We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for couples!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa to your Saves list
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
Itapira, SP
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great choice for couples!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room was big, comfortable, with a beautiful view to the Pacific Ocean, a hammock on the balcony and the hotel has its own private beach and it's really close to downtown!!
They also have some choices of restaurants at the hotel; not only one, so you don't really feel you're staying in...
The staff was really nice and polite and they invited the guests to see the baby turtles going to the sea for the first time at the private beach!!!
The only problem we had is that there was a storm and all the water from the balcony was coming in to the room and it was leaking from the ceiling too. Also for the price, I think breakfast should be included and the beauty salon (massage room) should look better and follow the hotel patterns but aside that, our stay was amazing!!!
I would go back for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate very much the comments made about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We have packages that include the breakfast buffet or all food and beverages (breakfast, lunch, dinner and domestic drinks). In reference to the beauty salon, we have passed along your suggestion and rest assured they will do their best to improve.

The heavy rainy days we had due to the storm located in the Pacific Ocean, provoked damages in almost all our country. However, Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo was the less damaged as you could verified.

Thank you for sharing with us your experience and look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    338
    118
    66
    33
See reviews for
224
464
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I'm loathe to write about the places I like for fear they get too popular but here goes. I don't need to mention the stunning views and sunsets, fantastic architecture, excellent and attentive service, large and comfortable rooms, secluded (relative to other hotels in the area) location, private beach, separate pools, lush and expansive grounds, huge fluffy towels,etc because other reviews cover those quite adequately.

I've stayed here at least 16 times in the last twenty years and I have NEVER been disappointed. Our stays usually are just before "High Season" and it seems that is the perfect time to visit. Not very crowded and perfect weather. Some of the things other reviewers are listing as negatives are just what I'm looking for in a place to get away. Yes the beach (and pool) is a hike from your room. Yes the halls and lobby are long. Yes it's a bit of a chore to get to town/restaurants/clubs/etc. Yes the pool area doesn't have a "party" atmosphere. That's EXACTLY why we like this hotel.

Every single person I've ever dealt with at this hotel has been friendly, courteous, knowledgeable, and prompt. Not all of them speak English but they are willing to put up with my bad Spanish to work through whatever issue we're working on. Desk staff, housekeeping, wait staff, bell service, lifeguards...every single person.

I have never witnessed any trash on the beach or pool area(s) nor in any of the common grounds like hall and walkways. I have never been served a drink in a plastic cup other than a soda at the beach or pool area (perfectly understandable in my mind).

We have eaten at least a hundred meals (twice that if you include my wife) and I can't ever remember being disappointed in the food. It has never been greasy, oily, fatty, or tough to chew. The prices are almost exactly what the other hotels in the area charge for food and drinks.
Our rooms have always been spotless and housekeeping is always quick to bring extra hangers, glasses, pillows, etc. Same goes for laundry pick-up which they do a wonderful job of.

Again...we usually stay just before "High Season" but we've stayed a few times in January and I can't remember the service being any different with the exception of there being a lot more guests. I can't say enough good things about this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing with us the way you have experienced Las Brisas Ixtapa through all these years.
We are very proud to continue being one of your favorite places to stay. We are grateful to have many repeated and loyal guests for whom we are focusing all our efforts to make their stays pleasant and unforgettable.
Once again, our gratitude for coming back to Las Brisas Ixtapa and hope to have the privilege of hosting you again and for many years to come.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our 8th consecutive Ixtapa vacation and every year we "think" we'll go elsewhere but return to Las Brisas. The private beach, elevator to the beach area,
four outstanding restaurants and five pools are something you won't find at the other Ixtapa hotels.

You also will not find the "time share sharks" perusing the beach, lobby or outside.

The Staff is very professional, courteous and attentive. Food is outstanding, especially the coconut ice cream and the barbecued chicken on the beach!! Also, the hotel arranged for a free nature tour with a biologist, AND, knew my wife has been wanting to help release the newborn leatherback turtles (tortugas) for the past eight years but we always missed it. The concierge called the rooms of some patrons and we for to participate in one of this year's releases. And the one or two "negative" reviews we've read on staff or food, where the heck did YOU stay?? Certainly not Las Brisas Ixtapa!! SIX stars to the MAX!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are grateful for the nice review about your April 2013 stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Definitely it is motivating for all of us that work at LBI to know when our guests are satisfied with the installations, food and particularly the attention provided by our staff, as they make the difference.

Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing with us your kind experience.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went to Las Brisas for 3 nights last year with my boyfriend and I must say I thought it was terrible. The only good thing about this hotel is that all the rooms are facing the ocean - and therefore, have spectacular views. The rooms themselves are of decent size. The bed is comfortable, but the overall cleaness of the floor and bathroom was poor.
As for the common areas, it is very dark, dirty, and just filled with people! Check in takes at least 45 minutes, same for check out. Feels like a very old hotel that has been painted over with new ''bright'' colors - just to cover up the dirt.
The food is simply terrible... Everything is covered in fat, butter, oil, and cheese - forget nice french pastries or multigrain bread here! You will get nachos and meat for breakfast... not my cup of tea.
Not sure how anyone would consider this place up scale when all your drinks are served in plastic cups around a very dirty pool. Oh - and what about those chairs around the beach! I think 1 chair out of 2 were broken, and of course dirty. There are plastic cups laying around everywhere, and it is almost impossible to get a chair in the shade. It takes for ever to get down to the beach - and there are almost no indications. Oh, did I say this place was dirty?
Stay away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the comments about your last year’s stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We are deeply sorry we did not meet with your expectations but sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence and goodwill.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Up scale but not too upscale. A smaller more intimate version of Acapulco or cancun. The off season means cheaper rates more privacy but still enough traffic to make clubs interesting. The views need no mention Rey are unquestionably outstanding My one advice is to fly. The drive from df is long no matter what route you take

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the review of your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to this beautiful paradise.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

On a cliff in the jungle of Ixtapa, the setting (vegetation and birds) is just amazing. The beach is beautiful and the views from all rooms and restaurants are perfect. The hotel is located about 1 mile from the hotel zone of Ixtapa. I did the walk or run several times during my stay to go to shops and restaurants taking about 20 to 25 min (it is hard coming back because of steep hills). The actual architecture of the hotel is amazing (when you see it from the beach). In terms of moving around the hotel, that is another story. It takes a long walk to get to the pool or beach. If you take the elevators, it is just a long straight walk. For my family, we decided to only take the stairs and we got in very good shape during the week. The hotel also offers transport from the lobby to the pool. The service is very good (restaurants, rooms, etc). The food is very good at breakfast but at lunch and dinner its just OK and after a few days it gets boring. The rooms are very nice, great view, hammock in the balconies, but the beds are not very good. We had the Brisas Plan (all-inclusive) and as long as you know the details of it (no drinks, not even water bottles, before noon and don't order "special" items from the menu) you are good. Finally, we had a really good experience with the lifeguard (Victor) at the beach, who recommended several things to do in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very pleased to know through your kind review, about the great experience you had during your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Rest assured that we will do our utmost to continue with our best efforts to exceed our guests’ expectations and create unique experiences to make their stay a comfortable and memorable one.

Thank you for choosing Las Brisas Ixtapa and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from our 8th annual visit to Las Brisas Ixtapa. As my title suggests, there will be a "next year". The hotel and the staff continue to offer the best when it comes to a relaxing, revitalizing vacation. I want to especially thank Rosario, Cirrillo, Polo and Paublito in the Lobby Bar, Victor and Arturo, the life guards at the beach, Maritza, the conciere, Jose , the Bell Capitan and Julian, the valet. I know that I am forgetting soemone but they all do a fantastic job in providing a high level of service.

Other reviews complain about the layout of the hotel. It is this layout that adds to the charm of the hotel. With the different areas (beach, pools, restaurants, walking paths) there is always something new to be experienced.

I also want to comment on the issue of safety. Our friends will ask, "why are you going to Mexico, aren't you concerned about your safety"? We have yet to feel unsafe at the hotel or in the surrounding communities.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is built on the side of a mountain, the higher the floor, the better the view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest:
We were very pleased to read the review of your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Thank you for your compliments to our staff. Rest assured we will share them with them and the persons you mentioned; this will motivate them to keep in doing an excellent job to exceed your expectations and create unique experiences.
Look forward to welcome you back in sunny Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#1 of 24 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#22 of 24 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#10 of 24 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa

Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.