We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Carrizalillo

Save Saved
You added Villas Carrizalillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas Carrizalillo
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ave. Carrizalillo No. 125, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 hotels in Puerto Escondido
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The Villas Carrizalillo is beautiful with access to a great beach. The on- site restaurant is very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Many speak both English and Spanish. Terrace bar is great place to watch sunsets; great bar tender. The Villas are beautiful, many with private terraces and ocean views. On- site owners. Well managed and maintained.

Room Tip: Check out their web sites rooms are accurately photographed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    22
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We first stayed at Villas Carrizalillo in early 2013, and then returned in late 2013 to finalize plans for our destination wedding. We held our rehearsal / welcome dinner at Villas Carrizalillo and our wedding at Bacocho beach.

What to say? Villas Carrizalillo has an incredibly friendly staff, idyllic setting, delectable food, and is an absolute heaven. The owner Amy was unbelievably helpful as we planned our event. Between friends and family we had the whole B&B rented out for a few days and it was a dream. We will be returning year after year!

Room Tip: We loved Villa Colorado. Villa Escondido is also very romantic. For families, try Londres or Oaxaca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent the end of 2013 and the first day of 2014 here enjoying the delicious seafood at the restaurant, the detail to attention in the well designed villa, and the outdoor spaces to sit, have a drink or swim overlooking the beautiful Playa. It is a beautiful spot away from the traffic of tourists and the beach is gentle and ideal for swimming. The staff were very hospitable and generous with their time and efforts and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A delightful 4 days, wish it had been more. Outdoor bar was a small gathering place for some some surfing expats living in area. We stayed in two rooms, both of which were perfect. Only complaint was that our trip could have been longer. Hope to get back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great views, delicious food at Espadin and friendly staff. The villa's were homely and we stayed in the one built into the cliff which was great. Short stroll down the stairs to the beach and nice evening deck by the restaurant for cocktails. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed in Villa Florencia for 7 days in early August. Absolutely breathtaking view from our room. The staff was so nice, reserving a flight back to Oaxaca after a harrowing 8 hour drive down, and getting us local taxis and other services whenever we needed it. Kitchen is such a plus, and the local supermarket has everything you want. Some comments:
If you pay in cash, you get a 10% discount.
The steps going down to the beach can be really challenging in certain areas if you are not physically fit. More than a notion to have to go back up if you have forgotten something, but the view from your room above is worth it.
We ended up spending every day under one of the palm umbrellas in front of the "snack shop" closest to the steps. The family that runs this could not be nicer: lovely food (fresh fish, cocoanuts, delicious guacamole and quesadillas), but they do not pressure you to buy anything. The young man, Manuele, gave wonderful surfing instructions to my husband and son - very patient and a good teacher. They were both surfing after one hour! His young wife Olivia and her family make such lovely lunches, and they let me hold and play with their beautiful baby boy Alexis (under their watchful eye).
When you are on the beach, many people will come by and offer sightseeing tours. We did several - bioluminescent algae swims, dolphin and sea turtle watching, etc. DO NOT accept any tours with Ramon - his were a complete rip off - way shorter than he promised and too much money - however, Roberto's tours were WONDERFUL and well worth it. Go with Roberto!
The water pressure in the shower is almost non-existent, however the wonderful lady at the front desk told us we could also use the public showers by the pool and at the top of the beach steps - much more pressure and a better cleaning.
Beware of the black horse on the dirt road leading to the Villas! He bites and kicks easily. Very aggressive. Villagers told us to carry rocks and sticks when walking down the road and throw them at the horse if he comes up to you - he roams at will and his name is "Satan," poor thing.
Overall an amazing experience. If you want a place to completely relax and get away from it all, this is it. We went into Puerto Escondido one day, just to saw we saw it, but really, it's not even worth it. Villas Carrizalillo has everything you need to truly relax!

Room Tip: Villa Florencia has the most incredible view. Perfect for a family of four. The kitchen and separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013. We were a family of five (youngest 16) and got exactly what we wanted - a week at the beach with practically nothing to worry about. Don't be put off by the approach across a field and an unmade road, once through the gates everything is as it should be. The communal areas are clean, tidy and immaculately kept; the villas are spacious and well appointed; the restaurant and bar are fabulous; the beach is close at hand (though easier on the way down the steps); and the view is to die for. There is a self-catering option, and shops a short walk away. The younger members enjoyed the surfing; the older members enjoyed reading in the sun. The staff were charming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Carrizalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Carrizalillo

Address: Ave. Carrizalillo No. 125, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Carrizalillo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Carrizalillo is a small boutique resort hotel in Puerto Escondido consisting of 12 uniquely designed units. The property is situated under a small palm grove atop a cliff side, overlooking one of the most scenic bays in the area. All Villas come equipped with air conditioning, kitchenettes, wireless internet, personal safes, and private outdoor areas. Other property amenities include a swimming pool, library/lounge and now Restaurant/bar Los Tugas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Villas Carrizalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Resort Puerto Escondido

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Carrizalillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.