We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)

Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 attractions in Ixtapa
Type: Islands
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since its development in 1970, this island has become a man-made paradise and wildlife reserve.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great to swim and snorkel, it was calm clear water and you can snorkel either side of the island. You can take your own food and pay for a chair or buy food there and beer or whatever you want to drink. Everyone was very helpful telling us we can take a boat back from either side. Its worth spending a day there

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    164
    70
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Came to the island to Snorkel. Friendly people and a great experience. Water was warm and clear and saw plenty of fish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for a day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are staying somewhere in Ixtapa, charter a small boat (cheap with a local) and spend several hours on the island. There is great, incredibly fresh sea food & good snorkeling.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicine hat
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing as I went there four times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Snorkelling was great and beach was great. Water was really warm. Beer was priced at about $3 as you had to have ones because the restaurants have all the chairs.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ixtapa island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We took a tour from hotel, really nice snorkelling and great food. Was worthwhile to pay the little bit to have the snorkel guide. We snorkeled later on our own and then we knew where to go in the bay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ixtapa Island (Isla Ixtapa) to your Saves list