We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, a glorious location and a terrific base to explore the lakes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascina Cesarina B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borgo Ticino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascina Cesarina B&B
Save
You added Cascina Cesarina B&B to your Saves list
dei Cesari 32 | Frazione Gagnago, 28040 Borgo Ticino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Borgo Ticino B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hosts, a glorious location and a terrific base to explore the lakes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Family holiday to the Lakes, our first time to Lake Maggiore, a beautiful part of Italy with so much to offer. Our hosts Lorraine and Franco at Cascina Cesarina were absolutely lovely, Lorraine is multi-lingual which is so helpful to us Brits with no language skills! She will provide delicious, organic home produced meals if you wish or you have the choice of eating out locally of course. Lorraine's knowledge of local eateries is very useful as is the choice to eat at Cascina Cesarina or find a restaurant, especially after a long day travelling! Our hosts extensive knowledge of the region and Italian culture not to mention travelling tips really were so valuable, not something you would get at an average B&B that's for sure. The rooms are lovely and the child-safe swimming pool was much enjoyed by us all. We can thoroughly recommend Cascina Cesarina as an outstanding B&B with a warm welcome and very engaging hosts.

Clare, Howard, Emily and Benjamin

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you all had a great time - though I know you parents sometimes needed all your persuasion skills to get the children to abandon the dogs and the swimming pool to go touring! But I'm glad the weather was great throughout your stay, so you could get in swimming in the lakes too, between monuments and churches! And I'm glad you all enjoyed our home-cooked meals, as well as the restaurants and pizzeria I pointed you to - we try hard to meet everyone's tastes, as we know from experience that even within a family of four, there are likely to be widely varying preferences. We'd love to have you again - next time you could fit in the Lago Maggiore Express tour you had planned but in the end didn't make, and an organized walk in the mountain wilderness area where we know a guide...... there is always lots to tempt people back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Findhorn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

English family with 2 boys. We stayed with Lorraine and Franco for 2 nights. They kindly cooked us lovely evening italian meals with warm and friendly discussions whilst entertaining our boys as well. The pool, garden and bonus basketball court are all ideal for kids and relaxing (after a long drive). The bedroom/en suite bathroom was clean and full of nostalgia... but a tight squeeze for a family of four.
Their home is a little bit off the main roads... but well worth the extra few miles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you all enjoyed your stay with us - Italian dinners and English-style breakfasts are usually highly popular all round! The boys certainly found plenty to keep them busy between basketball, swimming and playing with the dogs! And that was without trying out the ping pong table, bowls.....etc!
I am sorry you found the room "a squeeze" - guests using the divan bed as well as the main double bed and the single usually like to close the former each morning for extra space - and they don't spend much time in the bedroom anyway, as there is so much to do outdoors and so many sights to see. We think the room has really gained by having a new ensuite bathroom rather than sharing, as was previously the case, even if this has meant losing a little floor space. Again, we kept the wardrobe and chest of drawers so all clothes/toys can be put away and no-one need 'live out of a suitcase' while with us. We hope to see you again, maybe for a longer stay and not just a 'stopover'. For longer stays, some families like to take both bedrooms, so sleeping next door to one another, but each with their own space.... and we do very special deals for 7-day bookings of both rooms, even in high season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Even though we had a short stay it was altogether wonderful:
the location is beautiful - with the forest just at the door of the B&B
- and with the swimming pool in it!

The warmth of the owners, and therefore of the general atmosphere is
very welcoming and put us at our ease immediately. An exemplary B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. You were also very pleasant guests - good practice for my French too! I am glad you enjoyed dinner with us, and discovering vegetables new to you, such as our 'spaghetti' or 'kilometre' green beans - I was especially proud of the outcome of my dessert experiment with forest fruits topped by three different-flavoured mousses, using more of our own ingredients, which everyone loved - hoped you had photographed that too. Will have to repeat and photograph myself for our Facebook page! Now you have 'discovered' us as a useful stopover before early flights out of Milan Malpensa, we hope to see you again as Lake District tourists - there are so many beautiful things to see that you did not have time for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Casina Ceserina over the Summer, the house is beautiful, cosy and has a wonderful home-like feel. The host, Lorraine is very friendly and pointed out some fun things to visit in the area. I particularly enjoyed the train trip through the mountains to Locarno, Switzerland which ended with a wonderful three hour boat ride back down Lake Maggiore to Arona. Ceserina is only a 30 minute drive away from the airport and is very close to Lake Maggiore and Orta. Lorraine's home cooked Italian food is amazing, and I particularly love the fact it is all made from their own home-grown organic vegetables. This place is special and I would definitely return again. Thank you Lorraine and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for your very positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that my tip to go for the Lago Maggiore Express tour of the lake by scenic railway and boat has created a lasting memory - great for photography enthusiasts such as yourself, too. We hope you will return in future - you could try late autumn for special colours and our polenta with mushrooms from our woods cooked over the wood stove, or Spring to enjoy the azaleas and rhododendrons in our garden but especially in the many gardens around the lakes which are open to the public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Norwegian family with 3 kids stayed for 3 nights in August. The kids enjoyed the pool, table tennis and the dogs, and they are still talking about Lorraines pasta! The food was great, and we all enjoyed the proximity to Laggio Maggiore. We really appreciated the meals together with the family, and would like to visit the place again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We love having friendly and lively families such as yourselves to stay, and it is nice that you enjoyed all the facilities to the full: pool and swing, ping pong and basket ball hoop, and that the children enjoyed playing with the dogs and cats, who always appreciate younger visitors! Hope to see you again some time, and will have new pasta dishes for you to try, as well as our usual home-grown organic fruit and vegetable dishes, and other local specialities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

After some difficulty locating the house tucked away under an archway we were delighted to discover this enchanting family friendly B&B. Lorraine, Franco and Matteo were charming and generous hosts and our girls age 5 and 3 immediately fell in love with the dogs, cats and garden. In fact we had to drag them away to explore the stunning Lake Maggiore and surrounding areas. Lorraine was a font of local knowledge and helped us plan our tours so that there was something for all the family.
Overall we had a delightful break, enjoyed great food(including Franco's home made jams) and local ice-cream. We would certainly revisit this beautiful part of Italy and would recommend Cascina Cesarina to families especially with small children.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuravidaPlaya, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay - and the weather proved you made a great choice - the summer season is getting longer and longer, and you really enjoyed seeing the Lakes with all the sunshine but less of the crowds! We loved having you too, and your children were really delightful. Apologies for the animals - they are always so popular (together with the swimming pool in high summer) that it makes getting away to go touring more difficult than if you were staying in an anonymous hotel.... but then, taking things easy is part of what holidays are about. Come back again and see the Borromeo islands that you didn't manage to see this time around - guaranteed the children will love the silver peacock chicks, even if they are still young to appreciate the incredible history of the Palace and its beautiful ballroom, furniture, paintings etc....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days and loved it! We had some delicious home grown food made by Lorraine (the host) and also enjoyed trips to local pizzeria's and ice cream parlours. Great location to visit the beautiful island of Orta, and also close (driving) to Milan and Lake Maggoire.

Overall perfect holiday, made special by the hosts and house.

Steph and Neil

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Proprietario at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thanks for your kind words. We're always pleased to give advice on local eateries as well as unmissable sights, and happy when our home-grown organic fruit and vegetables are appreciated. The last few days have been less manic than August, and we have been able to dedicate time to preparing delicious fig and chocolate jam, as well as melanzane alla parmigiana, which I remember you really liked (into the freezer for autumn guests now!) and today it's peach jam time..... they'll be waiting for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascina Cesarina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Cesarina B&B

Address: dei Cesari 32 | Frazione Gagnago, 28040 Borgo Ticino, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Borgo Ticino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Borgo Ticino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our country house (Dinner), Bed and Breakfast is strategically placed for touring the Italian Lakes, for overnight stays on arrival at or before departing from Milan Malpensa airport. Also convenient for business travellers to Milan or Milan trade fairs. Our two guest bedrooms with private bathrooms were restyled in April 2011 and both offer comfort in antique style. Our meals use fruit and vegetables we grow ourselves and we shop ethically at local organic farms/through fair trade etc. Italian and international cooking, vegetarian, gluten-free specialized... we'll do things just how you want them! We also love making super-healthy juices and smoothies, as extra snacks or as meal replacements - with our own fruit and veg and/or with exotic and superfood additions. Children welcome, as are well-mannered pets. We speak English, Italian, French and Spanish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cascina Cesarina B&B Borgo Ticino, Italy - Province Of Novara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascina Cesarina B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.