We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Didn't Want To Leave, So We Stayed Longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Save Saved
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We Didn't Want To Leave, So We Stayed Longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Last year I went to Club Med Ixtapa with my wife and then 2-year old daughter. We had such a memorable experience that this year we returned with two other families as well as our own parents. Age range in our total group was 1 to 69 years of age and everyone had a fantastic, unforgettable time.

How good was it? Well my wife and I had originally booked the trip for 10 days. On our last night, a few days after our the rest of our crew left, we still didn't want to leave and actually extended our trip for three more days. Never done that before. I suppose the review could end here. What else do I need to say?

We went immediately after Thanksgiving so the resort was only about 30% full, which is just how we like it. This made for a very laid back vibe and once again the GOs were a great. We were so happy to see a few familiar faces who genuinely remembered us from last year.

The GOs in the "Petit Club" who looked after our 3 year old were stellar and deserve special mention: Vania, Olga, Selene took great care of our daughter and she had a blast with them.

Once again, they also did a great job of organizing the late-afternoon family activities and of organizing all the kids shows at night. Was so fun to see our kid perform in a couple of the shows. Our daughter also loved falling asleep at the Pajama Club, which was great for us. Her night ended at around 8:30, we could drop her off there, and still have a night out.

My wife and I also really had a great time hanging out late-night with Daniela and Diego (a fellow baseball nerd). And special thanks to Polo for helping organize some birthday celebrations in our group. Oh and Isaac, who is not only a GO, but a licensed nurse (!!!). Great to get to know him.

Activities were stellar: Javier and Jonathan are top-notch tennis pros who do great work with anyone at any level. Javier really helped my whip some of my strokes into shape. Many thanks.

My wife also gives rave reviews to Stefany, the fitness instructor who lead a Zumba class that seemed to achieve legendary status around the resort. Tennis was really my focus this time out and after playing two hours every morning and then some water polo or water basketball before lunch, I was content to just lounge at the beach or pool for the rest of the day.

The food was once again in the category of so-much-better-than-it-needs-to-be. Obviously, the Mexican food and the fish/seafood are consistently the most successful offerings. My wife and I did eat at the Luna Azul sit-down restaurant one night, which we didn't do last year. Although I didn't find the food all that different than the main restaurant, it is certainly worth doing for the mellow, beyond-romantic vibe.

I could go on and on with the details, but the bottom line is this: Do not over-think it, just go, and embrace the whole thing. Club Med Ixtapa's greatest strength is providing a stress-free environment so guests can spend relaxed quality time with loved ones (and you'll definitely meet some new, interesting people along the way too).

Go with and enjoy the people who mean the most to you. Do the dances, play some sports, go for long swims in the ocean, eat well, drink some tequila, turn off your brain and have some real fun. This is a TRUE vacation.

Thanks again to Remy, Christian and to all of the GOs. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Jerodg,
Thanks for the review! We love when our guests have a fabulous experience and we're thrilled to hear you extended your vacation! We're also so glad our staff, activities and dining options exceeded your every expectation. Thank you again for sharing, and we can't wait for you to return!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,256
    280
    74
    42
    23
See reviews for
1186
169
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have done 10-15 all inclusives in Mexico, but this is our first ClubMed and it was absolutely fantastic and better than any other we have done before! We stayed for 10 days with our 3 year old and a 7 year old and all of us loved it!
Kids clubs - We came with no intention to leave the kids in the kids clubs, but the GO-s where so fantastic, that once our kids discovered it, they insisted on going back every day. They learned a lot of skills and we enjoyed the time to work out! My son and his friends agreed that Augustin was the absolutely best teacher. He was playing with the kids, but also very responsible, thank you Augustin for the outstanding work!
Work out – Both my husband and I are big on working out, and usually find vacation work out classes to not quite meet the bar. Here, however, it was fantastic! Stefany is a world class fitness instructor, the absolutely best zumba and strength teacher ever! And the classes are held in an amazing outdoor setting!
Food – Way above normal all-inclusives, lobster, foie gras and yummy mousses for desert!
Room – Probably the least favorable aspect of this resort. While clean, roomy and comfortable, none seemed to have smashing ocean views and very few had balconies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear katiiceva,
Thanks for the review! It thrills us to hear you had such an exceptional vacation and that you believe our resort to be better than any other inclusive resort you've visited! We're also so glad you found our activities, Kids Club and dining options to be awesome. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you return soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent a week at Club Med and had a fabulous time. The chief de village was Christian and he and his staff were amazing. From food to activities to games and shows, all was great.

We were a group of 11 family members ranging in ages from 93 to 22 and flew in from different places in the US. We stayed the week of Thanksgiving. Our interests and abilities were quite varied. But everyone found something fun to do.

One of the best facets of Club Med is the food and with a group of 11 everyone found plenty of choices as to what to eat and it was all delicious. Of note was the Thanksgiving dinner. We ordered a whole turkey for our table (we heard that they cooked over 90 turkeys) and I worried about getting a dried out bird. Much to my pleasant surprise, our turkey was one of the juiciest I have ever had. The whole meal was really great.

If you are looking for a high energy vacation, big group or small, you could not do better than spending a week with Christian and his crew.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear DenverBob55,
Thanks for the kind words! We love when our guests have an amazing experience and we're thrilled to hear our activities, entertainment, dining options and staff surpassed your expectations. We're especially glad to hear you had a fantastic Thanksgiving holiday! Thank you again for posting a review, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went back to Club Med Ixtapa!! This was our 8th trip there. Found the GO's Great, Remy was a great Chief of Village, Circus was fun for our kids and me. Kids were in the flying Trapeze night show. Joe and Joe were great as well as Rolando and Garrth chief of circus. Polo was a big help while there. Goof food, perfect weather. We'll be back :o)

Room Tip: liked the rooms near the Circus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Ronald M,
Thanks for the kind words! We love when our guests have a phenomenal vacation, and we're so happy to know this was your 8th time visiting us! We're especially glad our staff, dining options and entertainment surpassed your expectations. Thank you again for sharing about your stay, and we can't wait for your 9th visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Last year I know I raved about this place and the core of the review still stands. Our six year-old still loved Mini Club and now with child #2 along we loved all the options for the baby: Baby Club had milk, bottle steralizer, place to wash bottles, plus if you wanted to leave the baby there they had babysitting and even an baby-depth pool with adequate shade. And you have to love having a decent stroller and pack-and-play waiting for you upon arrival. We removed one star since the restaurants were all closed (and apparently were not open even during peak time) which reduced dining options to just the main building- that gets old.

This year we also confirmed what others realized: go off-peak. We went after Thanksgiving and that let us avoid the crush of people we experienced at the end of our trip last year. While it's great to have enough people to keep things interesting, at full capacity it was just plain crowded (put a towel out poolside by 7AM or risk no shade in the hot sun of Ixtapa). The trade-off this year was that it was so quiet that none of the restaurants were open regularly. In fact one was only open one day during our trip and the other not at all. This is a bit of a strike against the resort since always eating at the main building does get old (as cruise lines discovered long ago).

Mini Club and the people who work with your children are worth calling out for special attention. These people really do care about the children and enjoy working with them and that comes out in a great experience. Agustin Aguilar Ortiz, Jaime, Pamela and the others really made our son feel at home and were also great at comforting kids who had a bit of separation anxiety at drop off. The activities were great: trapeze as one highlight but even just pool time (special pool for miniclub) and Petit Chef were big hits. Next year he will be old enough to do sailing and archery and, if we remember his sneakers, rock climbing. They still have the two kids participation shows which he loved- yes, they should change the songs every couple years for the parents but the kids did not care. The other mini club shows (no kids performing) were also well reviewed by the kids even if they were a bit too silly for the parent who decided to stay and watch. Sign the kids in and go get something to eat/drink!!

The rooms we had (deluxe family room) were great. We really recommend getting a ground floor with deck so you can 1) dry your wet clothes (it will take days to dry indoors); 2) escape during naptime since the kids beds are by the front door. The rooms are all well maintained and though we never knew when it would happen it was nice that they did turndown serivce - even for the baby's pack-and-play -- including a chocolate square on the pillows. The only other strike were thermostats which didn't seem to do anything unless you played with the fan speed. So rooms tended to be on the cold side- or too warm.

The in-laws stayed in the suites. Even better rooms but not for families. This building is great for those who are okay with a kid-friendly resort but want an escape. They have their own stretch of beach, a quiet pool, concierge, pcs with internet in the room and just much nicer rooms overall.

The food is fine. You have a great mix of items so you will find something you like. The quality of drinks seems to vary based on the bartender- but that is expected. The wine remains a weak spot overall with still exorbitant prices if you want to buy a bottle (think $5 wine for $55) otherwise the red and white they offer are just so so. What was interesting is that there are more options than the waiters tell you about. I discovered they had a sparkling wine and a 2nd red option that nobody ever mentions. Neither were stellar but were good options after the original white/red options got old.

So overall another great trip. The people really remain the strong point of Club Med. They are friendly but still professional. The Mini Club people never fail to impress. If we can go back we will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear SFWorld,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so glad you had a wonderful vacation and that you found our activities, staff and facilities to be terrific. Thank you for your insights as we are always looking for ways to improve and greatly appreciate any feedback our guests may offer. We're thrilled you enjoyed another Club med vacation, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our 4th Club Med vacation, 1st in Ixtapa. So our review will reflect both our expectations (high) and our experience (good).

First off, we spent 2 weeks on grounds which is longer than anyone else we met while there. Most people either come for an extended weekend or a full week. During our first week (Thanksgiving), the chief of the village, Remy, was on his own vacation. We could tell. The whole club had a very lackadaisical feel. G.O.'s were scarce when not at their posts, the food wasn't up to par, and enthusiasm was in short supply. The second week was noticeably more in tune with our past experiences (although still not as sharp as Cancun or Punta Cana).

The grounds are beautiful, if a little run down. The beach is dark sand, almost muddy, but the views are incredible. We dabbled with the various sports offerings but spent most of our time at the trapeze. The guys there were fantastic. Gareth was a hoot, but he left a few days after we did, Brazilian Joe is a ham, gives the kids a lot of quality attention, and is always showing off for guests ;) Mexican Joe is a sweetheart, very earnest and professional, and Rolando is a little shy but no less attentive. All-in-all the best circus team we've come across.

Be sure to check out the sailing shack. The winds and bay are very favorable for beginners, and the guys are very easy to talk to. Diego is incredibly knowledgeable and friendly, and Marcel can't stop smiling.

Excursions from the Discovery Center are a bit pricey (sorry Polo and Sandy), a snorkeling trip to the island (5 minutes by boat) was $40 each for about 2 hours including prep and travel. That said, there was a lot to see, and we did have a guide to point out the things we would have missed on our own.

The rooms are spacious and relatively clean. They share a bathroom which was our only complaint, but we never felt squeezed for space. Ours had an ocean view but no balcony so it was something of a wash.

The food was the biggest disappointment, and I mean that only in the context of our previous Club Med experiences. For one, they have a Mexican station for almost every meal. This was a surprise, given that Cancun had many more French options and almost no Mexican food. There are always several main courses in the buffet so it wasn't a problem so much as a limitation (yes, yes, I realize it's Mexico, what else would you expect). We were also stuck in the buffet for all but one dinner (make reservations for Miramar as soon as you can) due to renovations and low occupancy.

Lastly, on the day of our departure, they shipped us off at 11:30 for a 2:20 flight (30 min drive to the airport). This might make sense in Atlanta or Chicago, but the airport has 4 terminals, and you have to walk out onto the runway to get to your plane. We spent over 2 hours sitting there and were jealous of the masses who came 10 minutes before the flight and were no worse off for it.

In summation, if you like to travel with your kids, want to try new things (our kids are trapeze addicts), don't mind the campy shows, and want a tan, you can't go wrong. Club Med is unlike any other resort concept we've come across. On the flight home our kids were already planning our next trip, one wants Club Med in Malaysia, the other wants Club Med in Bali. We're hooked.

Room Tip: We stayed in Iguana and found it ideally situated. It's close to the trapeze, the soccer field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear SSNOPL,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're so glad you had a terrific vacation and that you found our facilities and activities to be splendid. Please know we are currently addressing the concerns you mentioned and greatly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. We're thrilled you had an awesome vacation, and we can't wait for you to visit again!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Staying with four child aged 2 to 7 year old, thanks to mini-club staff! Augustin, Veronique, Viktor and all other, you were fantastic.
Wagner and your cooking crew, thanks for the fabulous meal you served! Thanks to Daniel at the bar for the late mojitos!
All the staff at Club Med were very helpful, thanks to Polo for the surf trip!
We have traveled many places and Club Med Ixtapa have it all! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear freezinbeachlover,
Thanks for the review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed your vacation and that our staff, Mini Club, dining options and activities exceeded your expectations. It is our goal to make sure each guest has a fabulous experience, and we're so glad you had the perfect vacation! Thank you again for sharing, and we look forward to your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Club Med and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.