We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fifth Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Brisas Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Las Brisas Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Brisas Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$120 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Fifth Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our fifth trip to Las Brisas Ixtapa over the last twelve years and we hope to return again. Beautiful hotel, great views, a private beach and service second to none. Make sure you visit the open-air bar with the perfect view of the Pacific...and two for one drinks during happy hour! (Featuring great service from Polo & Rosaria.) We stayed during the second week of June; low season, and the hotel was only at about 15% capacity, but still fully staffed. Went into Ixtapa and/or Zihuatanejo daily for the restaurants and shops and always took cabs into town; very reasonably priced and available from the lobby at a moment’s notice. You can walk into Ixtapa if you desire, but the walk back up the hill can be quite a challenge in the heat and humidity. And if you're worried about your safety in the area, don't...really. We were out and about every night and NEVER felt threatened in any way. Great people, great hotel, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Some pretty rough waves at the beach, but the view more than makes up for it. Built into a cliff ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is our pleasure having had the opportunity of hosting you for the fifth time at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

After reading your review, we have learned that you enjoyed your recent stay. We feel very happy that our staff and services were of your entire satisfaction.

Thank you once again, and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    266
    90
    42
    24
See reviews for
155
378
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Good for 2-3 days stay . Resort is big and has a private beach..loved the view from the cocktail restaurant!...decent rooms with gr8 views.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review.

We will be pleased to welcome you back at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Cordially yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have the opportunity to visit the same hotel like last year and I like to mention that the service is excellent, but still the food is more less in the buffets. The areas for business are well adapted and comfortable but required new upgrades they look a little bit old or in bad shape.
Beach is nice , surrounded by jungle but the service at the bar end at 7pm when there's still sun light.
Room are good but need to upgrade to flat screen tvs
bottom line: great for a couple of days for business

Room Tip: ask for rooms above 15th floor , all are beach view but the jungle blocks the view in lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
May 26, 2012

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your review related to your stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Your kind suggestions will be taken into consideration. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again when your travels bring you back to Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo.

Cordially yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was not going to write a review about my stay but Las Brisas sent me an email boasting about their "Certificate of Excellence". We went in Feb. 2012 for a wedding.
First the good stuff:
The views, a secluded beach, decent rooms, coffee maker in room, ok food, maid service, valet, security and the help in general. Not included in the help is the management.
Now the bad:
Take lots of money as you will pay for everything.
This includes the water bottles and the coffee packets to make coffee in your room. One reason I choose this hotel is because they advertise in-room coffee makers. We bought water and coffee at a local quik stop for 1/5 what the hotel charges.
If you are not on the EU plan, the prices on the menu are high. The drinks are even higher.
The walk to the pool is very far, so far that they have a small truck to drive you there. You have to ask for it.
You will be charged up front for your complete stay so beware. Upon checking in, I was told that the only charge would be that day as I told them I would pay with a debit card as soon as a deposit cleared. I did not want to pay with a credit card. Guess what, they charged my account that day for entire seven days. I complained to the front desk and I was told they would clear it up. The deposit cleared on day 2 and I gave them the debit card for the charges. They still did not correct it. This went on for five days, each time I was told it was fixed when it wasn't. The front desk tried but the manager would not budge. After 5 days I finally got to see the elusive manager and told him what I thought of him. Complaining loudly in front of people checking in makes all the difference. It was finally corrected on the 6th. day of my 7 day stay.
This place was once very nice but now it is old and it shows. If you want to experience the real Mexico, stay in Zihuatanejo.
And to Las Brisas who reminded me of my stay there, thanks.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevator, this is a must. Take drinking water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
May 26, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying recently at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

We appreciate your comments as we are convinced this is the only way to achieve a continuous improvement on the operation of the hotel and in the services we are providing for our guests’ satisfaction.

Rest assured that we have implemented corrective actions in order to avoid any inconvenience happens to you again.

Look forward to regain your confidence and goodwill.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our niece had her wedding here. Great hotel, very good food & selection at each restaurant. Friendly and courteous staff. Great beach, attractive furnished rooms with super vistas of the bay. We would return again in this area.

Room Tip: In our party most were on the 19th or 20th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
May 26, 2012.

Dear Guest:

We appreciate it very much your kind preference toward Las Brisas Ixtapa.

It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back for many years to come.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a near-perfect week at Las Brisas.

The resort, originally built 30 years ago as part of the Westin flagship, is now under the Las Brisas umbrella. It is for this reason that we chose to stay there. After vacationing at the Huatulco and Manzanillo Las Brisas properties, we became converts. This is no small acquiescence for a couple whom has visited 50 countries, including almost every Caribbean destination, and who vow not to tie ourselves to any destination or brand.

Las Brisas is targeted to those looking for a quiet, laid back, elegant, and romantic getaway of high quality at a competitive price. There are no Marco Polo competitions, solicitations to participate in BINGO, or throbs of tinned bass streaming from an oversized speaker poolside. Nor will you find cruise-ship like crowds jostling for a place at the buffet line, jammed public spaces, or loud twenty-somethings stumbling over themselves after too many lunch time cervezas.

The resort offers a totally relaxing getaway in an idyllic setting. Every room has a private balcony facing the ocean, and framing exceptional sunsets. The generous private beach is cut off from other hotels, and is filled with an abundance of palapas, as well as a lunch bar where you can enjoy your meal while dining with your feet in the sand. The surf, however, can be wild so pay heed to the wave warnings. As with other destinations on the Pacific coast, there can be a fierce undertow.

At the opposite side of the property, three swimming pools (children’s, adult, and mixed) offer options for everyone. And, while they are within proximity to one another, the flow of the fountains mask any neighboring chatter.

Walking is a requirement, but one which we gladly welcomed. There is a trolley to the pool; and elevators to the lobby and beach, but we vowed not to take them. It was our way of offsetting the varied and superb dining experiences—all of which are al a carte if you choose (including breakfast).

We spoke with couples that had been to Las Brisas in the past, then subsequently stayed at Barcello and Azul on the hotel strip in Ixtapa, but they returned to Las Brisas for two reasons: the serenity and the food. Dining is unquestionably a highlight. Portofino is the hands-down favorite. A repeat recipient of the Four Diamond Award, the food is piping hot, freshly prepared, elegantly presented and simply delicious. The dining room has been deftly and meticulously managed by same Maitre de for over 20 years. We watched Moises, our favorite server, run continuously between kitchen and guests delivering prompt and professional service graciously and efficiently. The staff is well-trained and the dying arts of tableside caesar salads and special coffees, shrimp flambes and flaming desserts are delivered with flare and grace. If ambiance is your priority, then Las Brisas II offers al fresco dining overlooking the ocean in a setting that is second to none.

When dining, remember a couple of caveats: First of all, you are seaside. Fish (sea bass, snapper and mahi-mahi) and lobster are caught offshore. Shrimp arrives from Veracruz. It is fresh, abundant, relatively inexpensive, and exceptionally prepared. As for the beef—ask Moises at Portofino for his recommendation if you need a red meat fix, but recognize that the cuts are not grain fed Alberta Triple AAA. Secondly, while we never had a bad meal, we watched people who were unfamiliar with certain ingredients or preparation. If you don’t like something, or the way it’s prepared, send it back and tell them explicitly what you want—or better yet ask in advance. They will go out of their way to please you. While tipping is included with the all-inclusive package, an additional tip goes a long way to enriching your experience and enhancing the lives of the people with whom you are interacting. Remember that this is Mexico, and while it’s impossible not to view your experiences through your values and standards, extend these people kindness and generosity and it will come back multi-fold. They live lives that we don’t want to imagine; and they do so with smiles on their faces and little in their pockets.

We found all of the staff to be friendly, accommodating, conscientious, hardworking and professional. (A special thanks and hello to Maritza, the Chief Concierge, Moises in Portofino, and Jorge at the pool bar.) If you want to further enrich your experience, take time to chat with the staff. Learn about their lives, their challenges, and their joys.

We met several Americans who opted for the Las Brisas Club which includes an extensive continental breakfast, and a cocktail hour including appetizers. The Club located on the 20th floor is managed flawlessly by Yasmine and Emmanuel, and gives guests the opportunity to partake of the abundance of restaurants in Zihuatanejo for lunch or dinner. That said, I would highly recommend the all-inclusive package if it’s your first time at Las Brias as the value is incomparable and food options at the hotel are extensive. One of my ongoing criticisms of all-inclusive packages is the poor quality of house wines (those that are included in your plan). Wine with dinner is one of our pleasures and most house wines at all-inclusive resorts are barely, if at all, palatable. The owner of the Las Brisas chain conveniently owns Santo Tomas winery based in Baja, California. This affords guests a choice of reasonable wines. Remember to order by the glass though, as wines purchased by the bottle are not included in your package.

As mentioned in previous reviews, with the all-inclusive package, you are presented a bill at the end of each meal, and when you order drinks at any of the bars. I preferred this approach over the plastic bracelet which makes me feel as though I’ve entered a theme park. Taking the opportunity to review the bill gives you an understanding of the cost of your food and beverage, and reinforces the value of the all-inclusive plan.

As of February, the resort has a new General Manager who has moved quickly to address some of the concerns highlighted in previous reviews. Specifically, he has eliminated additional charges for in-room coffee, and select water, beer and soft drinks from the mini-bar. Further, in-room wireless internet is now included in your package. And, activities and entertainment are available on an ad-hoc basis dependent on hotel occupancy and the time of year. One on-going event which is free and conducted twice weekly, but is not widely advertised, is the guided grounds tour. The nature walk takes approximately 1 1/4 hours and includes a commentary and discussion, as well as viewings of species endemic to the area, all of which are found in a natural setting. Sightings included black iguanas, a large range of local birds, and a rarely seen pygmy owl. Conducted by Pablo, a local biologist, this tour should not be missed. Pablo’s knowledge, coupled with his pride and passion for his vocation and his country are worthy alone of attendance. Speak to Maritza at the concierge desk to sign-up.

As appealing as the resort is, use the opportunity to explore the nearby area. Take the local bus (accessible at the entrance to the resort) to Zihuatanejo, and Playa Linda in the other direction (a beach frequented by area locals). For 9 pesos (less than $1) for either destination, you can chat with villagers, elicit a smile from a small child latched timidly to his father’s leg, and listen to musicians who sing and play the guitar in the middle of the bus. Give the driver 10 pesos instead of 9 and he’ll drop you directly at your destination. (The hotel offers a convenient money exchange service at a very competitive rate.) From Playa Linda you can take the water taxi to Ixtapa Island if you are looking for a diversion. While fairly crowded, the waves are somewhat calmer and the beach is frequented by both locals and tourists. The water taxi costs 40 pesos, return.

Being staunch fans of Mexico and having visited many parts of this splendid country, we are saddened to hear of the spate of crime that has deterred some travelers. Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo have fortunately remained unscathed. While my husband played tennis at the resort, I would make the 20 minute walk alone to Ixtapa. Ixtapa is, however, uninspiring, and constitutes little more than a commercial hotel strip which has been replicated in many southern U.S. locations. I would, however, walk there for the exercise and I never felt uncomfortable or threatened.

Zihuatanejo, on the other hand, holds the charm and appeal of yesteryear, which has been lost in many other Mexican ports. After you take the bus to Centro, walk back and forth on each of the streets to witness the eclectic shops and dwellings, and exchange greetings with residents and tourists alike. Head to the local food and fish market for an authentic glimpse inside the community, and then walk to the pier near the Harbor Master at La Principal Beach and pause at one of the beachfront restaurants for a repose before continuing along the waterfront to La Madera Beach. To reach La Ropa Beach you must walk up the hill and around the bay. However, the views of the bay; and the restaurants and hotels along the way, make the walk worth it. At the end of La Ropa Beach you can pause again for refreshment at La Perla before grabbing a cab back to the hotel. This trek will take at least half a day, so set out early in the morning to avoid too much sun and heat. With over 300 days of annual sunshine, picture-perfect days are almost guaranteed.

We originally came to Mexico for the weather and the beaches. We have returned for the people, the experience and the value; and we will return to Las Brisas again for the comfort, dining, serenity and seclusion, as well as the overall value and experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
May 26, 2012

Dear Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your nice and detailed review about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa.

Thanks to your comments, we are able to measure the quality of services we are providing to our guests as our priority is to satisfy and exceed their expectations. Therefore, we will continue focusing our efforts in our staff training for a daily improvement.

We hope to welcome you back and all your friends that would like to enjoy the wonderful weather and attractions of Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopbriggs, Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We drove up here from Acapulco during our weeks' stay in that city in order to enjoy a change of scenery for a day, and chose this hotel as we found a good online room offer the day before.
The building itself is spectacularly ugly, with very un-Mexican architecture and painted concrete everywhere. There is not much in the way of decor or fixtures, and the restaurant prices were laughably outrageous.
But enough of the negatives, we very much enjoyed our stay here, not least because of the bargain room price we found. Our accomodation was luxurious and spacious, and the views over the beach and the ocean were spectacular. The hotel pool was lively and clean, with plenty of room for all, and there were attendants all around to ensure safety and comfort.
The beach below the hotel was wonderful, with gently shelving sand and, again, fantastic views out to sea. The beach area, which curves around a small bay, was kept spotlessly clean and, unlike in Acapulco further down the coast, we were not pestered by vendors selling tacky souvenirs and food of dubious quality. The sea was pleasantly warm, and the water was safe enough to allow our young son to go in and play in the gentle waves.
Although its location is ideal, we wouldn't hurry back to this hotel unless we could obtain another room bargain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelloLBI, Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
May 22, 2012

Dear Guest:

We have read your nice comments about your recent stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa Hotel.

The building of our property was designed by Ricardo Legorreta, a very recognized Architect in Mexico and all around the world. Due to its pyramid structure, our guest rooms are ocean view where all can enjoy the spectacular sunsets from their terrace, like you did.

In reference to the food prices, let me inform you that they are competitive with the other hotels of the area, however, we will make a review.

We hope to welcome you back in Ixtapa.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Brisas Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Brisas Ixtapa

Address: Playa Vista Hermosa S/N, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Brisas Ixtapa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the side of a mountain and surrounded by tropical vegetation on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mexican Pacific Riviera is where you will find this secluded tropical paradise that offers the perfect balance between recreation and relaxation. A private hilltop entrance leads into a stone courtyard with dramatic fountain, where porters escort new arrivals to the open-air reception area. Bright colors, high ceilings, and keyhole views of the Pacific Ocean highlight hotel's striking architecture. Las Brisas Ixtapa is a particular favorite of honeymooners for its romantic setting and rooms with private terraces, all with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Las Brisas Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Brisas Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Resort
Las Brisas Hotel Ixtapa
Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Brisas Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.