We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Swiss Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotelito Swiss Oasis to your Saves list
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Andador los Adobes, Calle del Morro, Brisas de Zicatela | Playa Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

A great and personable hotel to stay at. The rooms are clean, the beds are better than most of the other places in PE. There is no air conditioning but the fan turned up and the sliding door open allowed to adequate air flow. The pillows were less than to be desired - very uncomfortable so bring your own.
The owner of the hostel is great, very friendly and hospitable.
It can be a bit noisy if people decide to sit out late at night talking amongst themselves, as the sit right out the front of the bedrooms.
Private bathrooms with very good showers. It's a very safe and trustworthy hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Therés! First of all, thank you a lot for this review. To bad we did not meet personaly, because we where on vacation during your stay and our good friend Marianne has taken care of our place. Wonderful to hear that you had a great time, but we are very sorry about your pillow experience. Those pillows should'nt have been in any room! We actually exchange all pillows every couple of weeks, specialy during rain season and we just got them exchanged before we left on vacation. Now those which sneaked into your room got by mistake to the laundry service and they mess them up... I wanted to keep them for our dog Luna, as she loves to sleep on a pillow and I guess it would have matter to her to have some knots in her pillow ;-). So sorry again that they landed into our room. We have got them already exchanged, so would the maid or Marianne have done if you had reported this to her after the first night. But good you mentioned it on Tripadvisor, thank you a lot for that and for your nice review. Happy to hear you liked our little Oasis and that you even came back! We hope to meet you one day in personaly and wish you a wonderful time, Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
69
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotelito Swiss Oasis is aptly named. Such a great location, a beautiful property, so clean and incredibly well maintained. Manuella is the perfect hostess, with helpful tips for everything. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place when you are staying in Escondido - you won't get a better deal anywhere... Thanks for a wonderful stay Manuella.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for this review, we apreciate this a lot! And hey, thank you for beeing such wonderful guests! We hope you will have lots of great experience on your trip and maybe come back again one day! We know Australia is pretty far....same as Switzerland ;-), but who knows... Again, thank you, also for staying with us, have a great time, Manuela & René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We came to Swiss Oasis after three nights roughing it in a hostel and it was such a relief. The room are spacious and clean with private bathrooms, the hotel has a beautiful pool area and the location is central to all of the restaurants and night life of Zicatela. Manuella is amazing and looked after us so well with all sorts of tips, from where to get a collectivo to the markets to what to order from which restaurants. She even lent me a camera cable that I left at our last destination and when I couldn't find a replacement, she sold me her one. Plus, they have beers and bottled water for 15 pesos - amazing! I'd recommend Swiss Oasis to anyone and will be back if I ever come to Puerto again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hey, lovely guests make this place to what it is ;-) so thank YOU for staying with us! It was realy a pleasure to host you and help you around. Most important for us that our guests can relax and enjoy their time in Puerto! So we are happy if you are :-). Thank you again, we hope you will be back one day. Have a amazing time, hasta la proxima! Manuela and René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is a great pick if you choose to stay in Puerto Escondido. It's aptly named as Puerto Escondido can become very hot and humid in the summer and it's a party town too. It's an Oasis in the sense of it's location and due to the fact that is has a pool. The location is ideal as it's centrally located on Playa Zicatela but because it's little bit back from the beach it's nice and quiet. On hot and humid summer days the pool is an awesome respite, a facility that not all hotels in Puerto Escondido have. Most importantly your hosts Manuela and René are incredibly welcoming, hospitable and helpful. I only mentioned that a mosquito bit me over night, immediately our hosts found a mosquito net and hung it up over my bed. These guys know the area well and recommend places to eat and explore. Couldn't recommend it enough.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Anja, thank you for this wonderful review! We apreciated that a lot, also that you take the time to write it down! Dont have to mention what a pleasure it was to have you! I bet you wish to be back, because most of the moskitos are gone now. Try season is way better for people who are loved by those little nasty beasts, ha! We wish you all best and hope to have you back one day, hugs from Puerto, Manuela and René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights with Manuela, Rene and Luna( the dog) plus the 5 cats and had the most warm reception from all of them. It's very centrally located on Playa Zicatela with lots of the beach clubs, bars and restaurants at your door step. The place itself is off the main road, so nice and quiet. The pool is a huge bonus on the hot days mid summer and a great place to interact with both guests who in our case were an international crowd that swapped ideas and stories on travel. The rooms are immaculately clean, have Internet access and hot water. We loved it here and even ended up extending our stay. I'd be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
So nice! Thank you so much for reviewing us! We apreciate a lot that you sayed in our "Oasis" and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay a lot! Hopefully you'll be back next year! All the best from the whole Swiss-Oasis family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love this place! We stayed here for three nights in July 2013. Everything was as advertised: the wi-fi worked great (in rooms #1 and #8), the rooms and pool were super clean, and the community kitchen was well-equipped. It's obvious that Manuela and René have poured much love and pride into their hotel. It's the small details that make this place shine: the bed mattresses were high quality, the beach towels were useful, and the honor-system poolside beer fridge was a nice treat. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us! You are most welcome to come back anytime and we hope so! Good you had a wonderful stay, this is exactly what we want! Thank you for staying with us, warm regards from Puerto, Manuela & René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Hotelito is a very nice place to stay. Manuela and René are very friendly and helful hosts who really care about their guests! The rooms are beatyfully arranged and clean and the atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you Alex for this review which we apreciate a lot! It was a pleasure to have you, hopefuly soon again! All the best and sunny regards to Switzerland, we know you can use that ;-), Manuela & René
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelito Swiss Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Swiss Oasis

Address: Andador los Adobes, Calle del Morro, Brisas de Zicatela | Playa Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Playa Zicatela, only 50 meters from the beach, quiet and secluded, nestled between palm trees is where you'll find our Hotelito Swiss Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotelito Swiss Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Swiss Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.