We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS RESORT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Las Brisas Ixtapa to your Saves list
Las Brisas Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vernon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS RESORT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our time at this resort! This was our first time at Las Brisas and have been to five other all inclusive resorts in Mexico - on the Mayan, Huatulco, Los Cabos and in Ixtapa, but we stayed at the Barcelo last time. This was by far our favourite but I was concerned before we came because of the reviews on this website. Most of the reviews are bang on but I didn't understand the billing at the restaurants or what was really included in the "all inclusive". Some of the reviews made me wonder whether we would have bottled water in our room or coffee and I really didn't want to have a "bill" at the end of our stay. So this review is to clarify for others who have never been here before and are on the "all inclusive" plan. The room is simple - There is a coffee machine (four cups) with a package of regular and decaffeinated coffee stocked daily along with two 1 1/2 litre bottles of water. In the fridge there are three pops, three small bottles of water and three "mini" Corona's which is also stocked daily. All of this is included in the "all inclusive" package. The room had a safe. The restaurants are awesome! For breakfast, there is only one restaurant open - the Bellavista. It is a buffet and one of the best we've had. Everything you can imagne. For lunch there are two options - the Solarium (which is by the pools) or Las Brisas 1 which is right on the beach - both have menus and the Solarium also has a small buffet. For dinner there is the Bellavista - which has a small buffet or menu and no reservations needed. The other three dinner restaurants are the Portofino (Italian), Las Brisas 2 which is outside on a terrace and the Mexicana. There is no limit to how many times you go to these but reservations are needed. All of them are excellent. All of the menus in all of the restaurants have appetizers, soups, salads, entrees, desserts and specialty coffees. Now the billing - every meal you go to you have to give your room number and you get a bill at the end of the meal in a small folder. You have to write down the amount of the bill, your tip, your name and your room number and sign it. You leave the original in the folder and keep the other copy for your records. We always put zero for the tip and enclosed cash for the tip as we didn't want to have to pay anything when we checked out at the end of our stay. Now that we know the system, next time we go we will not bring as many peso's with us and will pay all of the tips with Visa at the end of our stay. I saved all of my copies and was kind of worried what would happen at checkout but we had no problem checking out - zero balance.
We were on the 16th floor which is the non-smoking floor and loved it. The view was fantastic! The room was a bit dated but very clean. Maid service was excellent. Every day we had either beautiful towell art or fresh flowers - so nice to come back to! We didn't spend any time at the pools but they looked beautiful and refreshing. The beach was awesome - totally private - only access is through the hotel. There were plenty of palapas even when the hotel was fully booked for the weekend of February 1st which is a Mexican holiday. I wouldn't recommend the beach for young children - it was kind of hard to get in and out of the waves but the water was warm and we had a lot of fun playing in the water! The sunsets are the best in Mexico! Ask the lifeguard if they are releasing turtles because that is an awesome experience - we saw it twice while we were there. We also took the "nature walk" which was on Wednesday and Sundays - there was no charge but you do have to register with the concierge as there is a 15 person limit. It was fantastic - we learned so much. As stated there are lots of stairs but we loved them - they are all stone walks in the jungle and look so natural. Beautiful to walk through. The elevator is at one end of the hotel and the pools and tennis courts at the other end so there is a fair amount of walking but it is all in a natural setting and you can hear the birds singing away while you are walking. There is no nightly entertainment or pool entertainment which we loved - When we go to Mexico we want to hear the ocean waves crashing and the birds singing and just relax. The staff are amazing - they did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and it didn't depend on tips - most of our meals we had no idea who our main server was because whenever a plate had to be cleared away, or more coffee or wine poured, someone was there to do it. They also all seemed to really be enjoying their job - they were all laughing and joking with each other, which is fun to watch. Checkin was a breeze. Maritza, the concierge is a delight and very good at her job and all of the staff, no matter where you were, all nodded, smiled and said "hola". The only downside that we found and this is no fault of the hotel is that there were large golf tournaments booked at the resort while we were there and we found that they booked large tables at the a la cartes and were very loud in a small restaurant so it was hard to have a conversation, let alone have a romantic dinner at the end of a perfect day! Also, as stated in other reviews, if you have mobility problems this resort would be a problem as all restaurants have stairs to navigate.
We will definitely return to Las Brisas - they exceeded all of our expectations and we had a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind and detailed review.
We were very happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are committed to exceed our guests expectations and your kind comments are an incentive for all of us to keep on working in the right direction to make unique and awesome experiences for our guests.
Hope to have the pleasure of your return at Las Brisas Ixtapa very soon.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    311
    108
    59
    27
See reviews for
189
436
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just got back from our seventh trip to Ixtapa and wish we could have just stayed and not come back. We have stayed at Las Brisas six of our seven visits and love the hotel for its private setting and lush tropical surroundings. It feels like you are staying on the edge of jungle right on the beach. My wife and I love the adult pool as children under the age of sixteen are not allowed even on the pool deck. One day when we were at the pool someone carried an umbrella stroller down to the pool and within 15 minutes they were asked to go to the family pool. Bravo the the management. This is not a place to visit if you don't enjoy a reasonably long walk to the pool. We like it because it helps burn off those vacation calories. The Mexican fine dining restaurant El Mexicano was something we discovered this visit. Absolutely delicious cuisine. A great find that we are sorry we haven't found prior to this visit. The rooms and lobby are very well maintained as well as the pool area. The housekeeping is done on a daily basis with the option of using the same linens to save water. We did this every other day. Turn down service every night was very nice to come back to after a trip to Ixtapa proper or Zihuataneo. The only complaint I have is that they charge for coffee setup in the room. We booked this vacation for about $2500 USD for one week and for that price I feel they could provide free coffee in the room. We did not use this as we have been there many times and just brought instant coffee with us. This is a trivial complaint that will not keep us from returning to our home away from home again. We absolutely love this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
We were pleased to read the nice review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Our staff will be more than happy to assist you whenever you come to visit us to make you feel again at home away from home.
Thank you for your loyalty and preference towards Las Brisas Ixtapa, and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildmay, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our first visit to this resort and hope there will be more. We chose Las Brisas as had previously enjoyed a sister resort - Las Hadas, Manzanilla. The resort, beach and area has much going for it. Yes there are stairs, yes there are stone walkways to the pool and lunch restaurant, yes the ocean has an undertow, yes it is very quite - all of these things is what makes this resort unique and enchanting and why we loved it! We loved hearing the crashing waves, feeling like we had the beach or pool to ourselves, watching the sunset and enjoying fine dining and attentive, gracious service. Any request was simply not a problem (though the resort was at less than 50% capacity). The unlimited a la carte dinners at the 3 fine dining restaurants was the best we have had. Make sure you go 'all inclusive' as the drinks and meals would be very pricey. It will be a definate step down in 2014 when/IF the included dining is limited to only 3 a la cartes per week. This really must be reconsidered by management and renegotiated by Air Canada - it will influence our decision for a return visit (not interested in any buffet). We also were part of a turtle release which was extra special. Overall - excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a taxi into Zihuatanejo ($10. includes tip) early evening to relax with a refresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest:
We appreciate very much the nice review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We are glad to know you enjoyed our facilities and the attentive services from our staff. In reference to a la carte dinners included in the meal plan you reserved, we are considering some improvements trying not to affect our customers.
Thank you for your preference and look forward to host you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from another wonderful stay at Las Brisas. We have been coming here with friends for the past ten years and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The location is unparalled, sitting on a lovely secluded beach, surrounded by tropical foliage, unusual birds and an occasional iguana.

The rooms are spacious, and all are ocean front with large patios. Watching the magnificent sunsets from our room or the lobby bar each evening is a special treat.

Not only do we enjoy this hotel's magical location, but we also appreciate its dedicated and caring staff, who always makes us feel so welcomed and special. Every year they unfailingly help to make our vacation a truly memorable one. Each day Alberto, one of the beach waiters, would automatically bring us our favorite drinks and snacks as soon as he saw us sit down at a table. Maritza, the concierge, always made time to answer our questions and provide us with useful information and suggestions. And every day we looked forward to seeing Julian, one of the porters, who would greet us with a genuinely warm and friendly smile and kind words.

We are already anticipating a return to our Las Brisas "home" and "friends" next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest:
The kind review about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa is highly appreciated.
It is much rewarding to learn that our staff met your expectations and your stay was a unique experience. With pleasure we will pass along your compliments to the persons you mentioned in your review.
Thank you for your repeated patronage and hope to keep on hosting you for many more years to come.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got home from my 13th stay at Las Brisas! Hadn't been in over 11 years! Happy to report I was thrilled to find it just the same. Love the remodel! A huge thank you to all the staff. Was thrilled to see so many familiar faces from so many years ago. Can't say enough about this resort. My absolute favorite of all!!!!! Anywhere!!! Made a pact with the hubby. Next year 2 weeks!!

Room Tip: Love the 17th floor 1710 thru 1723 for the view and the location!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:
We were pleased to read the nice review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Our staff will be more than happy to assist you whenever you come to visit us to make you feel again at home away from home.
Thank you for your loyalty and preference towards Las Brisas Ixtapa, and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from our 8th visit to this wonderful resort and once again feel so very fortunate to have been able to go there again. We travel with Air Canada Vacations each year and their arrangements are always impeccable, although travelling on Air Canada flights continues to be a trial.
As usual we enjoy the all inclusive at this resort because the food is excellent, the service professional, and most of their restaurants are al a carte, but it came to our attention from the AC Vacations rep on site , that the hotel management is changing up the access to the al a carte restaurants in the future, only allowing access to each once during your stay and having the remainder of your meals at their buffet..
WE FEEL VERY STRONGLY that this would diminish our holiday and certainly hope that they will reconsider this change. We love spending our days on the beach enjoying meals at the beach patio and drink service on the sand all day, served by accommodating and gracious staff who welcome us back each year with hugs and smiles. Actually, we are greeted warmly each time we return, with recognition and warm welcoming service. The staff remains the same from year to year, loyal to their employer and doing their job with pride. The pool is beautiful and beautifully maintained as are the grounds everywhere.
It needs to be noted that there are a great many stairs and long walks to get around the property...these we find to be an enhancement but could be a deterrent to anybody with a physical handicap.
Sunset at the lobby bar is an every night event and never fails to excite. They could consider entertainment on nights other than the weekends though.
The Architecture is inspiring but the maintenance is not keeping up with the wear and tear that tropical climates impose. We hope that this will become more of a priority in the public spaces as well as the private.
a bonus this year was free WIFI in our room....much appreciated
In previous years there had been a "turn down" service so that our towels were freshened.....it never happened this year and we found that disappointing. As well, we accidentely discovered that the tip we had left for our maid, disappeared from the room before she got there....disturbing since we were told that only she had access to our room.
The weather was yet again, perfection and 2 weeks in Paradise once again, the jewel of our winter.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the nice review of your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We were happy to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Certain our staff makes the difference; that is why we are so proud of them, because they go beyond their duties to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable one..
In reference to the meal plan you outlined, we are considering to make some changes to improve and trying not to affect our customers.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa in a near future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The bus pulled up and dropped us off in the evening (wife and I) and we were a little worried, the hotel entrance is kind of drab, looks a bit old and the colour scheme is "interesting", and after dinner that night in the buffet restaurant we were concerned.....
After that.. wonderful!, great food in the "ala carte" restaurants (we particularly liked La Brisa II with it's setting overlooking the ocean at sunset), excellent private beach, no vendors, nice and quiet. Pools were great too. Rooms very good with a private balcony overlooking the ocean (and a hammock).
Get ready for some walking though, everything is a distance away, the pools, the beach, the restaurants and having to sign for all drinks, meals etc is a bit of PITA, but would definitely recommend the hotel and would return.

Room Tip: If you're not prepared to walk, get a room closer to the elevator, seems the upper floors are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We have read the nice review in reference to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We were very pleased to know you had a great time and enjoyed our services and facilities. All this motivate us to continue looking for a continuous improvement

Thank you and look forward to your return in a near future.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Brisas Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Ixtapa

Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Brisas Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.