We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Fe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Zicatela y Calle del Morro S/N, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Santa Fe now for ten years and it truly is our home away from home. This year, we stayed just over six weeks. The hotel staff provides excellent, professional service and they are accommodating, welcoming and warm, having become friends whom we miss when we leave. Many have been there for all ten years we've visited. The location is ideal, right on the ocean and within easy walking distance of many shops, restaurants and with great beach access. The restaurant provides the most consistently high-quality food in Puerto and offers a terrific ocen view. Most foods are made in house and many with organic ingredients. I agree with another reviewer that the margaritas (served by Juan) are the best ever! The grounds (lush and green) and pools are well cared for and beautiful. The rooms are very clean (in ten years I've never seen a bug in our room!) and basic, with traditional tiles and heavy Mexican furnishings. New air conditioners have been installed in most rooms and there are, in fact, at least three English-speaking channels on the new, flat-screen televisions. We have looked at other hotels in the area but have never been tempted to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
60
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although it is a little expensive compared to other hotels in Puerto, it is in general worth it if you're looking to relax within a beautiful environment. The restaurant is excellent. Very good service and quality food. The entire atmosphere has got a very good taste. Swimming pools, terrace, gardens, etc, everything is very nice and well taken care of. One of the best things is the location, a few steps from Zicatela's beach !!
Where we could see some improvement is in the rooms. Some things were not working, like the screen door was not closing tight and the fan on the roof was swinging dangerously. Also, for the price, the amenities in the room are not what someone would expect. They could without a problem invest a little more in better soaps and shampoo bottles. But it was clean and very beautiful. But perhaps they should offer better located rooms if the hotel is almost empty anyway... By the way, we were at room no. 53.
Internet was not working properly in our room at least, but without a problem everywhere else where we tested it.
Depending on your budget and whether you travel in high season or not, it is a very good option.

Room Tip: We didn't try them, but the rooms at the second floor looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The place to stay in P.E Not cheap but worth every peso! Amazing view from the restaurant. Excellent service especially the two waiters who have been there for decades I like the tortilla soup with fresh baked bread two pools with one just for adults take the lagoon tour
eat with locals in town at Las Margaritas La Tour Eiffel in Rinconada is also a must

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

In March 2012 10 of us stayed for two nights here and enjoyed the hotel, the restaurant, the great location right across from the beach, with clean silky sand and gorgeous water. The pools at the hotel are in tranquil, tropical settings tucked away from the public. The hotel has lots of beautiful tiles, comfortable furniture, decent service, healthy food, but the rooms are kind of basic. There is nothing special about the beds, linens, amenities, air conditioner that moved warm air around, tv not necessary unless you speak spanish, and bugs that bite. The rooms were a decent size and clean but dark. Many places in Mexico have dim lighting so bring a head lamp for reading! It is a very relaxing atmosphere, lots of shopping on the Main Street with cafes and clothing, art and jewelry, the regular mix of hippy surfer stuff and arty local products. I would try something else next time and look for better value.

Room Tip: Get to know when the Mexican holidays are so you can get better rooms by booking early if you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank your for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We returned to the Hotel Santa Fe after more than 15 years and were not disappointed. The rooms and grounds are, if anything, better with the charming atmosphere of an old Mexican hacienda complete with shady swimming pools. We had a standard room which was adequate, but would consider a second floor in the adjacent hotel bungalows, which are just as economical. The hotel still serves great seafood and vegetarian dishes, and the view of the wild Zicatela Beach provides a wonderful contrast to the comfortable elegance of the restaurant.
In the mornings we enjoyed walks on Zicatela, and in the evenings we enjoyed the sunset from the neighbouring Playa Marinero. The hotel straddles both beaches, and the road between hotel and beaches is little more than a path.
We tooks cabs to swim at Playa Carrizalillo and at Playa Angelito, each a short distance away.
The Hotel Santa Fe caters for weddings now and what a romantic place it would be to get married!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin C, Director de Recepción at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrive on this really nice looking hotel, which is few steps away from the beach. We were five, so we got a Lobby Cabin really spacious and close to the pool.

Our only issue was that the cabin was infested with dead bees all over the floor, it seems that the cabin was recently fumigated but not cleaned. We informed the hotel staff and they came really quickly to clean it up and to fumigate it a really bit "just in case". They offered us another room while we waited, which it was really nice.

After that, everything was really good! Excellent location and really nice food around. Maybe just a little expensive for my taste.

Restaurant Tip: The restaurant just in front the hotel has an espectacular fried fish.

Room Tip: Take the rooms near the pool and if possible the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'd never stay here again. I stayed here three times and each time the air con was louder than the previous time. There's no need for it in this day and age. When will they stop building new bits of the hotel and spend a bit of money on making the existing bits bearable?

It's a pity because it's in a nice location and the first time I went there - way back in the late 1980s or early 90s - it was a really nice, fairly small hotel.

Room Tip: If they stick you in a room with a jet engine style air cooler and refuse to change it, walk from tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Address: Blvd Zicatela y Calle del Morro S/N, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Fe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique architecture, a gathering space and elegance invite you to relax and renew your spirit. With the best food in Puerto Escondido, mostly organic and homemade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Puerto Escondido

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.