We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Las Brisas Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Brisas Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Las Brisas in April of 2013. The property is located on a hillside overlooking a beautiful private beach. Because of this, the building is stair-step shaped with each unit having its own private balcony overlooking the ocean and beach. The resort has four swimming pools, several restaurants, and a lounge near the lobby with a beautiful view and cooling breezes. The staff was unfailingly attentive and kind. I'd like to mention Victor at the pool as well as Ramon and Jesus at the buffet who were especially kind and courteous.

That said, there are some things that a visitor should know. First, if you have any mobility issues, this is not a great choice. The walk to the pool area is long and involves stairs as is the walk to the beach. Also, the food served at the buffet was OK (it came with our room, otherwise it is 250 pesos or about $20 per person and seemed expensive). The snacks served at the pool were disappointing at best and overpriced.

Our room was fairly nice and featured a decent air conditioner, ceiling fan, room safe, a walk in shower, stone floor, deck, honor bar fridge, and the other amenities you would expect.

We had intended to rent a car, and thankfully we chose not to. A taxi ride to or from the airport ran about $20 USD. Once at the hotel, you can walk about 1/4 mile to the main highway between Ixtapa and Zihuatanajo where private buses run back and forth every few minutes. This is a much more convenient and inexpensive way to get around (about $0.75 per person). You can walk to the public beach access in Ixtapa, it's about a mile. Because Ixtapa is not in a bay, the water is a lot rougher than at the beaches around Zihua. On that note, I'd add that we were a little disappointed with the sea water quality. Unlike the Caribbean or Hawaiian islands, the water was somewhat murky and visibility was negligible at both locations. There are boats that will take you to a nearby island from the marina in Zihua for snorkeling. Water conditions may be better there, we didn't go and therefore can't say either way.

For those of you that have never been to this area, Zihuatanejo began as a fishing village in a protected bay. It has grown a lot but still has an active fishing industry. Most of the tourist shops are located along Avenue Cinco de Mayo which you can get to easily via bus and then walk the four blocks or so to the water, where there are lots of restaurants and bars. While we had no safety issues there, the town is a bit gritty in places, but that's par for the course.

Ixtapa is entirely different than its neighbor. It is a resort town on the Pacific Ocean. The hotels are all high rise buildings that span the two miles or so of beach. If you like the look of Miami beach, you'll like Ixtapa. We are not fans, so for us despite the fact that getting to the pool and beach at Las Brisas is a bit of a hike, the privacy and quiet of our hotel were well worth it.

For what it's worth, we ate at many restaurants of all kinds, had drinks with ice cubes, and ate fruits and vegetables and had no issues. We especially liked several restaurants we tried on the beach in Zihua. Reasonable prices and very fresh and flavorful fish and seafood. Not fancy, but tasty!

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay, however some packages include the breakfast buffet and wi-fi which are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the detailed and useful review related to your recent stay with us.

We were glad to know we met with your expectations. Rest assured that we will keep focusing our efforts for a continuous improvement in our services and facilities to make your future stays comfortable and memorable ones.

Look forward to welcome you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    268
    92
    43
    24
See reviews for
157
382
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We needed to find a hotel room in Ixtapa with only a few days notice for the night before flying out from the Ixtapa Airport. We went on line and found a room here for $114/night. We were blown away with what we got for our money! A good sized bedroom with a remarkably comfortable king sized bed and a large flat screen TV. There was also a separate sitting room with chairs and a couch. The bathroom was a big, lovely room with a walk in shower. But wait- that would have been enough to make this a good deal, but across the sitting room was a wall of glass looking out exposing a full on view of the ocean below. The sliding glass door opened onto a view deck with lounge chairs and a hammock. OMG, We just spent more than that for a room at a sketchy Comfort Inn at our local airport the night before we left!
As others have said, Las Bisas Ixtapa is a little warn and could use a face lift of sorts and the design of the hotel, which allows every room to have a full ocean view, also creates an unusal, and not very user friendly, entrance level lobby and reception area. But these things are small issues considering what the positives are here- and I haven't even mentioned the beautiful private beach below with plenty of shade-providing tents and pallapas!
I would tend to agree with others who have suggested that the restaurants are very expensive and should be avoided. The $25 buffet breakfast is one of the worst- if not the worst-values I have experienced anywhere. Yet, their open air beach front fine dining restaurant served interesting well prepared food that was elegantly presented in a stunningly romantic setting which justified the high prices.
This hotel is a little bit out of the main hotel zone of Ixtapa and it is quite a walk to town, so this should be considered as well when booking here, but for my money, this was an amazing place.

Room Tip: Check out how much more it would cost to get a junior suite with a jacuzzi tub on the deck- it might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking your time in sharing with us the nice review concerning your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We were very pleased to know you enjoyed our services and installations and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in sunny Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Las Brisas (Ixtapa) in 2008 and loved it! We returned a second time in 2013 and were provided with the same top notch service, while being able to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing vacation. However, if you prefer loud music and invasive GO's, then this is not your place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest:
Your nice review about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa is highly appreciated.
We are glad to know this is your second stay with us and that both had been pleasant and relaxing vacation. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to service and attend you. Rest assured we will do our utmost to continue making your future stays enjoyable and unique experiences.
Thank you for your confidence and preference towards Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

family vacation in feb parents[50s] children[20s] was perfect! food,a la carte everynight,beach or by the pool for lunch no illness excellent food sure did not mind leaving a tip[bargin for that quality of food] weather just the right temp.for a winter vacation.bird and wild life and lots plant varieties could be seen from the walking paths,the rooms were large well cleaned by staff.the balcony was the place to be to watch a perfect sunset with a corona every evening.saw whales twice clearing the water just off the island to the left[looking at the horizon] both times in the morning before 10am.the staff was helpfull and friendly as well as the concierge [she spoke excellent english]the guys out front were helpfull for taxis and tours.the beach was quiet lots of shade and though some waves were pretty big they could be avoided by timing your walk out into the ocean the life gaurds will tell you where to stand in the surf to avoid injury.in our family we have been going to all inclusive resorts for [parents30yrs] first time ever that i plan to go a second time to a resort.thanks again to the staff at las brisas ixtapa keep up the good work see you next year.

Room Tip: our room was on the 16th floor ,great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest:
We appreciate very much the review regarding your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Comments like yours are of great value to us due to the fact we can measure the quality in service we are providing to our guests. We will keep working to exceed your expectations in making your next visit a pleasant and memorable one.
Thank you for your patronage towards Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I spent the last two weeks of March here and really enjoyed ourselves. The wait staff were fantastic, especially Rosario at the Lobby Bar and Victor at the pool. We did not have a bad meal at any of the al a carte restaurants, and found the staff to be very professional and somewhat reserved. Normally breakfast for us is fresh fruit and yogurt and both were in abundant supply, but again we enjoyed what the buffet had to offer. We enjoyed the property immensely and had many opportunities to see all sorts of birds and other creatures on our daily walks. We witnessed turtles being released at sunset and it was an amazing experience. Our room was spotless and well maintained, yes it would have been great to have an umbrella on the deck if you didn't feel like going to the beach or the pool. I liked not wearing a bracelet and my husband did not seem to complain about signing the bill every time, so I guess it's some give and take. We are definitely returning and if winter does not abate sometime soon in Sask, it will be sooner rather than later :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest:
We were very pleased to read the review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
It is very motivating to us to know you had an amazing experience with the services offered by our hotel as you mentioned. Rest assured that our efforts are focused to a continuous improvement.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent there 2 weeks. Hotel is a piece of impresive architectuture and considered to be upscale but we found this holiday disapointing. The rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean but with south west projection balcony was impossible to use after 12 because of the sun changing it into a bread oven. Balconies have useless hammocks, sun shade or umbrella would make a much better sense but this is only offered in junior suites!. Beach is nice and quiet, seperated from the crowded main Ixtava beach, but also sheltered from the north-west breeze and hot. We have bought all inclusive package and this was a mistake. Food in main Bonavista Restaurant was very poor with extremely limited choices. We have been in Mexico many time before and food was never a problem. If you are not a fan of Mexican Cousine (specially baked beans, Strogonoff, tripe soupe, etc) for breakfast you will end up eating omlet daily. Ala Carte Restaurants (specially Portofino) were decent but with all inlusive package, choices were limited and you end up eating the same stuff over and over again and of course better food which other were eating was not for you. There were no bracelets and whatever snack, drink or meal you ordered there was a bill to sign, bill with the tip which is supposed to be 15%. With the steep food prices you better have another 500$ ready for the week of tipping. This tip extortion is not exactly my all inclusive holiday concept. Also we had toilet decorated daily with flowers but bed linen unchanged (was worn out and with holes to start with) for 8 days until we complained to the the management. In summary: no more Brisas, next year we are back to Barcelo.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same but last 4 or 5 floors are considered premium due to unobsructed view and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
It is very important for us to receive the opinions of our guests in order to measure the quality of service we are providing. We are convinced that this is the only way to achieve a continuous improvement in the operation of the hotel and of the services rendered by our staff to satisfy our guests’ expectations.
Our menus will be revised to give a major variety in your meals selections. We sincerely appreciate your comments and offer your our apologies for not meeting your expectations and look forward you give us the opportunity to host you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa, in a near future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I just returned from the Las Brisas Xtapa last night and had a good but mixed experience.

THE GOOD: The hotel is nice, peaceful and on a private beach. It's set in a very pretty location and is a VERY good value for the price. The bellhops, wait-staff and especially the valets are all very friendly. The ocean is very warm and very clean.

THE BAD: The front desk staff is unpleasant at best. They all have a strange, cold attitude. As polite as I was I was never greeted with a smile. I was never asked how my stay was going - and whenever I exchanged dollars for pesos they treated me like a suspicious traveler trying to clear customs. It was flat out weird. As for the manager - as far as I could tell, the hotel doesn't have one. The concierge was very nice - but spoke virtually no English. In fact - almost no one spoke enough English to be helpful in any real way. The attendants at the front gate had the attitude of prison guards. They were unpleasant and creepy. The other strange spin with this hotel is that the clientele and restaurants were very stiff and self serious. I've been to much, much more expensive hotels in Hawaii, Cabo and the Maya Riviera which all had a much more relaxed, friendly and kicked back atmosphere.

THE UGLY: This could be seasonal but the weather is HOT HOT HOT and the ocean in front of the hotel is incredibly dangerous. I was traveling with my son and we're both very, very, very ocean savvy: we surf and body surf multiple times a week. That said, we were stunned by the size and force of the beach break. We body surfed (non-set waves) 3 times while we were there and each time we saw at least one person injured. On or first trip a woman sprained both her ankles and a girl was dragged out of the ocean by friends with blood streaming down her face. On the next two trips we saw everyone from grown men to little girls buckled by the ocean and dragged out. It was amazing to me that the hotel didn't warn people more aggressively about how dangerous the ocean was. It's just a matter of time till someone breaks their neck.

IN CONCLUSION: I'd consider going back toe h hotel to surf with my son - especially since I discovered an activities agent in one of the hotel storefronts who is nice, helpful and speaks English. That said, I wouldn't return just for leisure. The hotel just isn't nice or relaxed or even friendly enough.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the review about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Please accept our apology for not meeting with your expectations. We are taking corrective measures with our Front Desk staff. In reference to the ocean, we always have red flags at the beach and warning signs to prevent our guests from swimming; besides that our lifeguard alert the swimmers when the conditions are not favorable to go inside the ocean. Definitely the hotel is not a place for surfing. However, there are other beaches in Ixtapa area for this purpose.
Look forward to regain your confidence and goodwill in Las Brisas Ixtapa in a not too distant future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Brisas Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Ixtapa

Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Ixtapa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Las Brisas Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.