We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A (nearly) Perfect Place for a Family Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Club Med Ixtapa Pacific to your Saves list
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A (nearly) Perfect Place for a Family Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

One of the best signs for this resort is the number of repeat guests you will find when you are there. And assuming you have children you will likely understand why that would be. But let's start with the things that were less than ideal:

-the ac in the rooms was not great. We usually fell asleep feeling good and awakened in the middle of the night too hot as the AC either stopped or turned itself down.
-the beds were hard- this didn't bother most people but if you like a softer mattress it was not a great experience
-bring the bug spray- my wife was eaten alive and we were all itching quite a bit. You know something is up when the restaurants have "off" at their entrances. This was mainly an evening problem but it gets old to be itchy all the time when you don't have the spray

Overall, however, ClubMed does a great job on the all-inclusive idea. Gone are the famous beads. Now, almost everything you are likely to do, eat or drink is included. The only quirky thing is that they regulate how may towels you can get at the pools (or they try to). And the good news is almost everything you do, eat or drink is of really good quality. When you do need to pay extra it is for things like upgraded wine (with a very, very limited wine list if you do decide to splurge), spa services and they remain among places thst still charge for wireless internet (but you're on vacation, let it go!).

The ClubMed people really stood out. Those that work with the kids were great without exception but everyone there seems to be friendly and as helpful as you need them to be. Even the guy watering the lawns is likely to say good morning to you and probably would help you if he could. There is definitely the belief that the staff are a key part of making you feel a part of something and not just there to fetch things for you. That's why you'll often see the staff sitting with guests at lunch (if you are okay with that) and why they turn out to wave you off when you depart.

Kids activities are great. Our son (4 years old) love what they call Mini Club (day camp). The people who work there are great and ensured he had a full day of activities from trapese to beach time etc. But you can do as much or little as you like- come for an hour and then later if you want. If you're not there the pools are kid-friendly, the evening shows are usually kid-friendly, and what kid doesn't like the beach?

Adults also have plenty to do and there is even a quiet pool if you need to escape the action at the 2 main pools (where it is never quiet until it closes). There are also excursions- but we were there to hang out so we didn't leave the property.

The rooms we had (and visited) were all very nice. Having a balcony or patio is a great addition for drying wet clothing. The rooms we had were very spacious. Ours was kind of like a railroad flat. Our son's sleeping area had two twin beds by the front door, then the bathroom (clean and updated), then our bed and then the balcony. The only downside was that, unless you were on the ground floor and could go out the patio door, once naptime began you could feel trapped in your room since you had to go past the kids' beds to get out.

The suites are even nicer and have a concierge and free internet in the room. They are also removed from the other buildings so they are quieter and have their own beach area that will never be as busy as the main beach. The rooms are larger with a nice-sized living room added to the already decent space. But the concierge is key- they will make reservations for you at the non-buffet restaurants and there is always food/drink available. Plus suites get extended check out (1PM instead of 11AM) which is nice if you have a late-afternoon flight.

What about the food? It's good- better than expected certainly. But we would recommend focusing on the sit-down restaurants over the buffets for dinner. The food was much more interesting and they have a kids menu if you want the boring stuff for the kids. The buffet restaurants are fine and always have some made-to-order stations but there is a sameness to the food that gets old if you are there a week or more. Plus at times dinner items returned for lunch. The other tip is avoid the meat (pork or beef). The seafood and chicken are fine but the beef was almost always disappointing. Drinks by the main pool were usually most disappointing while the restaurants were best - bartenders matter! Nobody could explain how we wound up getting different Diet Cokes- sometimes shockingly terrible based on who was serving. Just odd but not a big deal.

The big plus of this place is the location if you live on the West Coast it is easier to get to than the other clubs. The Ixtapa airport isn't great but since they don't have weather problems it is an easy place to visit.

Room Tip: If choosing a balcony or patio a patio (1st floor room) is great so you can exit from the patio and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear SFWorld,
Thank you for writing the lovely review on our property. We appreciate everything from the compliments to the insight and improvement suggestions. We are happy to read that you think Club Med has done a wonderful job with all-inclusives. We are sure the other guests appreciate your travel tips. We can see the GOs are what truly made your trip what it was. We hope you and your family will come back to see us again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    282
    74
    43
    25
See reviews for
1,202
171
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife and I and our two boys (ages 3 and 8) have just returned from Club Med Ixtapa. This was our second stay at this resort and it was another fantastic experience.

The resort is great – clean, safe, good location, and with good amenities. The weather during our stay was fantastic (~32 to 35 C during the day).

The Club Med staff are all great. Hats off to the GO’s and staff in the Mini Club and Kid’s Club. Our boys always looked forward to going to these clubs. They did some really fun activities (archery, sailing, climbing wall, circus), they met a lot of new friends, and received really good care from Club Med the staff.

While our boys were in their clubs, my wife and I spend the majority of our time reading / relaxing around the pool and at Miramar (one of the resorts bars / restaurants). A big thank you to Izzy, Felipe, Roberto, Sergio, and the rest for the good times and great service.

To Flavia - the Village Chief - thank you for being a great host. Throughout our stay we found you and your Club Med team to be friendly, attentive, and accommodating. You made this a great vacation for our family.

I would recommend this resort to anyone. It is especially well suited for families with young children.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Jimi H,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about our resort! It makes us so happy to learn your entire family found what they were looking for at Club Med, whether it be fun or relaxation. We are also happy to learn our staff could help make your vacation so enjoyable. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Best,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This vacation exceeded my high expectations for a very needed, relaxing break. After only two days of vacation, it felt like I had a week of R&R under my belt. I nearly had to pinch myself to realize I still had five days to enjoy this Club Med vacation.

Here are some highlights:
1) Daycare. We signed our 23-month son up for daycare at added expense, which was completely worth it. He received top-notch care and attention throughout our stay from all the staff at the Baby Club and Petit Club. The facilities are on par with his daycare stateside. The care of Dora, Ague, Angel, Ani, and Ceci made his stay fantastic and allowed my husband and I to have the peace of mind that he was well-cared for while we recharged. These wonderful people made sure our son had sunscreen, water, ate well, napped, played, and had a fun time. A typical daycare day was as follows:
Indoor/outdoor play – 9-10
Play in little pool at Petit Club – 10-10:45
Walk about in the buggy – 11:00-11:30
Lunch – 11:30-12:30
Nap – 1:00-3:00
Indoor/outdoor play – 3-4
Family fun (i.e. piñata party, tie dye shirts, etc) 4:30
Day care over – 5:30

2) Pajama Club. Two evening child care options are available: in room babysitting (approx. $14/hour) or pajama club (approx. $14/night). We had our son in Pajama club one night from 8PM to 10PM so we could watch a show. There were only two kiddos in PJ club, so they got great attention from Ani and Patchy. The staff got our son to bed easily and at a reasonable time. The Pajama Club uses the same day care facility as during the day.

3) Sports. While our son was in daycare, we were able to recharge with lots of fun activity. Daily yoga with Lauren and Ana was a great way to start the day. Other group lessons included Zumba and water aerobics, which were both fun. Kellee and Deco at the sailing area were fantastic in putting the fun in sailing. Kellee deserves special recognition for helping me learn to sail. Benji helped me learn to use a bow and arrow at the archery range. I went from not hitting the board to having three bulls in a row. Woot! And the circus staff was lots of fun – Thiago, Chucho, Megan and Marcello – thank you!

4) Food. It was a good thing I’m as active as I am, because the food was outstanding. Jabbo runs some great dining rooms. We were at Club Med over Halloween and el Dia de Los Muertos. The decorations were great for both events. The cuisine every day was outstanding. There are many choices at every meal and a lovely spread of desserts.

5) Accommodations. We had a two-room set-up with bathroom. One room had two twin beds and a trundle. Our room had a king size bed. A bathroom with two sinks linked to both rooms. There is a drying line in the shower stall for hanging up clothes. The cleaning staff was great and our room was always lovely.

6) Shows. The shows were hit and miss, to be honest. The acrobatic shows were very good and showcased the talent of Club Med staff. The show on Nov. 1, el Dia de Los Muertos, brought in a dance troupe from town that was excellent. The Music Factory show seemed very dated to me and very US-focused. It could likely benefit from some modernization and internationalization.

7) Turtles. Club Med participates in a program to help sea turtles thrive. Out of 100 turtle eggs, less than 5 grow to full-age turtles, so this program helps survival rates. Turtles lay eggs throughout late summer, and they hatch in the fall. Club Med takes efforts to protect these eggs from a variety of predators. Once they hatch, the turtles head back to the ocean. We were able to witness about 150 turtles make their voyage to the ocean.

8) Photo team. I did not want to worry about taking photos every day. As a heads up, you can go to the photo room and start an account under your room number, then place photos into the folder. You can then purchase a CD with all the photos from approx. $150 US (extended families may cost more). This also includes the ability to schedule and have a family photo session on the beach at sunset.

This was truly an outstanding vacation for the entire family. Thank you Club Med for making it so.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear N_PDX_Traveler,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We appreciate you highlighting all the amazing aspects of your stay with us. We loved reading about how great of a time you had with your family! We can see your children were well taken care of in Baby/Petit Club and we’re glad you could catch up on a little R&R. We’re happy you were able to witness the turtles making their way to the ocean! It is definitely a sight to see. We hope you will all come back to visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We (2 adults mid 20’s and 23 month old son) stayed here for one week in early October 2011 as part of our three week trip. This was our first Club Med experience and we came all the way from Queensland, Australia! Overall our stay was fantastic. We stayed during a very quiet time, which was good; however attendance in the planned activities was scarce. The resort was beautifully maintained and our room was great. On arrival, Meagan was very friendly and showed us to our room. Later we discovered she was in many of the shows and was a fantastic performer. We stayed in a family suite in the Sol building. This was the furthest building away, which was ok because after eating all of the yummy food we could walk some of it off. Our suite consisted of two separate bedrooms, great for our sleeping toddler. The housekeeping team did an excellent job keeping our room clean and tidy.

The activities never had a wait time due to the limited number of guests, and the GO’s were always willing to do the activities with us. Sailing was great with a fun introduction from Kelli. The rest of the water sports team were also friendly along with the GO's at the archery range.

The three of us went on the power walk to see the crocodiles one morning. This was fun and gave us a chance to leave the club safely. The GO who took us out was very friendly and good to talk with during our stay.

Our toddler used the baby club and the pyjama club. The baby club team was fantastic; they made our son feel welcome and made us feel confident to leave him there. A couple of times we seen them out and about around the club. He had a great time and sometimes did not want to leave in the afternoon. The baby club rooms were fantastic with loads of fun stuff to do. Carol was the best and always went above and beyond with our son. She even made time to see us off at the end of our stay. The pyjama club was excellent and it allowed us to go to dinner after feeding our little one. This meant he could go to bed at a time that suited him. The rest of the baby club team including Anilu, Dora, Ana and Aurora were also fantastic.

One downside to it being such a quiet time was that there was only one restaurant open at any time. We would have loved to be able to have a bit more choice. Although with the limited number of guest we were treated with two dinner and show nights. Dinner was set up in the theatre and served as a set menu one night and a buffet the other. All in all, the food was very delicious across our entire stay. Unfortunately we couldn’t dress to the colour code most nights as we didn’t bring a huge array of clothing. It would be great if Club Med notified the guests of this information before arriving. Although it was still fine to were anything.

Some quick notes:
The cheese quesadillas and fillings were so good and the cook making them did a great job. The area set aside for young kids food in the restaurant was well presented with a variety of food. The weather was fine most of the time but the heat and humidity was often intense. We recommend watching the nightly shows as they were entertaining, although some were better than others. We were also lucky enough to see the release of turtles during our stay.

If you are considering going to this Club Med, just go, you and your family will have a great time. Overall we had an excellent experience and felt safe around the club. We can’t wait to book our next Club Med vacation.

Adios.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear 09Jessie,
Thank you for writing this fantastic review! We are honored that you flew all the way from Australia to come visit us! We’re glad you jumped right into the fun with sailing, water sports, and archery! What an exciting stay. We’re happy your son felt comfortable in the Baby Club and that you both were able to enjoy some time one on one. We hope to have you all back again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was one of the best vacations we had with the kids. I have a 3 and a 5 year old they both loved the place. It is very nice and clean and the staff was very friendly. There is so much to do in the vilage that we never felt the need to go out. I really recommend this place to families with kids the only suggestion I have is to book the family room with balcony since there is no place to hang your wet clothes to hang if you do not have balcony.

Room Tip: Book a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear MariaA,
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We are pleased to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. We can imagine your children loved all of the activities available. We appreciate your kind words about the resort and the staff. Great tip about the balcony! We are sure that many of our guests will appreciate you sharing that insight. We hope you’ll come back for another visit sometime soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We just returned from a week at Club Med Ixtapa, and it is an A+ setting for a family trip - something for everyone to do at all times, whether you want to be active, relax on the beach or at the pool, (or eat at just about any time), with a phenomenal staff.

A few points of background and detail, in no particular order.

It is incredibly well run by the Chief, Flavia, who is quite remarkable - a very beautiful Brazilian with extensive Club Med experience and a big presence, fluent in many languages, she gets to know all the guests, makes sure everything is just right, and even leads the evening activities getting everyone dancing and having fun. One example of her constant involvement - we were disappointed at first that there were not many children the same ages as our boys the week we were there (off peak), and we mentioned it to the concierge on our first day. Within hours, Flavia, who we hadn't met yet but heard they liked tennis, had arranged private tennis lessons for them every day. She soon met them and had them up on stage leading some dances at night too!

Every GO we met was terrific, outgoing and personable, and interested in having us enjoy our time and their activity. Tip - leave room at your table at meals for some GO's to join you. They are supposed to sit with the guests (if you leave room for them), and they're a lot of fun to get to know! Javier, Jesus, Kellee, Rafa, Ana, Oscar to name a few, all made our stay very memorable and special.

We spent a couple hours a day at the tennis courts (very nice facility with 8 courts), with Javier and Jesus, the tennis GOs. In addition to being very good instructors (the kids improved quite a bit over the course of just a week), they also became good friends on and off the courts over the course of the week. High energy, enthusiastic, and a lot of fun!

We also sailed or kayaked nearly every day. None of us knew how to sail, but on our first visit over to the boat area, Kellee offered to give us a lesson and came out with us. After one lesson we got the hang well enough to go out by ourselves after that, and Kellee also became a good friend who we spent a lot of time with the rest of the week!

We tried doing a little of everything - basketball, beach volleyball, ping pong and even bocce with Oscar; beach time, pool time, lots of eating, archery, trapeze. Each activity was fun and staffed with great people.

Room - we stayed in the suites in Sol, which were very nice, clean, comfortable, well air-conditioned. A few minute walk to the center of activity from Sol, but it was nice having the concierge room and ocean front room.

Dining - amazing. The food choices were endless and opened nearly all the time. Don't plan to lose weight on the trip!

Evenings - the shows were very entertaining and well done, and it's fun seeing the GO's you got to know during the day demonstrate some of their many talents - standouts were the acrobatics at the circus show, and the comedy of the music and movie shows. That's followed by a party every night with group dancing (for all ages) and different themes each night. The kids and adults all enjoyed this.

Regarding some of the reviews I read here before going that caused some slight hesitation - some people seem to debate over how luxurious it is. Club Med is not trying to be a Four Seasons (and we've been to several of those too), but as long as that's not your expectation, it is quite luxurious and in a beautiful setting.

The all-inclusive approach (including food, drinks, and all the activities we participated in) makes things simple and care free.

Bottom line is its a really nice location, with great activities, and the club med approach overall is a very good one. But what made it great instead of very good was the staff - Flavia and the GOs! We hope to go back soon...

Room Tip: Sol has premium priced ocean front suites with a private beach and concierge services. I think it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear keica,
Thank you for taking the time to write this in-depth review on your stay with us! We appreciate everything you said about the GOs, fun activities, beautiful location, and much more. We’re glad that you and your entire family enjoyed their time at the resort. We hope you boys enjoyed their private tennis lessons and that you also enjoyed the sailing and kayaking. We will definitely pass along your kind words about the GOs. We hope to have you all back again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent one week at Club Med Ixtapa in early April of 2011 in an OceanView Family Suite. We had never been to a Club Med before but were looking for a place where our whole family (8 year old son and 5 year old daughter) could have a fun, active stay.

Getting there was pretty easy. We didn't arrange transportation at the Hotel, we just hired a taxi (we specifically requested a van) at the airport. It's about a 25 minute trip to Club Med.

Our room was a "family suite" which means you enter directly into the kids room which has two single beds, walk through a bathroom with two sinks, one toilet a shower and a bath and then get to the master bedroom with a balcony. The room was clean and well appointed, not in a high end luxury kind of way, but nice enough in that everything was in good shape and new. The bed was a little firm for my tastes, but the linens were nice. I don't really have any complaints about the room. It's not 5 star luxury, but it's a clean and functional with some nice touches.

The family suites have a few extra amenities including a fridges stocked with sodas and drinks, turn down service, and access to the concierge lounge. We liked the lounge and found the attendants helpful and fun. Is it worth the extra money? After seeing the rest of the Club I'd say it's a "nice to have" but not a must have. It definitely added to the vacation a bit, but not so much you couldn't live without it.

The kids clubs were well run by generally enthusiastic GOs. It seems like each child reacts to them differently. Some can't get enough of them and want to stay all day. Others don't care for them. Fortunately my 5 year old daughter loved the camp and was happy to stay all day and participated in all the nightly shows. My 8 year old son took a more "a la carte" approach to camp and would pick and choose what activities he wanted to attend. Part of this was that older children (7 and above I believe) have the option of "signing out/in" whenever they want. I think my son enjoyed the freedom and control of signing out and walking back to our room by himself so he took advantage of it.

The food was good but not great. The buffet has lots of options and a different theme each night. It's comparable to the buffet at a high-end hotel in Las Vegas. The kids loved it. Lots of variety along with all the staple kid foods as well as an ice cream bar and lots of deserts. None of us got ill from the food and we didn't meet anyone else who had. We were careful to use sanitizer as much as possible though.

My daughter really enjoyed participating in the shows. The GO shows are a bit campy, but hey, this is basically a higher end family camp.

As for other activities, the kids spent hours in the pool playing with other kids. My wife and I got to play some tennis and do some other activities.

I think the beach deserves a special mention because it is actually very nice and safe. It wasn't teeming with vendors, as some Mexican beaches can be, and the waves are just big enough to provide some thrill for kids without being so big that they pose real dangers. My son and I spent hours body surfing the waves and both children spent lots of time building sand castles.

The only excursion outside of the club we made was that my Son and I took a short trip to an Island across the bay to go snorkeling (arranged by the club). Other than that we basically stayed inside the resort.

If anyone is worried about security, the club itself is entirely secure and self-contained. The good/bad thing is you can spend the entire time inside the club and really not be aware of anything else going on in the outside world. As for Ixtapa, it was set up as a vacation resort by the Mexican government so they take overall security pretty seriously for the area in general. That and the fact that it sits well outside the "drug corridor" means that it is a relatively peaceful and safe place.

I should note that the club was about 1/2 full for our stay. I think if it was filled to capacity it probably would have made our stay marginally worse as there would have been more competition for prime beach/pool spots and dinner would have been much more crowded. They did have lots of extra capacity in terms of seating, but I can see why some people have bad experiences when the club is full.

Overall, I'd say that the reviews for Club Med Ixtapa on Trip Advisor are basically about right. It's a great family vacation camp with a higher end, fun active feel, but not an indulgent, ultra-luxury feel. The GOs make a big difference as do all the activities. If you are looking an upscale tropical location to take the family where the kids will really enjoy themselves and you can also relax a bit, this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Billxma,
Thank you for writing this amazing review of your stay with us! We are happy to hear that your first experience at a Club Med resort was successful for the entire family. We’re glad your children enjoyed the Kids Club and the freedom it presented them. We can see you all also enjoyed the shows, delicious food, and gorgeous beaches. Thank you for writing about all the major aspects of the resort. We hope to have you all back again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40 880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific. A heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive family resort nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular beachfront sceneries. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Ixtapa Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.