We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Evening at the Marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Galeon

El Galeon
Marina Ixtapa, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
(755) 553-2150
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 74 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Romantic Evening at the Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed an evening of good service and good food at El Galeon. He had the Beef Medallion and I a pasta dish. Both meals as well as the Calamari (along with the chipotle tartar sauce) were very good. The atmosphere of the marina is very romantic. it was a bit warm at first, but they were able to turn on a few fans to get the air moving. We enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice Setting and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went to El Galeon for dinner. The bill was $45 US dollars for dinner + $40 for a nice bottle of wine. My husband had the tenderloin steak with mustard sauce and he liked it very much. Though the first time it came out very rare and he had to send it back to get it medium. I had the El Galeon soup which was great. The Caesar salads were also good. The marina setting was pleasant and the service was super friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We've been visiting El Galeon (located at the Marina) for a number of years. The advent of all-inclusive resorts in Ixtapa has taken a heavy toll on this restaurant (and many of the others here at the Marina and elsewhere). On this most recent visit, we were well pleased with the menu, the quality and the service. The setting is very nice as well!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“the breakfast was stellar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

once again I visited el galleon in ixtapa this time for breakfast. the atmosphere is top drawer it is a wooded structure like an old ship overlooking the marina and the boats very romantic or just plain interesting eye candy...they have some great rejuvenating drinks as well as wonderful omelettes and traditional American style breakfast home made jam and awesome coffee priced no more than anywhere else around here a bargain considering the quality of food and the view

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Good Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice atmosphere at the Marina. The food was good but a over-priced simply because you are at the Marina.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Galeon also viewed

 

Been to El Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Galeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.