We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Ruben's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruben's Hamburgers

Ruben's Hamburgers
Plaza Flamboyant L11, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
775-553-0055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love Ruben's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Ruben's is a bright spot in Ixtapa. After you get tired of Mx style food (even though much of it is very good in Ix) it is great to get a good hamburger. Ruben's is the place. I have tried hamburgers at other restaurants in Ix but Ruben's is the best. Tasty, juicy, good size and good price. Their bacon/cheeseburger comes hot with plenty of cheese and bacon. The french fries are "American" style, hot and plentyful. Their larger burger is big enough for two of us to share. We are in Ix for most of the winter and go to Ruben's once a week for our hamburger fix. The pickled vegies that come before the meal are a little strange but that leaves all the more room for the good stuff. The whole family loves Ruben's

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cariboo Country, BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stopped at Ruben's on our last day in Ixtapa. The burgers were very good as was the service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Charbroiled Burgers and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

my teenage son and i accidentally ended up at Reubens but he was thrilled because it's a burger joint; not so for me but i was hungry. my son had the 150gr sirloin hawaiian witht he pineapple slice while i had the smaller 120gr plain sirloin without cheese. both came with fried onions, lettuce, and tomato.

the burgers had a charbroil taste which is what we like but the beef was okay. i wouldn't say "wow" but it was just okay. i like it how they gave us a bowl of pickled onions, garlic, carrots, and peppers so we can put it in our burgers along with mayo, ketchup, and mustard. we shared a 1/2 side of fries and they were CRUNCHY--the best fried i have had anywhere. it is even better than some french restaurants because it was crunchy and crisp yet not oily. if only they cooked it in duck fat.....uummmmmm....yum!

the service was great...our waitress was wonderful but spoke very little english. the place was clean packed with diners that were mostly hispanics which was a great sign. they had a juke box with the latest music for 10pesos. the place was very airy and cool; not stuffy or warm at all.

we enjoyed our meal here very much....2 burgers, 1/2 order of fries, 1 beer, and 1 fanta with tips was 220 pesos.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

As far as the review from April 29th 2010 goes, my response is 'only a person from Madison WI' knows what a frozen, boxed hamburger from Wal-Mart tastes like.
Ruben's, as always, was wonderful. The charbroiled, bacon, 'Sonoran' cheese' burger was fantastic, and the french fries were cooked to perfection as was the char broiled potato. Anyone who knows anything about Ruben's or who even read the menu or even looked around the restaurant, knows that the beef is fresh, never frozen, from the state of Sonora, char broiled to your liking, it is sad when people make negative comments when they are uneducated about the subject they are writing about. Ruben's employees, food and service is always wonderful & consistent and deserve an A+, if they were not, they would not be located through out Mexico's top tourist's and largests cities.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very good and tastey burger.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

You know it's kind of a little bit of home when you can just enjoy a pretty good hamburger at a descent price. We have been there several times over the years and we are never disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruben's Hamburgers also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Ruben's Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruben's Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.