We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Mill House Inn to your Saves list
The Mill House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trebarwith
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in this lovely hotel for seven nights in the family room. We found the room to be light, spacious and very comfortable and It had the added advantage off having an adjoining room for the children. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we looked forward to our freshly cooked breakfast each morning. We ate twice in the bar for an evening meal which on both occassions we found the food to be delicious and enjoyed by all of us. I would not hesistate to recommend this charming, relaxing and very friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    16
    23
    4
See reviews for
27
88
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The rooms were fairly basic and not well appointed without a lot of the trimmings you would expect for the price charged. For example there were no shampoo, body wash etc in the bathroom and some of the furnishings had seen better days. We were on a business trip and could not have a cooked breakfast because the kitchen didn't open until 8.30am. But even if we had been on holiday we would have wanted to eat breakfast earlier than that to enjoy some sightseeing. On the positive side we had an excellent meal in the restaurant and enjoyed some excellent live music in the bar. Was a bit of a walk to the beach. Overall not a memorable experience especially when we stayed the following night at a lower priced hotel in nearby Boscastle which was much better value for money and fitted out like a palace in comparison.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Lovely old building with a great big new dining room stuck on the back. Pitching high - website makes it look very smart - but it's a bit tired inside. We stayed in a four-person suite - rooms 8 and 9. Small, old-fashioned rooms, very clean. Room 8 had a single bed and bunk beds; room 9 had a small double bed - too small for us to get a decent night's sleep, especially as it was pretty noisy downstairs (Bank Holiday Monday) and the curtains were so lightweight in both rooms that the light woke us up at about six a.m. Impossible to shower without drenching the bathroom, and the basin was the smallest one I've ever seen. We ate in the restaurant and both ordered lobster thermidor (£19.95 apiece) which came far too quickly for the dish to be anything other than pre-prepared, and was simply half a small lobster on a bed of salad with potatoes - the lobster was dry and elastic and without any sort of sauce let alone thermidor. We should have sent it back. When we mentioned this as we checked out the man behind reception said he'd had to pull the chef up on something else as well that evening, and offered apologies but no refund. Staff were friendly but mostly teenage. Access is not for the learner driver - there's a very sharp hairpin bend on to a steep road down to the hotel. Overpriced, overrated, disappointing.

Room Tip: rooms 8 and 9 were a bit noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandraCornwall, Owner at The Mill House Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
My husband and I were very concerned to read this review, as these hotel guests had attended a wedding at The Mill House earlier in the day. We were pleased the wedding was so successful (the groom's parents wrote in our comments book remarking that 'the food was lovely' and the wedding couple also wrote some glowing comments about their day).
It is unfortunate that the reviewer had an unsatisfactory dinner experience and if this had been reported at the time, then we are sure this would have been resolved and an appropriate refund organised. The reviewer stayed in our family room, which is very popular with families and has never been subject of a negative review. As it is on the top floor it is a relatively quiet room and the bed, which is of standard size with a king size duvet has recently been purchased. We are sorry the reviewer was unhappy, but feel many of the comments were unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

Very friendly
Lovely sandwiches
Great location
Lovely ale
Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We did not stay at The Mill House but we dined in the bar one evening whilst on holiday in the area so this is a review for the food only.
Overall we had a very nice meal. The restaurant was closed so we ate in the bar. The service was friendly and quick and the food was very tasty. A nice atmosphere as well.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights here after our wedding. The service we received from all of the staff was great from the moment we walked in -we even had our room booking upgraded on account of being newly weds!

The room itself was wonderful. Clean and spacious with exposed beams and plenty of character from the old building. All the usual facilities tea/coffee television and radio etc. The adjoining bathroom was also large, spotless and well stocked with toiletries. The choice of breakfast was good with the usual range of cereals, fruit and yoghurts plus several cooked options.

The location is fantastic a five minute walk to the beach and within a short drive to Padstow etc.

We ate in the bar/restaurant one evening, for the pauper’s night. The food was good and for the price it represents excellent value.

Yes, there are locals drinking in the bar in the evening and yes, you will hear them talking in your room. Get over it. It's an inn. - If the locals eat and drink there then it’s usually a good sign.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My wife and I visit the area regularly and are always on the look out for new places. We spend a great deal of time down at Trebarwith Strand and have driven past The Mill House on many occasions and to be honest had not given it a second thought as we’d assumed it was nothing more than a ‘crab sandwich and pint pub’. Whilst (for a giggle) reading some of the reviews for the ‘barking’ Tintagel Castle Hotel we noticed a couple of references to The Mill and thought we’d give it a try.

The restaurant is in what looks like a barn conversion at the back of the building. It’s light and airy and well done in muted tones. The high ceilings and wooden floors makes it a bit ‘boomy’ but the tables are well spaced so there’s no real noise problem.

The menu is sensible and well balanced; about 6 starters and mains (so you know this is freshly prepared stuff) there was also a comprehensive wine list which was reasonably priced. We both had scallops in a chick pea puree to start – which arrived on the obligatory pieces of slate – a simple and well put together dish. Mains were a seafood broth for my wife and a rib eye steak with mini steak and mushroom pie for me; again both excellently executed, nice simple flavours, superbly presented and very well cooked. Puddings again great, chocolate brownie for me and sticky toffee pud for my wife.

But, there is a ‘but’. . . The service. . . Whilst it wasn’t ‘bad’, it just wasn’t ‘good’. We and a number of other diners had to ask for bread (which incidentally was home made and excellent) before the meal, food was literally ‘plonked down’ without a simple “enjoy your meal”. Mistakes with dishes were being made (not with us admittedly but with other diners) and one just got the impression that this was a young group of kids, doing this as a holiday/evening job with no real training or care – which in an establishment of this quality, shouldn’t be happening – one felt they needed a restaurant manager to watch these kids like a hawk.

So there we have it, all in all an excellent meal in great surroundings, just sort the staff out and it really will be a great, great venue. . . Oh, and one other thing, the chairs that are stacked “out of sight” above the doorway to the restaurant. . . They’re not “out of sight” at all and make the place look untidy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel > Trebarwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trebarwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House Hotel Trebarwith
The Mill Hotel
The Mill House Inn Trebarwith, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.