We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papaya Surf Beach Hotel

Papaya Surf Beach Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papaya Surf Beach Hotel
Save
You added Papaya Surf Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Playa Zicatela, Puerto Escondido, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
rishon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

this is an a amazing place! the owners and the staff are amazing people they helped me with everything from the first second i got to puerto untill i left, i came puerto to surf, i was living there 3 months and it was so good no other place like papaya surf in the world...the owners such good people and all the staff as well the place is beutiful with many beutiful trees and plants i was in a room with a/c (i loved my ac!) and it also has a ceiling fan, so good at nights i put the ac on for 1 hour and turn it off and put the fan when the room is cold and go to sleep so good...the room is very beutiful and clean and the ladies there are wonderful allways smiling! allways helps with any thing you need and cleane your room change your bed sheets put fresh towels , 1 day they left the room all clean and tidy put all my things in place (by evening i did a mass again ha ha) and even put a beutiful flower on the table (:
the window has a mosqito net - very good one ! (tip- remember to close the room door for them not to come in at all) also they have a very nice man that stays there at nights to see that all is good and if you need help he will halp you even late at night.
the price was very good, exellent value of money atmosphere was really something and also fun to meet other visitors in the hotel. beutiful place very good price very good room amazing people what more can i say? i want to come back! ha ha

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 8 days on a trip through Mexico from New Zealand and it was one of the nicest places we stayed in all of Mexico. It was just what we were looking for in terms of a relaxed environment, all the essentials and wonderful staff and housekeepers. We often left our room a bit of a shambles and always returned to find the beds made and bathrooms clean and tidy.
The restaurant below served fantastic food and great coffee. Thank you so much for making Puerto our top location. We will be back to stay with you :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Im travelling with a friend. We got a twin bed room just $200 me ixan pesos each one with kitchen and an excellent bathroom. Only the rooms in the first floor have a kitchen and if u get one of this you can save money from eating in restaurants. There is a supermarket nearby cheaper than every where else called "super che" and if you are surfer is the best spot to start the day. Right across the street you find one of the best spots to surf on earth. Also they clean your room everyday because is a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I would describe this facility as the perfect balance between hotel and hostel. The rooms have the hostel feel. Sparsely decorated, functional. There is an assumption that you will be spending your days surfing, not sitting in your room and watching TV and ordering room service. After all, the beach begins right across the street, and you can see the ocean from just about anywhere in the hotel.

We stayed here two nights in July. It seems to be about 1/3 full. The Terrazzo bar is evidently only used in high season, but the downstairs bar/cafe has been busy.

We got an air conditioned room, but it malfunctioned the second night so the front desk let us sleep in a different room without actually moving all of our stuff! Very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Like most any place, you should visually inspect rooms to make sure you are getting what you want. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I moved to this hotel after having a couple of horrible nights in a hotel nearby. The owners are really friendly and let me check in first thing in the morning. The fan operated rooms are spacious, clean, cool and anti mosquito! The hotel is opposite the beach, yet noise proof from the parties in the evening. There is a night watch man which I appreciated as I was a solo traveller. Brilliant value for money, highly reccomend for those that are looking for a simple place to crash and chill in between surfing / beach / exploring area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed at papaya surf for 8 nights, it was great. Everything just great. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I traveled with my two best friends and stayed for 10 days. If you are traveling only with girls this is a good hostel to stay at, security is really good, there's a nice old guy who stays all night to make sure only guests come in. The rooms are very clean and spacious, the hammock outside the rooms is so good to relax and read a good book. There's also so many flowers inside the hostel. The pool is small but it does its function quite well. The location is perfect, you just have to walk across the street to get to the beach, everything is walking distance and they help you set up surfing lessons!
The employees are super nice, our bus left at 8pm and the nice Italian owner let us stayed until we left at no charge!
Next time we're in P.E. this is our stop for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papaya Surf Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaya Surf Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Zicatela, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papaya Surf Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.