We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ixtapa Vacation for the Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Save Saved
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Ixtapa
Morrisville, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Ixtapa Vacation for the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently went to Ixtapa Pacific (returned on Nov 17, 2012) with my family - myself, wife, 6 year old girl , and 20 month old boy. The resort was excellent - we had a phenomenal time - with a few highlights and detriments (which I'll mention below.)

Overall, the rooms are spacious (we had a family room, with a separate room for the kids, and a crib for the kid. The crib is a pack-and-play, but with a washable cover on it, so it's really quite clean. The kids room had a TV and 2 single beds as well. The room was clean and comfy, with separate AC controls for both rooms, and a nice little baby tub for bathing the baby. They also provided us with a stroller for our stay. The room had a mini-fridge.

The Baby Club room had all the kinds of kid stuff you would expect, including 4 types of UHT milk as well as baby formula. We ended up taking milk cartons to our room fridge since we didn't wan to always have to walk back and forth.

The highlight of the resort is really the kids club - which allowed us adults to have a good time as well. The kids club staff were *great* - they really forged bonds with the kids, and cared for them like their own. Our baby had never been in any kind of day care situation before, but he adjusted well. They adapted things like sleeping and eating to *his* schedule, rather than theirs (they do have a set schedule for activities, lunch, nap, etc.) - they were very accommodating, and we could check on the kids throughout the day and check them in/out of the kids clubs to do stuff with us. Our daughter did the trapeze, learned a bit of tennis, and *loved* going sailing almost every day.

Our daughter had a cough on the plane, which worsened once we arrived - we ended up taking her to the doctor at the resort ($50 USD ) who was very thorough and prescribed her an antibiotic. The Club Med staff called the meds into the pharmacy, and they were delivered to the front desk within the hour. The great part was that the folks at the front desk and the nurse remembered us - and Ricardo U (front desk) even came by later to enquire as to our daughters health!

A few other highlights:

- When we ran out of milk in our room, and the baby room was out of it also, Kari (of the Mini Club) actually went out, found milk for us, and delivered it directly to our room (wow!)
- The Mini and Baby Club staff - Kari, Victor, Dora, Vania, and Agustin - just to name a few, forged great relationships with our kids, and had our daughter telling us she wanted to move to Ixtapa and go to Club Med every weekend.
- We ended up going into Zihuatanejo two times during our stay - once to "Bodega" because we forgot some stuff, and once to just shop. Both times, we took the advice of the GO's and took the bus into town (10 pesos each way!), and they gave us great directions (it's one bus - almost impossible to get lost!)
- Melisa (restaurant manager) gave us great directions as to what to do in Zihuatanejo, and even gave us her cell phone number and told us to call any time if we had questions or needed help/advice.

There were only two shortcomings - which were as likely to be sales related issues as resort related ones:

1. The Miramar restaurant was under renovation when we arrived. We weren't notified of this in advance, and the end result was that we were stuck in one restaurant for the whole week. While not exactly boring, there are some repetitive dishes/deserts - and going to the same place 3x a day got a bit boring.
2. The La Luna restaurant was only open for dinner once, and the reservations filled up in under an hour - they should have had it open more than just a single night at least...
3. The kids club restaurant wasn't open at all - we were told it was because there weren't enough kids, but they shouldn't advertise it if they don't plan on having it open.
4. We were sold on booking travel through Club Med because we were told they provide transportation to and from the airport *and* provide child safety seats for the kids. They did provide the transportation, but there were no child safety seats. In fact, I *verified* 3 times, on three separate occasions (including the morning of our departure) that they would provide these seats on the way *back* to the airport, and they did not.
5. The Chef de Village was Christian (normally it's apparently Remy), a couple of GO's told us that Remy runs a "tighter" ship, and things slack a bit when he's not in the village. During our entire visit we only saw Christian a handful of times (mostly at night), and never once spoke with or met him. I'd have kind of expected to see him around a bit more...that's not necessarily a bad thing, but might explain the lack of coordination with the carseats..

I dinged the service and the food one star each because of the car seat issue and the lack of other restaurants being open. It's my understanding that the restaurant renovation (that caused Miramar to be closed) is a "one time" thing, that most other guests won't experience, but we should have been informed of this in advance of our visit.

Tips if you are going:

- Bring a tube of sunscreen for each of your kids (especially if they aren't together in the same group, so it's harder to share.)
- Bring shoes - like sneakers. For things like tennis and soccer, flip flops aren't sufficient. Hats are important also.
- Mosquito repellent is 10 bucks at the resort, and you might like to bring it.
- If you forget small stuff, it's a 30 minute bus ride each way to Bodega in Zihuatenejo (shorter if you head to the small market in Ixtapa.) Bodega is Walmart in Mexico. It's 10 pesos each way (less than 1 USD), and if it's stuff like diapers it's worth the trip.
- They have laundry at the resort (we paid US $40 to wash 40 articles of clothing.), they wash, dry, iron, and fold for you.
- Bring ibuprofen, it's not cheap at the resort, and if you're like me and do stuff like trapeze, you might need it. You can get it at the Pharmacy in Ixtapa (ask for Generico) if you want it cheaper.
- There is a boat service ($8 USD round trip) to Ixtapa island, which has hour-long massages for 250 pesos, as well as snorkeling. Consider that as opposed to the hotel massage (~1000 pesos)
- You can go horseback riding in/around a lake for about 100 pesos, but you have to know how to get there - ask at the front desk..or one of the GO's about it.
- If you go into Zihuatanejo centro (get off at the "Electra" store - it's got a large vertical sign that's hard to miss.) there is lots of good artisan shopping nearby - more so than the Ixtapa market, and seemingly more varied (not to mention cheaper.) Good for souvenirs/gifts.
- The doctor is good, and cheaper than visiting one in the US - if you sense illness coming on in your kids, go sooner rather than later (We went on the second night of our stay, and our daughter improved greatly that night.)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best if you have kids. The Iguana building apparently has more mosquitos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ASUChander,
Thank you for posting a review about our resort. We're happy to hear you had a fabulous vacation and that our staff, facilities and Kids Club exceeded your every expectation. We're also thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer such as our trapeze, tennis and sailing. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and greatly appreciate any insights our guests may have. We're so glad you had an amazing stay, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,182
    264
    64
    39
    24
See reviews for
1108
158
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our family stayed here with two kids and both sets of grandparents. This was low-season, so we had the run of the place. No trouble with chairs at the pool and no lines at the buffet or the bars. On a few occasions it was actually too quiet and some of the scheduled activities, like a volleyball game, didn’t take place due to lack of numbers. This could be an issue for those who need to do every activity on the books, but it was infrequent and not an issue for us.

The rooms were spacious, the food was exceptional and so was the staff. You can trust the frequent, glowing reviews of this resort. While the property is showing some of its age, the grounds are lush and well taken care of, and everything is neat and tidy. What separates this place from the rest is the staff. Absolutely first rate! Activities are plentiful, but there is no obligation to do anything more than sit by the pool or on the beach if that is what you want.

We hadn’t planned on putting our kids in the Mini Club that is included, but after trying it out, they begged to go back and move from one activity to another under the great care of G.O.s Mandy, Elizabeth, Veronik, Andre, Agustin, Karen, Tonio and others. The kids did archery, sailing, trapeze, soccer, arts and crafts, swimming, treasure hunts, cooking with the chef. One of their best days was our only day of rain during the week.

The sports staff, including Jesus at tennis and Dan at Aqua Gym were great! Josephine at Zumba got high marks from my wife and the grandmothers with us. The whole trapeze crew was great with the kids and put on the best show of the week. Carlos and the restaurant staff were spot on with their service. Hugo was our go to guy at the pool bar and kept the unlimited beverage flowing with a smile all day long. And the food – this was the unexpected surprise of the trip. I’ve been to all-inclusive resorts where the draw of unlimited food sounds great, but it never meets your expectations. The food here exceeded everyone’s expectations. The chefs provided perfectly prepared and varied dishes with great attention to detail and wonderful presentation. We are food snobs and were not disappointed in any meal.

As the resort management does monitor these posts, just two suggestions. First, the resort is on a slightly later schedule than we are accustomed. Breakfast is not available until 7:30am and there is no place open before that to get coffee or something to eat. This was rarely an issue, but with small kids, you are bound to be up earlier than you’d like on vacation and having even a small café type place open before the main restaurant would be a real nice offering. Second, don’t nickel and dime your guests on Internet service. If the Hampton Inn has free Internet, so should you. At a minimum, offer free wireless service in the public areas and just charge for wired room Internet. While the Internet service was decent, it had its glitches and that is annoying when you are paying for it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Iguana complex of buildings. Would advise ground floor room as the stairs are narrow an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear tmmnova,
Thanks for the kind words! It sounds like you had a spectacular time enjoying all the activities our resort has to offer like the trapeze, tennis and zumba. We're also pleased to hear you found our staff, dining options and facilities to be exceptional. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Title says it all. Kids went nuts for the ice-cream bar, soda fountain, archery, trapeze, tennis. My son had no less than 6 pina colada (virgin) smoothies per day. Now my family is used to Pavillon de la reine (if you don't know it, look it up, we recommend it highly)....but this was a different type of vacation.

Honestly, one we never thought we'd take. But the end of summer was rolling around and my mom wanted to take a family vacation, the kids were out of camp and school was 2 weeks away....next thing you know, we're landing in Zihuatanejo.

BTW the end of August is the perfect time to go there. It was only 30% full, so we had full run of the place and no lines for anything. Food was plentiful, and alcohol was free. So, um, yeah you might start drinking early.

There are two negatives: 1. Mosquitos - they are vicious and unforgiving; one spot left uncovered and you're bit for sure. Bring lots of bug spray. Not one can, but one can per person. They sell it at the store, but it's more expensive and sometimes they're out of the spray. 2. The rooms are not what you're paying for. Remember that. It's fun, it's an experience, and you're hardly ever in your room. If you're travelling with more than 1 child, I suggest two adjoining rooms instead of the family suite. 5 people, one cramped bathroom...no bueno. You need two bathrooms.

The G.O's were awesome: Kellee (my archery daughter's favorite), Christian (temporary head of village) and Josh (the secret agent/professional water skiier/lawyer/bon vivant). So friendly and inviting. They made the whole trip better. Don't be afraid when they sit and eat with you; that's just part of the charm.

We're looking forward to our next Club Med family vacation, just trying to find the time and place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear amtann,
Thank you for posting a review about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific. It makes us so happy to hear you had a fabulous stay and that your kids didn't want to leave! We're also so glad you found our staff, activities and amenities to be excellent. Thank you for your insights as we are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate any feedback our guests may have. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

WOW what a perfect Family Vacation Spot, it was our first Club Med experience and it was simply amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and FUN. Dan water aerobics will never be the same for me again and Stephanie you sure do know how to Zumba, loved your classes. The trapeze show was amazing and so was the circus. Our granddaughter loved the trapeze team and is bragging that she can hang by her toes. We loved the excursion that we took for snorkeling, so many beautiful fish and the lobster meal afterwards was delicious. All the food at the resort was fantastic and so were the beverages. Thank you to all for making our vacation one that we will never forget.

Room Tip: In our group there were three different rooms. If you have children the suites for families are ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Elaine T,
Thanks for the review! We're ecstatic you had such a perfect vacation, and that it was your first time staying at our resort! We're especially glad our staff, activities, entertainment and dining options exceeded all your expectations. It also sounds like you had a fabulous time enjoying the circus, trapeze and snorkeling! We love that you had an unforgettable experience, and we hope you return soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from a great week in Club Med Ixtapa......was a great holiday for me as so much for the kids to do!
The staff, entertainment & activities were great, Stephanie the butts and abs fitness classes were the best. still feeling the burn now lol!
There was a great varitity of food & drinks available all day and the service was excellent.
I definate must for all.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear NicolaW2,
Thanks for the kind words! We're pleased you had such a great vacation and that our staff, activities, dining options and entertainment surpassed your every expectation. It's our priority to make sure each guest has a memorable experience and we're so glad you and your family had a lovely holiday! Thank you again for sharing, and we hope you visit again in the future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first Club Med vacation, and it will not be our last. We booked at the same time as 3 other couples, and as a group we had 14 children! All of the kids (age 4-12) and adults had a great time. The policy of allowing 8+ able swimmers to sign in and out of kid activities on their own made things much easier for parents. The pools were not overcrowded, and we never had trouble finding chairs. The littlest children spent hours in the warm and clean shallow pool. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the food was remarkably good, of better quality and selection than other resorts we have been to.

The G.O.s made us feel welcome from our arrival, with cool drinks and a brief orientation on our arrival. Veronique and André at the Kid's Club made sure our children had fun while they were there. The children especially enjoyed the afternoon family activities.

As parents, we enjoyed the chance to play as well. It was very easy to be active, with Zumba, or Yoga, or step classes offered daily, done in a sheltered but open studio with view of the sea. we had lots of great family soccer and basketball games, the facilities never seemed crowded. We tried hard not to miss Dan's aquafit classes, where kids were welcomed along with adults, and there was always an entertaining start.

The only bad thing was the theft of my son's backpack, which unfortunately had his swimsuit and swimshirt inside. I felt like we could have been offered a replacement bag at least (which was needed for our plane trip home), instead of being sent to the gift shop to buy one. Although everyone we asked was sympathetic, it seemed like there wasn't an organized policy of recording lost items, and contacting different areas to see if things might be there. As a result, we spent a morning walking to all the different activity sites checking, often to be told that things had been sent somewhere else, only to be disappointed when we got there and found that the backpack was not there.

Other than that, it was a great vacation, and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Stephanie71Canada,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our resort. We love when our guests have an amazing stay and we're so glad you enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer such as zumba, yoga, soccer and basketball. It also makes us happy to hear you found our facilities, dining options and staff to be fantastic. Thank you for your feedback, and please know we are currently addressing the concerns you mentioned. If you haven't yet done so, please send us an e-mail to us.guestrelations@clubmed.com to report your son's backpack. We're so glad you enjoyed your vacation, and we hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am probably just out of date, but I found the Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to be much, much more than I expected from a Club Med. Very good food, strong service, nice facilities...all in all, an excellent site for our conference...supporting singles, couples, families...providing good meeting facilities in the midst of a vacation resort.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Kevin C,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Ixtapa resort. We're thrilled you had a wonderful vacation and that you found our facilities, service and dining options to be fantastic. It also makes us especially happy to hear you believe our resort to be a great place for conferences! Thank you again for sharing, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel
Club Med Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med
Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.