We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN IXTAPA !!!! IT IS JUST PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Ixtapa

Save Saved
You added Capella Ixtapa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capella Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN IXTAPA !!!! IT IS JUST PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Husband and I love this hotel, is the second time we come to this beautiful place, and as always the service, the amenities, the food, everything was fantastic.
We spend a great few days in January and I just want to take time to recognized the excellent service and said thank you to the amazing team at Capella that have exceeded our expectations.
By far this is the best hotel in Ixtapa for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    31
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
326
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am sitting in a Penthouse room writing this review. Rooms are clean and well appointed with fantastic views of the Pacific Ocean. We have been here just about 48hrs of a 7 night stay. Feels like we have been here longer, very relaxing and have felt very welcome by the entire staff of Capella. We booked this room with every 3rd night free and added the breakfast and airport transfers, money well spent. Pick up was swift and hassle free! As other review has stated you can expect to spend about $150 - $200 a day on food and beverage. A bottle of water at dinner will cost you $8.50 and a Margarita $12.50 sparkling water is a little less. Snacks, coffee and tea at Library are very good and readily available. If your looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We chose the Capella Ixtapa because we wanted a quiet relaxing break, without crowds and without the "all-inclusive" mentality. We had a fabulous stay. The views are amazing, the food was great, and the staff, all of the staff, couldn't be nicer. The rooms were very nice, very clean, and the servicing was excellent. Highlights include the seafood restaurant for dinner (walk up and pick your fish), complimentary tequila in the library each evening, and the friendliness of the staff. It's definitely not a cheap place to stay (plan on $200/day for food and drink), but it is worth it.
One tip for breakfast - we had a package that included American breakfast each morning. This is shown on the menu (fruit, juice, eggs, coffee, etc.), but when we asked, we were allowed to substitute anything on the menu for no charge.
We took a taxi into Zihuatanejo for a dinner a couple of nights and went to restaurants recommended by the hotel, all good. Being Mexico, we were a little concerned about security in Zihuatanejo, but we had no problems and wouldn't hesitate to wander around.
We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a Deluxe room , it costs a little more, but you get sunshine on your deck and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I left Capella yesterday and I thought I'd write my review while the sound of the waves breaking is still fresh in my mind. I was there for a week and it was truly a fantastic experience. The staff, facilities, pool, food, everything was just what you'd want a relaxing tropical vacation to be.

Read all the great reviews. Here a couple things I wish I'd known or would do differently:
1. Don't book the Capella transportation from the airport. Turns out, they don't allow city cabs to pick up fares at the airport so the cheapest option is off the table. There are car companies who will swarm you as you leave baggage claim and offer you a ride as well as tours during your stay. I was able to get a ride to Capella for $41 which was much less than the $100 the hotel charges but more than the $32 I paid in a city cab on the way back.

2. Don't sweat the room. All rooms at Capella face the ocean and all have private plunge pools. Some are "infinity" some not but who cares. The upper floors are nice both for the view and privacy. I preferred the rooms closer to the fresh water pool (rather than those on the other side of the resort which were closer to the salt water pool) but don't think you can go wrong. Unfortunately, we had a smoker on the balcony beneath us and their smoke billowed into our room but, in true Capella style, they were happy to move us to an alternate room.

3. Think twice on the spa - I enjoyed the spa but, thought that $200 for an hour massage was expensive. The complementary steam and sauna may not be exactly what you had in mind after laying in the sun but they were nice and obviously under utilized.

4. Get to the gym early - the small gym was jammed and the limited machines all taken from 9-11 so plan to be there early if you go.

5. Take a cooking class - Alex Branch is the very talented chef at Capella who has returned after working at the Capella location in Cabo the last few years. We spent a morning with him shopping at the Central market in Zihuatanejo and then watched him transform our purchases into a great private lunch. If you like to cook its a great chance to see a master and to ask questions.

6. Bring wine - if you like wine, bring your own. The restaurants both allow you to bring in wine to enjoy with your meal and only charge a small corkage charge. They'll even store it for you in their cellar if you like. Like so much of Mexico, the restaurant wine lists are limited and contain mostly Mexican and South American varietals.

7. Enjoy the complementary coffee, danish and fruit in the library each morning - for us it was enough breakfast and incurred no additional fees.

8 Leave your cell phone behind - our single biggest annoyance was a couple who insisted on having a loud, protracted cell phone conversation while we attempted to relax poolside. One night at the Fish Market restaurant we watched a couple stare into their respective Iphones through 4 courses in one of the world's most romantic locations. Make a pact to check your phone twice a day then TURN IT OFF.

9. Visit Zihuatanejo - the cab ride from Capella is 320 pesos round trip and, while we found few great buys, visiting the central market, seeing the seaport and eating posole at Tamales y Atoles Any were fun, cheap and we felt very safe.

10. Relax - as so many have said Its not kid friendly, its not stuffed full of activities, its not all you can eat buffets. Its romantic, quiet relaxation and I'd go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: See above all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Capella Ixtapa, the service was impeccable, the food was outstandig. My wife is allergic to shellfish so they made special meals for her.
The rooms are stunning.
The staff was unbelievable, they were fun, knowledgeable and accommodating, there was such genuine warmth there.
I can't say enough good things about Capella Ixtapa.
We would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My son his wife and my daughter and boyfriend together gave us a night here at the Capella. All I can say is that is the WOW factor. We had our own plunge pool huge bathroom,huge bedroom pillows to die for. The food and service were nothing we had ever had before and truly appreciate the gift from our kids. I highly recommend this place at least once in your lifetime.

Room Tip: I think all the room are good, they face the ocean and you can go to sleep listening to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We recently returned from a 6 night stay Capella Ixtapa. Like the other reviewers, difficult to find much fault in the stay and service was excellent in almost all cases.

Room - We stayed in a Deluxe Oceanfront Suite on the 4th of 6 floors. The Deluxe Room has an infinity pool and outdoor couch/lounger. If you want sun on your balcony, you should book the Deluxe Room. The 4th floor had a spectacular view. We recommend staying on the side of the resort where the main pool and breakfast is located. We initially had a room on the opposite side and experienced some A/C noise issues and, after changing rooms, no noise on the balcony which was important to us + additional privacy + slightly better views although both sides of the resort have great views.

Dining - We did not leave the resort for any of the 6 nights. We tried all the options at the hotel. We were interested in pricing since some reviewers said costs were high so I will try to provide some estimates. A Mares is the high-end restaurant inside and higher up in the hotel. The menu is fix-priced at $70 per person which includes 4 courses. Wine by the bottle ranges from ~$50 bottle up to $200+. All restaurants also have 5-6 wines by the glass available as well (not on the menu, but you can ask for the selection) - $12-$15 glass for those that we ordered. We spent two nights at the Seafood Restaurant which sits below the main pool right above the water/waves - all outdoor tables. The meals here are 3 Courses. The first two courses are set - i.e. soup and salad / appetizer. The main course is selected from the fresh fish available and you pay by the weight and comes with your choice of 2 sides. We found the prices very reasonable considering you receive 3 courses and spent $30-$40 per person - alcohol extra. We had breakfast included in our package but if you had juice, granola or fruit, and and egg main dish look to spend $25-$30 per person. The terrace bar is a great spot if you are not too hungry or just want one course - we spent one night there for sushi and dessert ($35 total for 2 rolls + churros for dessert). Some of the best sushi we have had. You must stop in the bar after or before dinner a couple nights to enjoy a drink overlooking the ocean/stars. Relaxing music and very comfortable chairs set a great atmosphere. Room service/pool menu is very good and generally runs from $10-$18 for orders. After 6/7 days, we found the pool menu pretty limited but you can order just about anything you want and they will take care of your request without question (enchiladas, chips and dip, etc.). Pool drinks are generally $11-$15. We found the Pina Coladas particularly good.

Pools - there are two main pools. We split our days between one of the main pools and our room, usually heading to the room around 3:30 every day. We spent only a short time - less than an hour - at the less-visited "saltwater" pool that sits closer to the water. We had some bug issues and it was slightly noisier from mechanical equipment on that side of the hotel and we were seeking as quiet as surroundings as possible. The rest of the time was spent at the higher up pool that you see in most of the pictures. The lounge chairs are very comfortable and pool attendants will move your umbrella with the sun to keep you shaded all day if you want to stay out of the sun. We never had any issue with finding a lounger and on the busiest days maybe 1/2 of the loungers were taken. The vast majority of guests were quiet and reading by the pool which kept the experience relaxing.

Misc. - We had the hotel arrange for the transport from the airport - $107 USD round trip when we booked. The hotel arranges for a taxi cab. You may be paying a slight premium for this convenience but they do have someone meet you outside of customs which makes the transition less hectic/stressful if you have never visited before. The person who meets you will escort you to a taxi and everything is added to the room bill. We also had a spa treatment which was very professional and well done/relaxing. A couple times we experienced difficulty with finding waitstaff by the pool, but nothing too significant, and found that it really depending on who was working that particular day - a couple of the staff were truly outstanding and always seemed to be nearby to help. It would be great if you did not need to sign for every bill, but again, not a big deal. Service at breakfast was excellent.

This is overall an excellent place to relax and enjoy different/exciting food. The setting is gorgeous and the great service and many thoughtful extras built into the experience really make it memorable. We would recommend and will be adding this to our list to visit again.

Room Tip: If you are on the 4th Floor on the main side of the resort, you cannot beat the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Ixtapa

Address: Paseo Playa Linda, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Ixtapa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella Ixtapa is a Mexico luxury resort set inside a rock cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The property features suites, private plunge pools, a world-class spa, restaurants, tequila bar, beach wedding locations, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Venere, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Capella Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa Zihuatanejo
Capella Ixtapa Hotel Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.