We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach - Lots of Locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)

Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Ixtapa
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since its development in 1970, this island has become a man-made paradise and wildlife reserve.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Beach - Lots of Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very nice and quiet in the morning. Get off beach by Noon, or you will be swarmed by vendors every five minutes wanting to sell you something and tons of small kids whose parents must not have a job.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    188
    80
    30
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice little island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were able to get a free ride from Zihua to the docks in Playa Linda; which we had to pay $40 pesos 2 way per person to get to the island. They have like 4 different points in the island where you can stay. We decided to spend the stay snorkeling so we pay about $50 pesos for fins and we head to the water. The variety of fishes was nice, but nothing I ever seen before. However, it was nice to have the experience while in Ixtapa. We ordered few drinks and we got charge a service fee of $40 pesos, but we got the chairs and the umbrellas. Overall, it was a nice day in the water..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great to swim and snorkel, it was calm clear water and you can snorkel either side of the island. You can take your own food and pay for a chair or buy food there and beer or whatever you want to drink. Everyone was very helpful telling us we can take a boat back from either side. Its worth spending a day there

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Came to the island to Snorkel. Friendly people and a great experience. Water was warm and clear and saw plenty of fish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for a day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are staying somewhere in Ixtapa, charter a small boat (cheap with a local) and spend several hours on the island. There is great, incredibly fresh sea food & good snorkeling.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.