We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, privacy and really good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Ixtapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Capella Ixtapa to your Saves list
Capella Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stunning views, privacy and really good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Each of the 59 suites has it's own infinity, bigger than plunge, pool. All have wonderful ocean views and seem to be completely private.
All the staff were wonderfully friendly. There is a fabulous "fish market" restaurant that you must try, and the Tappas in the bar were enough for a light meal too. Don't fill up on the complimentary chips and guacamole and mini cerveza's room service delivers to your room at about 5pm.
There is a super bike path that loops to Playa Linda and back that takes about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how fit you are. The little gym at the hotel is adequate. The spa was really good. Loved the exfoliating foot bath before the massage began.
Take a cab to Playa Ropa with swimsuits and towels and spend a few hours there and eat at one of the restraunt's on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    33
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
350
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been the the Capella Pedregal in Cabo so we were not hestitant to try their Ixtapa property. The Cabo resort is just wonderful. This Ixtapa property is a little different from Cabo - but certainly not in a bad way. It is smaller (about 60 suites) and it is QUIET - except for the waves crashing (not too loud, just perfect). It is built for couples only - all king beds, no connecting rooms. If you dont like the person you go there with, you are going to have a miserable time. Our room (deluxe) was PERFECT. All of the bedrooms are pretty much the same size with great bathroom/dressing room areas. The difference in most rooms if the size of the terrace, which is a total extension of the room. Ours was large, with a huge bed for lounging, sunning, etc along with a 4 foot deep large plunge pool. The main pool is beautiful, but we spent only one day there. Otherwise we were in our room and ventured out for breakfast and dinner. It was actually funny. The entire terrace faced the Pacific and it was easy to just lounge in and out of the water starring for hours at the sheer beauty of the setting - along with the whales that would come by. We tried eating in town (Ixtapa and Zihua) a few times, but it was always extremely disappointing - extremely. I would write reviews on the restaurants but they were all bad in our opinion. However, the food at Capella is truly five star - so - why bother with eating in town when you are guaranteed a great meal at the resort. (See separate reveiw on Sea Food Market). What makes this resort truly spectacular is the staff - from the housekeepers to maintanance staff to wait staff to management - their sole purpose is the guest. When the waiter asks if your room is okay, it is becuase they really want to know. Because if something is wrong, they are going to get it taken care of for you. And now for the real gem, along with the general staff - the Executive Chef, Alexander Barnard. Amazing personality and you can see it when he interacts with his staff - they love him, and he loves them. If you want a special meal, it is his pleasure to do it for you. And,he is a fabulous Chef. If you want to eat at a particular part of the resort (not in one of the restaurants), he will do it for you. If it is not on the menu, ask. If they do not have what they need to prepare it, they will get it for another evening for you. Chef Alex prepared a paella for us one evening (at our request) and served it on our terrace which was an extremely romantic setting. He didnt just prepare it, he came up to our suite a few times to make sure everything was to our liking - and it was perfect. If you want something as simple as a pizza, he will make sure you have it. The food from roomservice is great, and the menu for breakfast and lunch is not only interesting, but the food is fabulous. By the way, we never waited longer than 25 minutes for anything from room service.

I would recommend Capella Ixtapa to anyone who is tired, needs to relax, wants lots of romance and great room and food. Of course, there are plenty of activities that they will be happy to arrange, from diving/ snorkeling trips to fishing trips to whale watch ing excursions. We just happen to choose to do nothing but relax on this one. It was PERFECT.

So, did we like the resort? We did something we have never done before. After our week, we were packed to leave for the airport. We simply decided that we were not ready. Four phone calls later (airline, Chef Alex, office, dog kennel :) ), we extended our stay for another week. An amazing place that we will return to.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and all have pretty much the same view. It depends on what type of terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This review is really late- nearly a year late!!! I did send a review directly to the hotel and forgot to mention something here....

This is one of the most beautiful and romantic places. It really is suited for couples who want to do pretty much nothing but relax, eat, drink, and enjoy the peace and beauty of the resort. The food in the restaurant is out of the world, the evening tastings as delightful, and the staff is over the top in catering to your every need. Just a wonderful place to forget the rest of the world, if only for a few days!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I had intended to go to Cancun, and after looking at many reviews here, learned of some issues with theft/safety in Cancun and rerouted to Ixtapa. Also, we were looking for a peaceful adult getaway, with no children and no partying. We couldn't have made a better decision, as it was the best vaca we've ever been on (Hawaii and Costa Rica had been our favorites up until this)! We have never been made to feel so special! The staff genuinely made us feel as though it was a pleasure to serve us, and all of them went above and beyond what we expected.

We had a taxi arranged by Capella to pick us up at the airport and drive us to the resort, which was about 20-25 minutes away. There are juices and some fruits at the front reception area, and we were taken on a quick tour of the property by Juan Carlos, then to our fantastic room, with a flower design on the bed, balloons in celebration of our birthdays/anniversary, a welcome letter and a tray of dry fruits/chilis that were delicious!

We unpacked, walked out to the terrace, breathed in the fantastic view and felt the warm breezes, and knew we had made the right choice to have stayed here. We walked around a bit and saw the outdoor areas of the resort, the gym and the spa. The gym had everything we needed, including a fantastic view of the ocean!

At around 5 pm, they bring tortilla chips and guacamole to each room. Normally they bring a couple bottles of beer as well, but we're not beer drinkers so we opted out of those and instead they brought us iced teas. Early evening, we went to the Terrace Bar to eat, and we agree with many other reviewers here - the food is pretty expensive. Of course, there is a magical ocean view from this location, but we had two orders of sopes (three in each order), two mojitos, two iced teas and it was about $70 U. S. dollars. The sopes are not tortilla size, but slightly bigger than silver dollars and were filled with beans, a sprinkling of chorizo, lettuce, cream and cheese.

We later ended up taking a taxi into Ixtapa to the "Super Mercado" and bought a few snacks to munch on between meals, as there really is nothing within walking distance and no vending machines or small gift shop with snack items. There are fruits/apples in the front reception area and in the gym, along with bottles of water in the gym as well.

In the early evening, housekeeping provides a turn-down service, where they place a little towel rug on each side of the bed, refresh water bottles and water cups, empty trashes and replace towels/washcloths. A nice touch!

We chose a package that included a full breakfast. It was not what we expected (which was a buffet-style breakfast with bacon, sausage, pancakes, etc.), but it was good, and it was plenty. There were two menu choices: One which included eggs made to order, a fresh fruit plate, beans and potatoes/vegetables; and another which consisted of cereal/yogurt, local sweet breads and fruit. They also made reasonable substitutions.

We stayed a week during the last half of February and ended up mostly lounging on the terrace and pool, working out in the gym, taking bike rides to the nearby beach on the bikes provided by the resort and ordering room service. The weather was perfect for us (high 80's low 90's), with a warm breeze.

Some of our favorite things:

The service!

Our 24-7 Personal Assistant, who communicated with us via email a few days prior to our arrival, with any special requests we might have.

Of course, the private terrace/plunge pool and the ocean view. We chose the infinity edge pool, and our terrace had some shade/some sun.

The fact we never saw any children at the resort. Although children are allowed, this, in our opinion, is not the place to bring your kids. The grounds and the elevator are not child friendly, and while we were here, it appeared to be mostly adult couples that stay here. It's also definitely not a party atmosphere, but more a relaxing romantic getaway!

No check-in/check-out time restrictions.

Large walk-in shower with a little bench and a view of the ocean.

Complimentary internet access.

24-Hour Room Service.

Small refrigerator stocked with drinks/juices/water.

One day we went to Ixtapa, which was "meh", and one day we went to Zihuatanejo, where we were able to get some delicious authentic Mexican food at Tamales y Atoles and do some shopping for souvenirs.

Some examples of the fantastic service: One afternoon we went to Las Rocas to eat. We asked the waiter, Carlos Guzman, if they had Tres Leches cake. He said it was not on the menu, but he would arrange to have it brought to the resort so that we could enjoy it the next day. He ended up taking it personally to our room. One night, we were craving a Costa Rican rice dish called Gallo Pinto. It's not on their menu, but Chef Alex made it for us and it was brought to our room. When we called for room service, if we ordered something a certain way the day before, they just confirmed we wanted it cooked the same way, and it was done. Cruz, the bellman, was always there to help with the bikes, brought us waters before we rode off, gave us tips about the area, told us about the architecture of the property, and made us feel like family.

On our last day magical day, we watched a whale playing in the ocean from our terrace. When it was time to go, Cruz wrapped beautiful white ribbons around our luggage handles which made it easy to spot at the airport, and as the taxi driver drove us off the property, one of the staff was standing at the gates, smiling and waving good bye! Capella Resort and Staff are fantastic, and we would highly recommend this resort!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Husband and I love this hotel, is the second time we come to this beautiful place, and as always the service, the amenities, the food, everything was fantastic.
We spend a great few days in January and I just want to take time to recognized the excellent service and said thank you to the amazing team at Capella that have exceeded our expectations.
By far this is the best hotel in Ixtapa for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am sitting in a Penthouse room writing this review. Rooms are clean and well appointed with fantastic views of the Pacific Ocean. We have been here just about 48hrs of a 7 night stay. Feels like we have been here longer, very relaxing and have felt very welcome by the entire staff of Capella. We booked this room with every 3rd night free and added the breakfast and airport transfers, money well spent. Pick up was swift and hassle free! As other review has stated you can expect to spend about $150 - $200 a day on food and beverage. A bottle of water at dinner will cost you $8.50 and a Margarita $12.50 sparkling water is a little less. Snacks, coffee and tea at Library are very good and readily available. If your looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We chose the Capella Ixtapa because we wanted a quiet relaxing break, without crowds and without the "all-inclusive" mentality. We had a fabulous stay. The views are amazing, the food was great, and the staff, all of the staff, couldn't be nicer. The rooms were very nice, very clean, and the servicing was excellent. Highlights include the seafood restaurant for dinner (walk up and pick your fish), complimentary tequila in the library each evening, and the friendliness of the staff. It's definitely not a cheap place to stay (plan on $200/day for food and drink), but it is worth it.
One tip for breakfast - we had a package that included American breakfast each morning. This is shown on the menu (fruit, juice, eggs, coffee, etc.), but when we asked, we were allowed to substitute anything on the menu for no charge.
We took a taxi into Zihuatanejo for a dinner a couple of nights and went to restaurants recommended by the hotel, all good. Being Mexico, we were a little concerned about security in Zihuatanejo, but we had no problems and wouldn't hesitate to wander around.
We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a Deluxe room , it costs a little more, but you get sunshine on your deck and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Ixtapa

Address: Paseo Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Ixtapa 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella Ixtapa is a Mexico luxury resort set inside a rock cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The property features suites, private plunge pools, a world-class spa, restaurants, tequila bar, beach wedding locations, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Capella Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa Zihuatanejo
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.