We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE ONCE AGAIN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Vistahermosa S/N | Colonia El Hujal Jose Azueta, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Ixtapa
winnipeg canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“PARADISE ONCE AGAIN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from our 8th visit to this wonderful resort and once again feel so very fortunate to have been able to go there again. We travel with Air Canada Vacations each year and their arrangements are always impeccable, although travelling on Air Canada flights continues to be a trial.
As usual we enjoy the all inclusive at this resort because the food is excellent, the service professional, and most of their restaurants are al a carte, but it came to our attention from the AC Vacations rep on site , that the hotel management is changing up the access to the al a carte restaurants in the future, only allowing access to each once during your stay and having the remainder of your meals at their buffet..
WE FEEL VERY STRONGLY that this would diminish our holiday and certainly hope that they will reconsider this change. We love spending our days on the beach enjoying meals at the beach patio and drink service on the sand all day, served by accommodating and gracious staff who welcome us back each year with hugs and smiles. Actually, we are greeted warmly each time we return, with recognition and warm welcoming service. The staff remains the same from year to year, loyal to their employer and doing their job with pride. The pool is beautiful and beautifully maintained as are the grounds everywhere.
It needs to be noted that there are a great many stairs and long walks to get around the property...these we find to be an enhancement but could be a deterrent to anybody with a physical handicap.
Sunset at the lobby bar is an every night event and never fails to excite. They could consider entertainment on nights other than the weekends though.
The Architecture is inspiring but the maintenance is not keeping up with the wear and tear that tropical climates impose. We hope that this will become more of a priority in the public spaces as well as the private.
a bonus this year was free WIFI in our room....much appreciated
In previous years there had been a "turn down" service so that our towels were freshened.....it never happened this year and we found that disappointing. As well, we accidentely discovered that the tip we had left for our maid, disappeared from the room before she got there....disturbing since we were told that only she had access to our room.
The weather was yet again, perfection and 2 weeks in Paradise once again, the jewel of our winter.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the nice review of your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We were happy to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Certain our staff makes the difference; that is why we are so proud of them, because they go beyond their duties to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable one..
In reference to the meal plan you outlined, we are considering to make some changes to improve and trying not to affect our customers.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa in a near future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    249
    81
    40
    23
See reviews for
138
368
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The bus pulled up and dropped us off in the evening (wife and I) and we were a little worried, the hotel entrance is kind of drab, looks a bit old and the colour scheme is "interesting", and after dinner that night in the buffet restaurant we were concerned.....
After that.. wonderful!, great food in the "ala carte" restaurants (we particularly liked La Brisa II with it's setting overlooking the ocean at sunset), excellent private beach, no vendors, nice and quiet. Pools were great too. Rooms very good with a private balcony overlooking the ocean (and a hammock).
Get ready for some walking though, everything is a distance away, the pools, the beach, the restaurants and having to sign for all drinks, meals etc is a bit of PITA, but would definitely recommend the hotel and would return.

Room Tip: If you're not prepared to walk, get a room closer to the elevator, seems the upper floors are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We have read the nice review in reference to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We were very pleased to know you had a great time and enjoyed our services and facilities. All this motivate us to continue looking for a continuous improvement

Thank you and look forward to your return in a near future.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago - Go Bears!
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from another great week at Las Brisas resort. There is no question this is our favorite property in Ixtapa. It is partially secluded, but has its own large private beach in a small cove. Granted, there is a good deal of walking from the rooms to the pool or beach, but that is the thing we really like. You are walking through a lush outdoor area, that the staff manage to keep looking perfect. The staff is great, with everybody being helpful, friendly, and just a joy to be around. Enjoyed watching the live turtles sent to the sea, which they periodically do when a large sea turtle lays eggs on the beach. Also, get the free naturure tour of the property, you will be amazed on all the species of birds, lizards, etc. in the area!

Room Tip: Love the 17th floor, north end of the building. The door opens to a garden area, great for a cross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the nice review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
It is much rewarding to know our staff met with your expectations and that you enjoyed our services and installations. Rest assured that we will keep doing our best efforts to satisfy our guests’ needs.
We will be delighted to welcome you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CODETTE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We (4 couples) went to Las Brisas via West Jet vacations, from Saskatoon Canada-awesome stay!! The resort has the perfect setting-away from peddlers and time share folks. We played in the ocean waves, however, went to the pool for swimming. The beach was guiet so listened to the repetition of crashing waves. Really enjoyed watching the release of the baby sea turtles and guided tour through the property, to learn about the local trees and birds etc. The beach and pools did not have music playing so allowed one to read or nap, in peace. Could use personal IPod. No real bird problem either. Staff were sensitive and attentive to those around them...excellent services all around. Meals could be buffet or off-the-menu...very nice to have a choice. The evening dinners (al a carte) that included reservations were great. Would recommend you ask for a computer copy of your dinner reservation as we had two mix-ups. The beach drink service was amazing. What a great idea to have buckets of ice to keep our drinks cold. Our rooms on the 15th floor were perfect on all accounts.Thank you to all staff for absoutely everything!! Would love to return to this location!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean although the higher floors may have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We were delighted to read the nice review about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Thank you for sharing with us the different activities and services you enjoyed . It was a pleasure for our staff to assist you and make you feel comfortable. We hope you have us in mind whenever you come back to this side of the world.

Look forward to welcome you again at Las Brisas Ixtapa in a not so far future.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I went to Las Brisas in January this year with my parents and my boyfriend. I have to say that when I first got to the resort I was a little put off by the need to sign for everything. This was the first time I have ever had to do that and we were constantly worried if we were racking up our bill, even though we were on AI. After checking our balance on the third day and getting reassured from the 0 balance, after that it wasn't much of a problem! After seeing the prices that we accumulated after an afternoon at the beach or in the lobby, I would never stay here not on AI. Our room was fantastic, we were on the 19th floor. It was great, the bed was fantastic, the shower was hot and spacious. We spent every morning and night on the hammock or sitting on the ledge. House cleaning in our room was a little weird. Once we came back into our room at 10 pm and they were in there cleaning. Another time they knocked on our door at 1030 pm and asked if we need more towels. A little late, we thought. Our mini bar was always stocked though which was great. But we never got any fancy towel or flower petals things, even though we were tipping every day, but I guess you can't be picky! The food was pretty good. It was very confusing at first, trying to figure out what time everything opened or where you could get food at what time. We ended up getting a map from the front desk, which helped. However there was not much options before noon, even though some places said they opened earlier, we got turned down a few times. Food at the Las Brisas II was probably the best food I have ever had at a a la carte. We went there 3 times, and we generally never do the a la cartes. We didn't find a need to try any others. Getting reservations was easy too, as when we did go 2 out of those times we just asked if we could go 15 minutes prior and they were very accommodating. Lunch or snacks were tasty at both the pool and the beach. The pool was nice but we spent more time on the beach, I don't travel all the way over there to not hit the beach as much as possible. Beach service was usually pretty good, as long as we waited until noon to be helped. I think my favorite part of Las Brisas was the buckets of bottled beer, pretty much your choice of brand. I have never had that in a resort before. None of this draft beer in a plastic cup. We actually like this so much that we are considering our wedding there next Jan (plus we got engaged on the beach here when we went so it has some sentimental value lol). It was fantastic. The beach was also probably the nicest I have ever been to. No vendors (I kinda missed them at first but then I really didn't), you could take nice long walks on it and it was scorching each day. The waves were so much fun. Sure I got rocked a couple times, lost my top once or three times and had my feet sticking out of the water over my head but it didn't keep me out. If you got past the surf it was fine. We had a few days of swimming with fish. Unfortunately no snorkelling offered unless you ask the life guard for it and I heard you had to pay for it. No beach volleyball, but there was a net, again you had to ask for the ball. No activities. But I was okay with that because we would go out on the town in the evening and that was enough activity for me. Never had to reserve a chair and it wasn't often I saw it happening. Now the stairs. My boyfriend and I are late 20's early 30s, both in good shape. I think I left with better legs than I went there with. There was a lot of walking but we chose to do a lot of walking. You can kind of avoid it if you get a room by the elevators but there were a few days the beach elevator wasn't working and its a long walk from the elevators across the lobby. We walked into town quite a bit and we did the walk back too a couple times (not horrible until you get close to the resort and it was only 2 big humps of hills you had to get over). The only shuttle available is the one to the pool but always readily available. I ended up getting a leg massage when we went to Ixtapa Island and it was well worth the $12 I spent on it, I would have spent way more for how great it was. We saw older people with walkers at this resort, there was an older group of golfers that came while we were there and if they could do it, anyone can. The one thing that we didn't care for while we were at the resort was the lack of interaction with the staff. While they were courteous with us they never got to know our names or talk with us. We feel that it was maybe because we were younger than most people there as they were buddy buddy with the older clientelle. They almost made us feel somewhat inferior to other people there because we saw them high fiving, getting to know other people and with us it was almost cold. And we were tipping the entire time there but it didn't seem to matter. Maybe the older people were tipping way more than us, so we weren't really important, I don't know? One night we were in the lobby and our waiter was chatting up a storm with the table beside us and when he came over to us we tried to initiate a conversation and he just served us with one or two words. We sat in the lobby bar almost every night like that. One of the things about Mexico we love is getting to know the staff and having fun with them so that was a downside for us. There were maybe two or three staff such as one of the front desk staff who helped us out consistently, every time we talked to him he knew who we were and our room and everything and on our last night at the Las Brisas II our waiter who actually talked to us when we asked questions. But that was it. Long story short, all in all it was a really beautiful resort, different than any Mexico resort you will ever go to (I think this is also a reason to consider our wedding there). The private beach was amazing, the food was the best I have had and the cold bottled beer can't be beat. The service was good, but we have experienced way more interaction during past trips to other resorts that it stuck out to us and not in the best way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your detailed review related to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We were pleased to know you got engaged here and are considering our property for your next wedding.
Please accept our apologies for the lack of interaction you perceived from our staff during your stay; rest assured that corrective measures have been taken to avoid this type of situation happens again. This is an atypical issue since our staff has been always friendly and warm with our guests.
Please get in touch with us when you have the definite dates of your wedding, in order to assist you with the arrangements.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we spent 5 days at this wonderful hotel.Great views,private beach and terrific pools.The staff from beginning to end were all first class with genuine smiles and always very helpful.The room was spotless and had all the comforts we could ask for.We had lunch at the poolside restaurant and it was great and prices right.The only drawback was the prices for breakfast and dinner.Breakfast ran almost fifty dollars and dinner over one hundred.We ate mostly at other restaurants and enjoyed Las Brisas very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind review in reference to your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
It is much rewarding to know you had a great and comfortable stay with us. Rest assured we will continue focusing our efforts in providing our guest with best quality services to exceed their expectations.
As per your breakfast and dinner comments, we will have a price review to compare it again with the others hotels in the area.
Look forward to your return at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are from Vancouver and recently returned from a week at Las Brisas with a sister and brother-in-law from California where we celebrated two family birthdays. Our week together was beyond our even fondest expectations. Rooms, views, food, drinks and especially service were excellent in every way and made this a truly memorable week. In fact, so much so that we will be back again next January. EVERYONE was caring, helpful and made this a very special week. One person who exceeded all standards for excellence was the Chief Concierge, Maritza Garcia, whose guidance and assistance on so many occasions will always be remembered and appreciated . She set the standard for exceptional service, which was essentially met by almost all staff.
Thank you, Las Brisas, we will see you again next January, and God willing, for many Januray's to come.
Gene and Sandy L

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, clean and with outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for the nice review about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
We are very proud of our staff who make the difference in service and attentions, especially our Chief concierge, Maritza Garcia. All of them look forward to exceed our guests’ expectations to make their stay an unforgettable one.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa

Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico
Address: Playa Vistahermosa S/N | Colonia El Hujal Jose Azueta, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.