We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)

Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 attractions in Ixtapa
Type: Islands
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since its development in 1970, this island has become a man-made paradise and wildlife reserve.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice place, relaxing. Equipments are not expensive at all to rent and you don't have to go far away for snorkeling. To get the the island is also quite inexpensive....which is a real treat. No one bothers you also with buying stuff. Great place for relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    166
    71
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, IL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A fun retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you are going to be in Ixtapa for awhile consider this side trip. My wife and I have bikes here and we ride the bike path from Ixtapa to Playa Linda. After we lock up the bikes we take a water ferry to Ixtapa Island for some snorkeling. It's not Maui when it comes to marine life, but it's not bad for around here.

We usually stake out a spot by one of the many restaurants right on the beach. In fact, you can't avoid them as waiters from the various beach cantinas solicit your attention with hopes you will buy a dinner or at least a beer or two (which we normally do). We hear that the fish is excellent, but we usually don't eat there or if we do, just a snack.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great snorkelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Take the local bus to Playa Linda and then the water taxi over to Ixtapa Island . The snorkelling beach is straight thru from the beach you land at. Rent at the beach restaurant, water is clear and warm wih lots of fish. lots of lose coral when you first get in.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun change of scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's a narrow beach, but beautiful water and views. Snorkeling was good, and the food excellent! Fish cooked over an open fire, perfectly done.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Place to Cool Off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We took the bus from Zihua to Playa Linda past Ixtapa for a whopping 10 pesos each. BUT the bus driver passed a watering truck on the right and squeezed by him by just a few inches and then our bus driver was pulled over by the police, which is NOT a good thing, especially when it adds at least 20 minutes to your bus ride.
After all that commotion and getting the bus restarted, we headed out again in the broiling heat.
We got off the bus at Playa Linda and saw the crocodiles, lizards and iguanas all behind fences. Then we walked down to the Pier and walked out to catch the little boats that go out to the island called Isla Ixtapa. It cost 40 pesos for the round trip and of course, when you got to the island's beach and were helped out of the boat, you were asked for a few pesos as a tip. I did succumb the first time, but on the way back, I just ignored the request. I had already paid for the ride and didn't need that much help getting out of the boat. REALLY ??
We were told to go to the restaurant called Indio, which we did, after discovering the owner was sitting across from us in the little boat. She showed us to her restaurant and we were there for the day. I would suggest trying another place as all of the 7 or 8 places were very busy. I was overcharged for my tiny glass of juice at 60 pesos. It should have been 20 at the most. But the chicken fajitas were excellent. So if you go to Indio's don't order a juice. They were very nice people there and so any restaurant is fine.
The swimming was fun and the water very refreshing. Wear water shoes though as there were large rocks and sharp shells to avoid. Next to the Indio restaurant, they had all kinds of water toys for rent. We saw jet skis, kayaks, etc. and I would imagine they were all at reasonable rates.
If you wanted to snorkel, you could just walk up over and behind the restaurant to the other side of the island where there was another beach with huge coral reefs. It was so shallow though that we did not venture out so as to not get cut up by the coral, which can be a nasty problem.
You can rent snorkeling gear and go for it if you are so inclined.
I highly recommend this for a day trip, but try to go during the week, as weekends, when we went are extremely busy. And if you have a cooler, take your own beer and snacks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) to your Saves list