We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EL MANA

EL MANA
Zicatela | Calle Del Morro (beachside), Puerto Escondido, Mexico
9545822966
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the best restaurant along the beach, ate here every night because the food is so fresh, good variety especially vegetarian dishes for me, excellent service from all staff and well priced.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    18
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, awesome staff, and awesome owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Ate here several times on our trip. Fantastic pizza, pasta, and Italian pastries! Highly recommend this place. Owner (Franco) is from Italy...high energy, passionate, personal, and knows his food well! Great place to relax and eat on the back deck during sunset and watch the surfers.. Restaurant is right on the beach!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“had a good birthday dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love pizza and I got a pizza date here for my birthday. Pizza in Mexico is a risk but they did a good job with our shrimp pizza. It was also right on the beach which was a plus!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like a beach breakfast? Fruit plate?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Here's a wonderful place to stop and have breakfast in you're in the Zicatela area. We enjoyed some huevos and then a fruit plate with separate granola, yoghurt and fruit. Fresh honey is available. Outstanding! Throw in some of the world's most rigorous surfing waves and the guys and girls that tackle them and you have a great start to the day! Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was recommended to us by Puerto residents and we enjoyed their pizza. The crusts were a bit thick for my tastes and the toppings as well, but the patio and service were lovely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL MANA also viewed

Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to EL MANA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EL MANA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.