We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Save Saved
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friend and I just came back from a 2 week vacation at Club Med Ixtapa. It was the best holidays I ever had.

First, the staf is amazing. Everybody is smiling, helpful, welcoming and very friendly. The first 2 g.o. that came to us were Augustin and Felipe from the Mini Club. They came to us to participate to the crazy signs, and remained very friendly every day after. We had very good times with them (ex.: party at the beach, karaoke, shows...) Sahian, who works at the boutique was amazing. She made sure our stay was perfect. Stephanie is also amazing, she is full of energy during the fitness class and throughout the day.

The food was excellent: there was various menus and was also very tasty. This Club Med is very family oriented. So if you are looking for a quiet place with no kids running and/or for a fun night life, this is definately not the place to go. But for everything else, it is a little paradise.

Special thanks to Polo who made us fell like home and is stil very helpful even after the trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear L_Pres435,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We love when our guests have a fabulous experience and we're thrilled you thought our staff and dining options were excellent. It also makes us so happy to hear you enjoyed all our resort has to offer like the entertainment, beach and fitness classes. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,234
    275
    71
    41
    23
See reviews for
1162
166
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vina del Mar, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Is a wonderfull place, with lot of activities for your kids, that helps all the family to enjoy the resort, get rest and fun.
Food is very good, rooms are quite confortable and the GOs are amazing.
I want to thanks all the GOs in the village, specially Mellisa, Gerardo, Jaime, Kari, Ximena and Agustin, they took care of my kids and helped us to have an unforgettable vacations.
Felipe, Gaby, Felipe Jr and JJ

Room Tip: If you have Kids, Iguana Building is your option, is just next to most of the kids activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Felipe E,
Thank you for posting a review about our Ixtapa resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation and that you found our staff, dining options and facilities to be excellent. We're also so glad you enjoyed so many activities we have to offer. Thank you again for sharing about your stay, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just got back from an amazing family vacation here! We had never been to a Club Med and were not sure what to expect. Upon arriving my 8 year old said "wow this really is paradise" and that pretty much sums up the whole experience. The staff was amazing! We were welcomed by Remy who manages this place with expertise and a big smile on his face! The counselors and caregivers for the kids camp and baby camp were AMAZING!!! We have a 6 month old and the caregivers in the baby club were so great. Registering the kids was super easy and Nallely was such a big help with the process. She was there at each drop off and manages the baby club with ease. I also have to give a BIG THANK YOU to Alina!! She made our experience such a wonderful one. Our baby was so happy each morning when we dropped him off and Alina always welcomed him with a huge smile. We also got to have dinner a few nights with Alina and she would always entertain the baby and let us eat....can it get much better?!?! I also have to say a big thank you to Dora and Ceci who also made our experience so great. These ladies are great at their job, love working with the babies and are very sweet people!
Our older boys LOVED the camp! They never wanted us to pick them up until the very end. Thank you so much to Veronik, Vania and Selene. You all made our older boys experience a great one. They have all let us know that we need to go back again next year....only we need to stay for 10 days instead of 7!
Such an amazing vacation and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a safe, clean, amazong experience for their family!! Love love love it there!!

Room Tip: They have family suites that are great or can get 2 ajoining rooms. If you need 2 bathrooms make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Aumi-Hennings Leber,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're thrilled to hear you had a fabulous vacation and that our staff, service and Mini Club surpassed your expectations. It is our goal to make sure each guest has a memorable experience, and we hope you return soon for another vacation!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Five of us ranging in ages from 81 to 10 had a magnificent time at this inspired facility, beautifully designed and passionately produced. The GOs were diverse and talented: our 10-year-old daughter thrilled to be in the trapeze show and get so much good coaching. Our 14-year old son had the ultimate hang-out time with friends he met there, and both kids and I had great fun piloting the catamarans--they solo skippered for the first time.

Stephanie the exercise teacher and Dan the water aerobics leader stood out in a talented field of GO's. Between my wife, mother-in-law and I, we had a combined total of easily 10 classes a day of Zumba, Toning, Water Aerobics, and sports like water basketball. Stephanie fires up the crowd and is so giving in taking people to new levels. Dan is funny and a fun teacher. The circus team of GO's is extraordinary, both as entertainers and teachers. The sailing team made our sailing experiences very fun--Diego revived the Hobie 16 with great fittings, and I scooted it like a banshee on fire across the green Pacific on a good wind day. All of us look forward to returning. Oh, I didn't mention the food--it was beyond expectations. The chefs at their stations making custom omelettes and dishes--everyone takes such pride and the ambition levels are high. What a treat! Thank you, Club Med. (p.s. Aero Mexico couldn't transfer our luggage accurately during a four-hour Mexico City layover, and it arrived at the village hours late. We hadn't packed our swimsuits on the carry-on--do that. And perhaps choose a transfer city other than Mexico City. We learned it's not uncommon for baggage to be inaccurately handled there).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Suburbadad,
Thanks for the kind words about our Ixtapa resort. We love when our guests have an awesome experience and we're so happy to hear our staff and dining options exceeded your every expectation. We're also so glad you enjoyed so many of the activities we have to offer like the trapeze, sailing and water aerobics. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently spent a truly delightful week at Ixtapa Pacifico with our 15-year-old son. The location, food and accommodations were everthing we had hoped for. The staff was without peer for their friendliness, enthusiasm and competence. Our teenager announced on our last night that "this was the best vacation we've ever taken!" Our Deluxe Family Room had a beautiful beach view and plenty of privacy for us and our son.

A couple of small nits: the Mexican sun is brutal even in mid-February, and while there were chaise lounges aplenty on Playa Quieta in front of the club, there was a noticeable lack of umbrellas to help Club guests avoid roasting themselves alive. When we mentioned this to a club manager, he told us the palm trees that line the beach provided sufficient shade. If that were the case, then why did we and many of our fellow guests rise at 6:30 am each day to go down to the beach to secure one of the precious few umbrellas for the day? Nit No. 2: The main restaurant, Encanta, has great food, but it's a loud, raucous cattle-call, with three- and four-year-olds literally running around with full plates and tumblers. If you're looking for a quieter setting, the Club has two alternative restaurants, both of them very lovely, but which operate only sporadically. The front-desk staff was never able to tell us more than one day in advance whether the more "adult" oriented restaurants would be open for dinner. That makes it mighty tough to make a reservation unless you're willing to dine after 9 pm. Returning Club guests are given priority when making those reservations. Alas, we were first-timers.

Having said all this, will we return next year? Yes, absolutely!

Room Tip: Upper-level Deluxe Family Rooms in Pajeros building have incredible views of Isla Grande (Ixtapa Isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Allen S,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff, facilities and dining options to be terrific. However, we apologize for the concerns you've mentioned and will be assessing them immediately. We are always looking for ways to improve and are so grateful for any suggestions our guests may have. We're glad you had an awesome vacation, and we can't wait for your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Club Med has changed their focus in recent years to put the emphasis on family clubs and family vacations. But this also has resulted in the fact that the Club Meds are no longer geared for single travellers. I have been to a number of Club Meds around the world over the last 20 years, travelling with family, friends and as a single. And it used to be one of the great things about Club Med that if you chose to travel alone you didn't feel out of place or isolated. Alot of the things they used to do to ensure this are no longer done. It used to be great at meals because the Club would have people that managed tables and they would encourage people to mingle and ensure that no-one was forced to dine alone. And dinners at Club Meds used to be these great social events and something you would look forward regardless of whether you were there with people or on your own. But not anymore, the staff don't encourage people to mingle at meals or anywhere else and let single people fend for themselves. I am a friendly person, but I spent the majority of my meals eating alone and found myself now dreading dinners at Club Med. And because the bulk of vacationers are families, often with small children, most people are really not very welcoming or friendly.

I just got back from spending at week at Club Med Ixtapa. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were nice. I thought the food was abit disappointing. Some of the dinners were nice, but the other meals were very repetitive and a good portion of it is devoted to kids, hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza, plain pasta at EVERY SINGLE MEAL! The drinks at the bar were also second rate - lousy draft beer (can't believe that in Mexico, they couldn't even offer Corona) and it seems no matter what adult drink you order it ends up being some "slushy" version of it. Makes me miss the days where you paid for drinks, but then actually got a real drink.

So I would have to say that the Club Meds are now just like any other all-inclusive in the world and likely not as good as some others. I would never travel to a Club Med again as a single and I would strongly advise others not to either as you will be sorely disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Madison G,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Ixtapa resort. We're so sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations as this is not the norm for Club Med. Please know we are currently addressing the concerns you have mentioned and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the club med in Ixtapa. We were two adults and two kids under 10. We had THE most incredible time. The activities were a blast, the food was delicious. The beach and the weather were perfect.

We picked up some tidbits in Spanish and got to sit in on their first spanish lessons. Myself and the kids did Zumba with Senora Stephanie who is excellent.

Actually, the first two people who greeted us... Augustin (from mini club med) and Melissa, who works in the office typically, stayed with us the entire trip. They really made it everything it was. Augustin had dinner with us the first night; my valentine! He was always ready with an insane amount of energy and enthusiasm everytime we had the pleasure of seeing him. I begged him to let me come join his mini-club group just so I could spend the day doing activities with him. He performed in several of the shows we had the pleasure of seeing. He is a true professional and someone who evidently LOVES his job and the families he gets to spend time with. Look out for him!!

Tonio who worked at archery was also quite exceptional. He went the extra mile for us and we got some quality hang out time with him.

Lohen the bartender will come up with any kind of drink you want, and is always ready to go with loads of surprises.

And Melissa... Oh the fun we had. She was my partner for our beach limbo contest. I spent several nights dancing away with her. My favorite was right after the beach party, her me and Augustin all spent some quality time together. What I find outstanding about all of them is the way they can be fun and engaging with the grown ups and equally amazing and entertaining for and with the kids.

My goodbyes were terribly sad, and I plan to keep in touch with that exceptional group. I can't wait to find out if they will be staying at the same club med or moving, I may have to pick a different vacation spot next year :D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear E K,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had an outstanding stay and that you found our dining options, staff and Mini Club to be excellent. We're also thrilled you enjoyed archery. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Club Med and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.