lovely, but which operate only sporadically. The front-desk staff was never able to tell us more than one day in advance whether the more "adult" oriented restaurants would be open for dinner. That makes it mighty tough to make a reservation unless you're willing to dine after 9 pm. Returning Club guests are given priority when making those reservations. Alas, we were first-timers.

Having said all this, will we return next year? Yes, absolutely!

Room Tip: Upper-level Deluxe Family Rooms in Pajeros building have incredible views of Isla Grande (Ixtapa Isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Allen S,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff, facilities and dining options to be terrific. However, we apologize for the concerns you've mentioned and will be assessing them immediately. We are always looking for ways to improve and are so grateful for any suggestions our guests may have. We're glad you had an awesome vacation, and we can't wait for your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Club Med and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.