We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private and beautiful beach, room--average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa to your Saves list
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$134 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Ixtapa
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“private and beautiful beach, room--average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beach--enclosed by the rocks, soft sand, Private clean and beautiful
room--ocean view but some room will block some view by trees
pool--a little small but kids like to climb up and down
foods--We only order some tacos and drinks. I must say...delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest:
This is to thank you for sharing with us your comments related to your stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed our services and facilities. Rest assured that we will continue working in the continuous improvement to make your next stay another unique experience.
Hope to see you soon at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    324
    115
    64
    30
See reviews for
206
458
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puebla
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I have to say I'm somewhat disappointed. The location is amazing. The hotel structure is beautiful. Service is excelent. BUT the food is just below average. The morning buffet during the week has nothing special, it improved during the weekend. Cold hot dogs for 10 USD each is a joke.
The rooms are very aged. Nothing special and very bla. I do not know who they pay to get a rating or if no one has actually looked at the resort in a long time. It needs major upkeep and maintenance. The pool are is beautiful. The water just dirty.
Sorry but no need to come back here or suggest it to friends. Sad for such a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing the comments about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

It is very important for us to receive the feedback from our clients as we are convinced it is the only way to achieve a continuous improvement in the hotel’s operations.

Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting with your expectations and rest assured that we will do our best to regain your confidence and goodwill.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It had been three years since we had been to Las Brisas and it was amazing to see so many staff members who remembered us from our previous trips. This time I brought my Gluten free bread and cereal. The wonderful staff in the Bellavista toasted my bread in the little bag I gave them, brought me my cereal and lactose free milk every morning without me having to ask. They also would bring me my plate of papaya, knowing that I had a severe allergy to pineapple. La Brisa II, where we went twice for dinner, was also really good. We stayed at this property under an all inclusive plan, which means that you don't have charge anything to your room or carry cash, other than for giving tips. Even though an all inclusive trip indicates gratuities are included, it only takes a little arithmetic to figure out that the tips these fine people would receive from these plans is minimal at the very least. Consider tipping at every meal, even just a bit; it makes a difference in their lives. I cannot complete this review without mentioning Arturo, the life guard. He let us know when the baby turtles had hatched and when they were to be released into the ocean. This was a beautiful sight to see. We spent an enjoyable and restful time walking through the well kept gardens at our favourite hotel. Gracias!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the nice review about your March 2013 stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We were very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the services rendered by our staff. Comments like yours motivate our staff to continue doing their best to make our guests’ stay a unique experience.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The positive aspects first:
The place is located in an absolutely gorgeous setting, amidst exuberant flora and an incredible variety of birds. The staff is extremely helpful, kind, warm and accommodating. However, the place is super uncomfortable to be at. They only have one elevator that is far from the rooms. They have no air conditioning in the hallways, the restaurants are extremely overpriced, the beach is terrible for swimming. We were never able to go in in the five days we were there.They have carpet in the main lounging area that looks as if it was put there in the 1960's and is just not right in an area of so much traffic from the beach. If you are a super athlete that don't mind going up and down the stairs several times a day and get hot and sweaty, and if you don't mind taking a shuttle every time you need to reach the pool, and if you only want to observe the place, than you can overlook all those faults; if, however, you want to go with your small kids, or even alone and REST...look elsewhere. This is not the place for you.

Room Tip: If you go, take a room close to the elevator so you can reach the beach easily. The only problem is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the review regarding your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We are deeply sorry for not having met with your expectations and sincerely look forward to regain your confidence and goodwill to host you when your travels bring you back to sunny Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here in the spring of 2013. The facility and rooms were great. All meals could be ordered off a menu which had great choices and top caliber food. There is no night life at this hotel so you will have to make the short trip to Ixtapa to find that. The almost private beach is great and never crowded when we were there. I highly recommend a day trip or two to Zihuatanejo it is a great little town. Zihuatanejo is a 10 min bus ride for about 90 cents US/CAN and Ixtapa is an easy 15 -20 min walk. Many that we traveled with are returning next year. It is truly a great relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have better views and are closer to the main shops and restaurants, Spa etc. the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the nice review of your March 2013 stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We were very pleased to know that you had a great time and enjoyed our services and facilities.

Hope that you and the persons you traveled with return to Ixtapa next year; it will be our pleasure to host you all at this beautiful property, Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

But watch yourself in the surf on their private beach. Wicked shore break can get you! The hotel itself is a great example of Mexican Modern Architecture. It has a timeless quality still after all these years. I have been several times and the rooms are comfortable, warm and colorful. As with all Las Brisas properties, the staff is very warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Every Room has a private balcony over looking the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest:
We sincerely thank you for your nice review.
It is very much rewarding to know you enjoyed your stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa. We will continue looking for the continuous improvement to exceed your expectations.
Hope to welcome you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I don't usually post reviews unless my expectations have been exceeded - for the good or for the bad. In this case, I am sorry to say it was for the bad. My family and I went on a quick weekend getaway as a mother's day gift for my wife. Having seen this property occasionally on some architecture books along with positive reviews I read on Trip Advisor, we decided to give Las Brisas Ixtapa a try.

First, the positive. The two things that are positive about the resort are the courteous and kind employees that work there and the private beech (albeit risky for kids or non-swimmers due to the strong undertow). My kids really enjoyed the beach and had a blast. My wife and I appreciated the service which in spite of the hotel's extensive short-comings, was always courteous and kind. The positive list ends here.

The bad. I'll start with the building itself. Besides being dated, the renowned architect (Ricardo Legorreta) obviously was interested in making a magnificent design that would make him famous and that would look good on architecture coffee table books and magazines. For patrons, the property is a bloody nightmare if you are looking at a place to relax, have mobility issues, or are handicapped (forget about ramps - they don't exist). To begin with there are stairs, and stairs, and stairs, and.... long dark hallways, and hallways, and hallways... and only one set of elevators in a structure that should have at least 3 or 4!

Second, the building is a wonder of the early 80's..... and it shows. Everything is old, tired and beaten up. From the front desk, to the furniture, to the elevators (I felt I was inside a Mexican government office), to the public areas, to the rooms. The rooms, for example, don't have a single place to plug anything except for the "one" outlet in the bathroom. Although the rooms were clean, they are in dire need of a renovation (and probably have been for the past 20 years). We found ourselves all fighting for recharge time/space for our i-devices so we could read our ebooks and "connect" with the outside world. The A/C in our room was probably updated.... twenty years ago and did not cool much. The ceiling fan I am pretty confident is a 30+ year old original. And then, to add to the ambiance, there is the CFL lights sprinkled all over the place (CFL = compact fluorescent lights). The harsh colors used everywhere against poor lighting - and especially CFL lighting - makes for a dreary ambiance that will drain the energy out of even the most cheerful person. In a word, the effect is absolutely "depressing".

Finally the - food. Just plain awful and expensive for what you get. We bought a package that included the breakfast buffet (which was a little bit better than lunch or dinner), but having traveled extensively throughout Mexico and other parts of the world, this was the most mediocre to poor Mexican food we have eaten in a long time - and at 30 - 40 USD x plate, it was a rip-off. I ordered Ceviche Acapluco style, and got a plate full of ketchup, a few pieces of indiscernible fish, some tomatoes and a piece of avocado. For dinner, the restaurant "El Mexicano" was closed, so we ended up having to eat at the "Buena Vista". My wife and I were in the mood for seafood and were amazed to see only two or three fish dishes (on a Mexican beach resort) in the menu. I inquired about the "Fish" Veracruz style, and nobody could tell me what kind of "Fish" it was. By the time we were done with the "appetizers", our appetite and energy was gone and we were ready to leave. Sitting at night under the depressing white light of CFLs against blue, purple and bright yellow walls and ceilings eating crappy Mexican food, was not what we had envisioned when we decided to take this quick trip down to the beach.

All in all, we enjoyed ourselves and made the best of the experience, but needless to say, this is the first and last time we will stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Try some other place. This is a place to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your detailed and useful review.

We have taken note of your recommendations and have taken corrective actions regarding the quality of our food.

Please be informed that there is a project in process to build ramps in different public areas for handicapped persons.

We are deeply sorry we did not meet with your expectations, but we will do every effort to improve our services and facilities to regain the confidence and goodwill towards Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa

Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Splendia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.