We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch was not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mill House Inn to your Saves list
The Mill House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trebarwith
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shepton Mallet
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch was not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our first visit to The Mill House was for Sunday lunch. My first coursr of mussels in cider etc was excellent. However it was down hill thereafter. The beef (topside) was very tough to cut althought the flavour was OK. my wife could not cut her beef and had to leave most of it. The vegetables were well over cooked. My wife had a dessert, a banana and date pie. the centre was still almost frozen. service was good however., although maybe a shortage of staff.
Sadly we will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    43
    18
    23
    5
See reviews for
31
100
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West midlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband and I have just spent 2 very pleasant nights at The Mill House. The weather was dreadful, but we knew that before we left and Paul advised us by telephone of the conditions we would experience on arrival. We stayed in Room 1 with a large bathroom(but be careful of the steps going into it as you enter) All staff were very helpful and friendly and the food on both nights was excellent,Breakfasts were first class The only fault I would say "as a women" is the lack of power points and they are in the wrong place, I had to plug in the kettle over the side of the bed,as it would not reach where the tea/coffee facilities were, no where to sit with mirror over to blow dry and put makeup on. All it needs is a chair, vanity unit, mirror and 3 point plug in one place and I would have been happy, but apart from that thanks very much

Room Tip: Superior means a larger room The flat screen TV in room 1 could be a bit dodgy changing channels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a lovely 2 night weekend break during November. Being that it was out of season, there were not many other guests, making it quite a peaceful experience. The hotel staff is very attentive and customer focused. There is a nice cosy atmosphere in the bar, but the real jewel in the crown is the restaurant, which provided a great dining experience.

Room Tip: Room #3 has a shower (no a bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

November 4th stay, small room likened to a cupboard, no bath but shower ok. Very noisy until bar closed at midnight then heating on until 3:30am making the room unbearably hot. Only ventilation was tiny window which was of no help.
Breakfast was excellent but lack of sleep was important. I would never stay again or recommend this hotel. At half the cost it would be too much. I would advise the Port William just down the road for a better position and far better value.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before committing yourself as I believe they do have better rooms (size) remember th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandraCornwall, Owner at The Mill House Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
We are very sorry this guest was unhappy with his standard room, although no comment was made at the time of his stay. Our standard rooms are all fairly small and only have showers and accordingly in the low season are priced at £75 per night for 2 guests inclusive of breakfast. Our superior rooms have baths and are much more spacious. The Mill House is an old building dating back to 1760 and hence we are very restricted as to what we can do. There are controls on all the bedroom radiators, so that guests may regulate their heating in their rooms as they wish. Our web site displays all our rooms and there is also mention that our bar license on Friday and Saturday extends until midnight.

We have recently been inspected by Visit Britain (including Room 2) and have retained our 4 star rating, as well as increasing our overall percentage score.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights before the october half term. My Partner and I wanted a couple of nights stay and we got a great deal through late rooms which was great. The hotel itself is set in a gorgeous location, very easy to get to all the local villages and is one of the nicest places we have stayed. The staff could not do enough to make you feel welcome, i felt immediatly at home here. The room was large with a nice bathroom. I thought the small touches were lovely especially the locally sourced bubble bath with essential oils. We also appreciated on our second day comming back to find hot chocolate had been put in our room on our tea tray. We eat at Rick steins fish and chip shop on the first eve, and although expensive they were really nice and would def go again. On the second night we eat at the Millhouse, and had the paupers supper 3 courses. The food was so delicious, I had a smoked chicken tartlet, Fish pie and creme brulee for desert, cant fault any of it. Breakfasts also great, really nice service... all i can say is thankyou for a wonderful stay we will return and i would recomend to anyone....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a delightful 4 night stay in this characterful old Mill House. We upgraded from a standard room on arrival as it was very small, and had a superior room, which could not be faulted and it was definitely worth the extra £20 per night. From the Inn, we could walk straight down the half mile road to the beach, which was an utter surpise. When the tide is coming in, it crashes on to the craggy rocks spectacularly and when out, becomes an expanse of clean golden sand, revealing caves to explore and rocks to clamber over to find a place to sit and watch the surf. We were even paddling in the waves on 30th Sept! (Ok, we were lucky with the weather..!) The quality of the food, both breakfast and dinner, exceeded our expectaions. Dylan, the Head Chef, is very experienced and is passionate about sourcing the best ingredients and changes the menu everyday. The "star" dish, for us, was the Trio of Venison, which was a work of art and tasted sublime. The management and staff were very friendly and made us very welcome. The bar is a good place to meet other guests and locals alike, to wind down before another night in our comfortable room. The only criticism, is that the garden and grounds were noticably neglected, but shouldn't put you off. Will we be returning? Yes, as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Book a superior - it's worth the extra..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Mill House (aka The Old Millhouse) is set in a steep valley near Trebarwith Beach. It's very isolated so don't expect a mobile signal, but this was a good thing for our little break.

The locals were very friendly, the place was buzzing on the Thursday evening that we stayed and there was even a folk band playing that night.

This place is situated a 15 minute walk from one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen (and I've travelled a lot). Trebarwith Strand leads to a mile or so of flat, golden sand and great surfing conditions. Get there early in the morning and it's so quiet and peaceful you'll be forgiven for thinking it's your own little secret. I can imagine it being popular in the summer months, however nobody lives within a mile.

Two miles along the coastal path (a hilly walk) is Tintagel Castle, home of the legends of King Arthur. Tintagel is a breathtaking scene that has to be visited to truly appreciate.

I'd definitely return to the area, and specifically will stay at The Mill House again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel > Trebarwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trebarwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House Hotel Trebarwith
The Mill Hotel
The Mill House Inn Trebarwith, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.