We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, great secluded beach!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Las Brisas Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Brisas Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, great secluded beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, romantic get-away with a private beach, this place is for you!! Every room has an ocean view, so bring you binoculars, we saw whales and dolphins right from our balcony. This review is a fair bit late, as we went in January, but remembering at the time there was a fresh hatch of turtles that lay eggs right in the sand on the beach inspired me to write this review! The staff had gathered the baby turtles up for release just before dark so that the birds would not eat them all before they had a fighting chance to reach the water. So there was a dozen of us on the beach at the time, and we all got to hold and release a couple of them, and watch them waddle into the ocean- free at last!! That was one on the highlights of staying at a resort with a secluded beach! The staff were friendly and service was very good. The rooms are very sparten with very few extras, but that is the style of the whole complex, simple architecture and straight lines, very contemporary, but the view made up for it.
We didn't do the all inclusive option, but wished we had, as the food looked quite good and it was a long walk or short taxi ride to town for meals. We stayed in nearby Zihuatenajo for a week and it was a nice change and very reasonable!
All thing considered, we would recommend this resort if you want a secluded natural setting with no pedlars on the beach to sell you stuff, a fantastic view, and don't mind a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest:
We appreciate very much your kind review related to your February 2012 stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
It is much rewarding to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We definitely are looking for a continuous improvement every day, and we feel very happy our staff is doing a good job to exceed our guest’s expectations.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    268
    92
    43
    24
See reviews for
157
382
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Las Brisas resort in Ixtapa did not fail to provide a wonderful setting for our vacation this second stay. Registration was a breeze, checking in at the tail end of their low season. Francisco's English is flawless, explaining our package (through Costco travel) and efficiently getting us through the registration process-- all with such a friendly and professional demeanor. Meanwhile, Julian at the bell desk helped us with our luggage and escorted us to our room. By a strange coincidence, it was the exact same room as last year! The accommodations are clean and colorfully decorated, the patio overlooking the ocean is where we spent hours every morning and evening, just watching the waves. Not long after we settled in to our room, a knock at the door surprised us. Room service, delivering a complimentary bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our anniversary!
The Beach Club package includes free beverages and snacks during Happy Hour every evening (6-7pm). We took advantage of this nearly every night, filing up on the snacks and enjoying smoothies and other blended drinks. The wait staff at the Lobby Bar treated us like friends, chatting to us in English and helping us learn a little Spanish (ours is limited to the bare basics). Special thanks to Paulino, who took extra care to talk to us about life in Mexico. The open air of the bar brought in the fresh ocean air. Another favorite place to just relax.
Also included in the Beach Club package is a breakfast buffet. During high season, the buffet is provided on the 20th floor, but as it was low season they moved it to Bellavista, down a flight of stairs from the main floor. A few traditional Mexican dishes are offered alongside pancakes, cereal, yogurt, fresh juice, fresh fruit, and a variety of pastries. If you want eggs, there's a chef ready to cook to order. The service here is also perfect. Beverages were refilled seemingly at the moment I finished them and plates were removed the moment I put down my fork. (A note about the coffee: I already miss the perfectly brewed coffee. Being from the Pacific NW where good coffee can be found on nearly every street corner, this is high praise, indeed.)
We wanted to try the Mexican restaurant, but it was closed the night we were eating in so we dined at Portofino instead. The antipasti was a delicious variety and the house made pasta was amazing!
The beach is an oasis. Possibly Heaven. Klein and Alberto were quick to learn our daily beverage routine-- two iced coffees and a big bottle of water. Ice was replenished regularly. The ocean here has a strong undertow, but don't let that keep you out of the water.
If you aren't sure where to go in town to eat or shop, or how to get to a specific destination in the area, just ask anyone at Las Brisas. Julian was a godsend, negotiating an hourly rate with a taxi driver to take us to El Refugio de Potosi in Petatlan. (As a special thank you for his help, we gifted the bottle of champagne to Julian since we don't drink and didn't want the bottle to go to waste.)
Check out was also smooth. Francisco was there to see us off. The only glitch we experience was the daily breakfast was charged to our room rather than waived as part of our package. We mentioned this, and the charge was removed immediately. We applied our remaining cash pesos to our bill rather than taking them to a money exchange.
I can't say enough about this resort. Mexico is a large and diverse country and we'd love nothing more than to explore it fully... but the temptation to return to this specific hotel is strong. We're in love with Zihuatanejo, and love every moment at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean facing. Beach Club package includes daily Happy Hour and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for sharing with us the wonderful experience you had during your recent stay in October 2012 at Las Brisas Ixtapa
We will post copy of your review in our bulletin board, so our staff, specially the ones you mentioned, read it as they will be very happy to know they did a good job making your stay enjoyable and unforgettable one.
We hope you come back soon to pamper you in your home away from home….Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Last time we were there it was 6 years ago. We had been choosing this hotel for 3 years because even in Hugh season it wasn't crowded, and the food, building and beah services were better than those at Barcelo or Crystal. But this time, it was really crowded! Everywhere! The food was barely ok. We had awful rainy weather, and te activities for kids or grow ups were scarce and not fun, we got si bored! If we come back to ixtapa, we will go to the Med.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest:
We are very sorry to learn from your review that we did not meet with your expectations this year as the hotel was crowded due to holidays in Mexico when you came.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again at Las Brisas Hotel.
Cordially,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First you must know that this is Mexico. The real deal. So no westin heavenly bed. I think this is the cleanest most service oriented hotel in z or ixtapa. All the hotels are pretty old. Las brisas is newly painted, good showers(for mexic). Exceptional expansive beach views from hotel lobby bar and rooms. Breakfast buffet is good, fruit breads, sweets and omlets cooked to order as well as yogurt. If your air conditioning doesn't work, tell the desk and they will immediately fix it or move your room. The air conditioning is good. The service of the staff is superb. There are three pools. Pretty, but old. The beach at the hotel is beautiful. The only drawback is the stairs. Lots of stairs, but that is Mexico. Overall probably the best in z or ixtapa. I will come again. Very relaxing and romantic. Every 47 days the release the baby turtles onto the beach. Amazing to watch. Also beautiful birds every where.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Comments like yours are really motivating and encourages us to keep working for a continuous improvement. We are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations.
We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been to this property 2 time, 1 time with my husband, and one time with a good friend. I am already booked again for beginning of December for 10 days. Cannot wait. We have been to close to 30 different resorts through out Mexico, and the Carribean. We love this resort it is one of only three places that we have returned to. NOt to say we did not enjoy others but this resort is exceptional in many ways. The dining choices are all excellent. There is no bar anywhere else with a better view. and the services at the dining rooms, the beach, the pool and bars are amazing. You will feel like you are the only ones there even when it is busy. I highly recommend this resort and all the staff (Especially Gorge at the pool FANTASTIC service)

Room Tip: Higher floors have slightly better views. But all patios have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest:

We are very happy to know we will have the privilege of hosting you for the third time next December 2012.

Rest assured that we will do out best effort to make your stay a unique and enjoyable experience one again.

Thank you for your loyalty and preference towards Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel has incredible views and all the rooms have private balcony's. We had a room on the 19th floor, make sure you get a high room. All the reviews who complain about the walking must be extremely lazy at home. You did have to walk to the pool and to the elevator for the beach but it's in a beautiful setting and it's like walking around the block twice. Go to the bar for the sunset and have a drink the sunsets are amazing. Don't bother going to ixtapa it seems like a ghost town. Go to Zihuatanejo instead great restaurants and really nice people. If you're going to Zihuatanejo then stay here cabs to town are about $10, we were advised not to take the bus for our safety. There was virtually no one on the beach or at the pools.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing with us your comments about the great stay you had at Las Brisas Ixtapa recently.
It is very much rewarding to read the reviews of our guests as they help us measure the quality of service we are providing and encourages us to a continuous improvement.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to this beautiful resort in a not so distant future.
Sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for a week from Aug 28th to Sept 5th for our Anniversary. I felt at times we were on a private island since we had the beach to ourselves more then once and hotel wasn't full at all.Water was a bit rough the first few days due to thunder and lightening we had, and it was very humid but didn't damper our time. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. We asked to change rooms just because we where all the way down and i wanted to be closer to the elevators since the place is soo huge and we changed with no problems. Love the elevator that takes you to the beach. Pools are very nice nice. I felt like I was in Costa Rica with all the trees and bird sounds, lizards running around. Taxis into town where only 40pesos thats about $3.50 so worth it. We didnt do the all inclusive meal plan we like to go out and eat where the locLs do. We found some great places. Ask the taxi to take you to where Carlos & Charlie's use to be the parking lot has a wonderful place first time I had blue tacos they where excellent!Would Defiently stay there again and totally recommend it. I actually liked not staying at the hotels along the beach side we've at the Krystal and the Presidente before with our kids but I wanted a more secluded place, not to be bothered unless I choose to. The hotel meet all my expectations!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was 2024, awesome view and close to the ice machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your nice comments about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We will definitely continue doing our best to exceed our guests’ expectations, so you come back to this beautiful property for many years to come.

Thank you for your preference.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Brisas Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Ixtapa

Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Ixtapa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Las Brisas Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.