We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capella Ixtapa to your Saves list
Capella Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Punta Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera II Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Traveling to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This resort is absolutely breathtaking! The rooms all have private balconies with views of the ocean which make it pretty hard to even want to leave the room. It's a very quiet resort which makes it the perfect getaway from reality. The staff is all VERY attentive and are what seems to be more than happy to work there. They have a 4 restaurants to choose from and one bar. We ate of 3 of the restaurants but missed out on the fine dining one. We were there earlier in the week and I believe the restaurant is only open Thurs, Fri, and Sat. There restaurant that serves the fresh catch of the day is Really good though.
There were two downfalls to the the place which was 1-mosquitos. They have complimentary bottles around the hotel, so that indicates just how bad it can get.
2-For me personally, I would of enjoyed a little more music or atmosphere in the evening. After a full day of doing nothing I think some hotel activities as an option would of been nice. They do offer cooking classes and tequila tastings too but it's still pretty low key.
Outside of the resort the town itself was nothing special. I feel like if you've been to one part of Mexico then you've seen it all as far as the style and shopping element. The town was definitely cleaner than most parts of Mexico that I have visited.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    40
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
381
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Capella Ixtapa is an absolutely stunningly gorgeous property. The hotel is built into a cliff facing the ocean and the design is such that anywhere you go within the hotel you will be treated to an absolutely stunning view. Anywhere I went in the hotel I found myself pausing to take in the amazing scenery. This includes the gym, library, lobby, room, etc.

Views aside this resort has many other things going for it:
-Amazing rooms: The bedding is incredibly comfortable, the decor is very classy and authentic, and the materials used are all high quality & natural looking. I was particularly impressed with the flooring. The floors throughout the patios and rooms are some variety of stone but it is a very "soft" stone to walk on and maintains warmth at all hours - wish I knew what the material was.
-Best private outdoor area I've seen at a resort: The private patio is large and has an amazing view of the Pacific. The day bed is extremely comfortable and the patio area has a very good mix of areas where you can get sun or shade depending on preference. The infinity pool was great.
-Daily Tequila tasting in the library and 5pm chips & salsa/guacamole + beer - very nice added touches.
-Main Pool Area - Great lounging chairs & nice pool. It goes without saying for this resort but the view from the pool is stunning.
-Very friendly staff, nice added touches during turndown service including local candies - especially on the last night of the stay.

In addition, we did have minor glitch during our first night in the resort (put in the wrong room - mistakes happen) and the General Manager, Julian, went way above and beyond the call of duty to correct the issue. He genuinely cares about seeing each and every guest leave the property having felt they had a perfect experience and he is one of the most customer focused individuals I have ever interacted with. He turned a situation that had me slightly annoyed into one where I am now a loyal Capella Ixtapa fan. I will most certainly be back.

In terms of the few downsides:
-There are only a few dining options on property. They're good options but I did want a bit more variety. Fortunately downtown Ixtapa is only 3-4 miles away and has many dining options. We rented a car and found driving around Zihuatanejo and Ixtapa to be very easy. On the plus side, this remote local contributes to the views.
-Bikes are a great added touch but the ones we had were difficult to ride and there was only 1 lock. More are on order so this issue should clear itself up. This will be a good improvement as there is a terrific bike path that runs in front of the resort and into downtown Ixtapa.

Both these issues are nitpicks on my part. Definitely not something that would keep me away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This place is truly incredible. The staff was wonderful, the food was delicious, and the facility itself was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed at the Capella Ixtapa for a weekend getaway the beginning of September and the best way to describe the hotel, views and overall experience is wonderful. The hotel and staff are amazing. It truly was all about being spoiled, from the beers with guacuamole each evening to all the amenities poolside. I should say that it rained, HARD, the entire time we were there (my advice stay away from September's rainy season) but we still made the best of it. Decided to hang out on one of the cabana next to the pool one day during the downpour, the cabanas were covered so we thought "why not". Definately was not expecting pool service since we were the only crazy ones down there, but needless to say the pool butler first brought us cucumber margaritas, then strawberry slushies and then apple popsicles. It was very nice and made a rainy day better.
The views are amazing from your room and having a private plunge pool all to yourself was great. Spa was very relaxing, and the massages unbelievable. Everyone on this site said do not get a rental car but we love to have freedom to roam around and I definately say it was worth it. We spent about $100 bucks for 5 days renting from budget at the Zihua airport and traveled to and from Ixtapa or Zihuatanejo whenever we wanted. There are some great restuarants and bars in Zihua so the car actually saved up time and expense overall. We had no problems getting around and felt very safe everywhere we explored.
Tons of wonderful restaurants, we loved Zihuatanejo for the views and restaurant choices. Expuma was amazing, the mgr even took us on a tour and history of the hotel and wine closet. Bar Kokomo in town was fun, bartender very friendly and margarita yummy. Lots of seaside restaurants along the water where all the little fishing boats are located in Zihua, fresh fish is amazing. Just ask the waiter what to get and get what he says, you won't be disappointed.
Overall a great trip and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Wow, we just returned from our honeymoon at Capella and it was incredible!!!

The service was second to none and our room had a breathtaking view. We loved the private pool on our terrace. Every detail was impecable--from the landscaping to the remote that controlled everything including lighting, tv, music, etc. We enjoyed all of the small touches, like the guacamole and beers brought to our room every afternoon at 5. We also liked tasting the complimentary tequila of the night selected by the resort's tequila master.

The resort was especially quiet since it is the rainy season. At times we felt like we were practically the only people there, but that also might be due to the fact that the staff is extremely attentive. The staff called us by name and went above and beyond to satisfy every request we made. The minute we stepped foot on the pool deck, someone would bring an ice bucket with waters and they even openned the salt water pool for us (normally closed this time of year) when we casually expressed interest in it.

The food was delicious and reasonably priced (surprising for such a nice resort!). We ate one meal at the fancier restaurant, A Mares, which is one of the best gourmet meals we have eaten.

We will definitely try to return and highly recommend Capella to any honeymooners or others looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Beyond the massive, ornate entry doors lies a hidden Shangri La, draped on a cliff, cascading 6 levels down to the surf, this hidden gem is the most romantic getaway imaginable. The smiling faces of the eager to please staff are topped only by the best food in the area with outstanding presentation. Spacious rooms with negative edge spa/pools graced our private ocean view patio. Luxurious accommodations make this my number one choice for a honeymoon in Mexico. Search youtube.com for Capella Ixtapa for a video of the surf

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed for 4 nights at this property. It rained for 2.5 of those days, but i still had a wonderful stay. the pool on the patio is the best, and you can have it heated. we used it all the time even though it was raining. the bed is very comfortable and bathroom huge.
the property is about 5min bus ride from Ixtapa, which costs about 80cents or 10. cab ride.
The prices at the restaurant are good. We didnt eat at the restaurant for dinner but the menu looked like it had nice choices. we usually ate in the bar and their cerviches and the hamburger, along with everything else we tried was great. they add a tip to the bill, but that is fine, less math to do and they deserve every penny.
the hotel is situated on a hill, so all rooms have an ocean view. there is no beach, but besides the private pool, there are 2 other pools.
the ocean front have their pools covered by a roof, the deluxe rooms are open to the sun.
there is a nice library and spa and gym and they do yoga also.
this a very romantic place, you wont be dissapointed.
be aware if you go in september there will be mosquitos though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Ixtapa

Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera II Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Ixtapa 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella Ixtapa is a Mexico luxury resort set inside a rock cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The property features suites, private plunge pools, a world-class spa, restaurants, tequila bar, beach wedding locations, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Capella Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa Zihuatanejo
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.