We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need for refurbishment and better food quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Save Saved
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Need for refurbishment and better food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We went there for one week in low season and were quite disappointed, from the room quality, they need to repaint the rooms as well as the choice of meals. the different restaurants were not regularly opened and quality of food was lower than we experienced elsewhere in such hotels. The house wine was a challenge to drink and even the wins list was ok, if you order more than 2 bottles of the same wine in a week, it is sold out. We also had the impression that the fresh juices were extended with water and the morning coffee was a provocation.

Location and site is great, but a tendency of usage above normal / not taking care of was even seen at some sports equipment. So, all in, wonderful bay, marvelous site, but you can do so much more out of it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear MexicoViva,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific. We are so sorry we did not surpass your expectations as this is not the norm for Club Med. Please know we are currently addressing the concerns you mentioned and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your insights, and we hope you give Club Med another chance in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,234
    276
    71
    41
    23
See reviews for
1163
166
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is our second trip to Club Med Ixtapa and it's even better the 2nd time around! My kids are now 2 and 5 and I was really nervous about whether they would like the Mini Club and Petit Club, but by the 2nd day, they loved it! The G.O.s are what make the Club Med experience special. They were accommodating and eager to take care of our kids. G.O. Augustin was my to-go person for everything related to the kids, he took great care of us and was always very calm and patient despite having so many people to respond to. When my 5 year old didn't want to go to the club, Augustin won his heart by playing with a water gun and teaching him how to play tennis. During his off work hours he still took the time to chat with us and we became good friends! My kids (and us) also loved Hoshi and Priscilla who were so charming. Selene, Vania, Ana and Manuel from Petit Club and Pyjama Club were amazing, and special thanks to Ulyses, who my 2 year old took special affection for and who took really good care of him. I've never seen my son like someone new so quickly! He's quiet but has such a magic touch with kids. We also enjoyed very much the company and conversation of Mau and Sehian from the Boutique, Lohan and Richard from the Estrella Bar and Salgado and Joe from the Trapeze. Remy, the chief of the village, was great, took the time to talk to us every time we saw each other. The dinner under the stars was the highlight of our stay. The only suggestion I have is to provide free wireless internet which all hotels provide nowadays and the gym needs a serious makeover. Thank you so much for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear JSDK_12,
Thanks for the review! It makes us so happy to hear you had an amazing second visit and that you found our staff and Kids Club to be fantastic. Thank you for your suggestion as we are always looking for ways to improve and truly appreciate any feedback our guests may have. We hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We arrived home last night, full of stories and memories of our time in Ixtapa. The Club Med experience is perfect for our family ie kids have fun and lots to do, we can relax or be active and spend time together. The setting is beautiful and the suites well worth the little extra. But what really makes the holiday is the people from the ladies in the store, to Stephanie the Zumba teacher extraordinaire, the amazing circus acts and show, Daniel the Brazilian Mr Bean and sports co-ordinator and Remy the Village chief they all made it special and went that extra mile!
My daughter actually didn't want to leave! We will be back!

Room Tip: Suites are def worth is for the private beach and your own reception with coffee, snacks and drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Lucy M,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our resort. We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful vacation and that our staff, facilities and activities exceeded your expectations. We're so glad you and your family had a memorable vacation, and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It is an unbelievable experience. This is our 2nd year there and it just keeps on getting better. We will also be there next year for our third time. The shows were better especially the Circus show. The food higher quality if you can imagine that being that its great already. The staff, what can I say unbelievable. At your back and call at all times. Daniel S. the sports GEO was incredible, funny, entertaining a true pleasure to be around. And what Joe Machado did with the circus show was phenomenal. What makes this resort all that it is aside from the spectacular location, bright sun and splendid beaches is the Staff. The Geo's are extremely friendly, entertaining and pleasing. Its truly difficult to place into words what 7-10 days here can do for you. It is a must experience. From the moment you arrive at the Airport to the minute you return it's 1st class all around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear FabioMassarelli,
Thanks for the kind words! We love when our guests have a fantastic experience and we're thrilled to hear you'll be returning again in the near future! It also makes us so happy to know you found our staff, dining options and entertainment to be wonderful. Thank you again for your feedback, and we can't wait for your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at Club Med for a week in June 2012. Our family is typically into more adventurous vacations (camping, skiing etc), but we were looking for a really great relaxing vacation, that would allow us to recharge and our 3 small kids to have fun.

Based on friend recommendations and TripAdvisor we selected Club Med, Ixtapa, and this turned out to be a great choice. The child program is absolutely fantastic. The staff is nice, warm, and passionate about working with kids. We dropped the kids first thing in the morning, and had the entire day to ourselves to eat, read, relax, and do several different sports (swimming, beach volleyball, soccer, sailing).

Some other things:
* The sunsets are unreal. Go for a wal on the beach during sunset!
* Food is fresh and of good quality.
* You can rent a boat and go to the Island in front of the hotel. Great for a day incl fresh seafood lunch


Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear joostPaloAlto,
Thanks for the kind words! It makes us so ecstatic to hear you had such a wonderful vacation, and that you enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer like swimming, sailing, volleyball and soccer. We're especially glad you found our staff, Kids Club and dining options to be excellent. Thank you again for posting a review, and we hope you return soon for another relaxing vacation!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Super pleasant staff, great food and excellent beach. Stayed in a suite and walked out the bedroom door to the delightful beach. Room was well decorated and in perfect shape. Computer in room but so what. It is escape time.

Room Tip: Go for the suites. Other rooms may be fine, but this is a bargain for near private beach time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear sactoslim,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so happy you had a fantastic vacation and that our staff, dining options, facilities and beach exceeded your expectations. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Thank you Club Med for providing the perfect atmosphere. Our family reunion consisted of 20 somethings to 90 years old. I think we participated in every event. The GOs were so kind and enthusiastic, and we particularly enjoyed getting to know Christian, the chief of the village. He was
so gracious to us, and easily got us into the Club Med family fun feeling! We are already planning out next Club Med experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear terrykleid,
Thanks for the review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear you had a phenomenal family reunion and that you enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer. We're also so happy that our staff surpassed your every expectation. We can't wait for your next vacation!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.