We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill House Inn

Save Saved
You added The Mill House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mill House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Trebarwith
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel is in a wonderful location. The staff were very friendly. Decor a little tired. Overall impressed and would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over bar at weekends Can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    13
    22
    4
See reviews for
24
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Disaster
Totally miislead by the website
Went for an evening meal in the bar rather than the restaurant to be confrunted with the "Paupers Menu" which lived up to its name. choice of 3 starters and 3 mains - but as a non fish eater this rendered me only 1 choice of each.
The bars staff were more interested in chatting to themselves rather than assisting the customers. The food was - strange! I chose meatballs linguini with garlic bread. Whislt the main meal was adequate - but certainly nothing more than a prepackaged warmed up mealk, the garlic bread was a disgrace and inedible. It consisted of 2 small slices of french stick (stale) with a LUMP of garlic butter dollop[ed in the middle and stone cold.

Also - BEWARE - We were paying by card and the var staff kept the card by the till - not in a lock box and when we paid the bill seemed to have forgotten they already had the card. Lets just say I will be watching my statement carefully incase of any irrefular charges to the card as ANYONE in the pub cvould have access to it.

A big dissappointment - lets hope it improves as it is a wonderful lcoation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 'Pearl' wedding anniversary recently and stayed at this hotel in room 1. We had read some of the comments by other reporters, and were a little concerned. We should not have been! Our room was clean, warm and well appointed. The staff were friendly and did all they could to help us make our stay enjoyable. At the last minute I called them and asked for flowers and Champagne to be in our room upon arrival, it was... We ate in each night and found the food to be first class. I wanted some 'rib eye steak', so requested it, even though it was not on the menu at that time. That evening I had my 'rib eye' just as I like it. Well done Chef and thank you! This hotel is old and 'quaint' in some ways and is being gradually refurbished without the loss of its old style charm. Our breakfast Chef produced the best scrambled egg I have ever tasted, served with a choice of local produce. If you want good food, a comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff then this is the place for you.... Enjoy, we did!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We ate here this week as we were staying in the area on holiday. We were looking forward to an evening to 'treat' ourselves as the area is not renowned for any culinary adventures at all.
It was a Thursday night and the restaurant had about 10 other guests eating, some staying at the hotel and others such as ourselves. The young man who was our waiter was excellent, very polite, cheery and helpful.
The menu was on the pretentious side, I suspect someone may have been watching a few too many episodes of Masterchef. Our starters were beautifully presented, what some of them may have lacked in flavour made up for by being mini works of art. Alas, 2 of us had the belly of pork with langoustines. It struck us as an odd combination but we love pork so boldly went ahead. The pork was sublime, the langoustines were uncleaned, barely cooked and totally out of place. My friend foolishly ate one of the dirty langoustines and was very poorly the next day. I left the offending item and pointed it out to the waiter who said he would inform the kitchen.... well, we never heard any more about it. A shame that either the chef or the owner couldn't have taken some responsibilty. The other 2 meals were fine but nothing to justify the inflated prices. We didn't venture to have a dessert so can't comment on them.
A beautiful venue, maybe guilty of trying too hard and failing to get the basics right.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We have eaten at the Mill 3 times & have had an excellent meal every time. The restaurant is light, airy with a good atmosphere & the young but very knowledgeable waiting staff do well even when busy. In fact we actually prefer the service from them than the owner himself! The 2nd time of visiting I had the pleasure of meeting one of the sous chefs, Adam who was, even after a full day in the kitchen, enthusiastic & energetic & was happy to talk about some of his amazingly creative ideas.

On our 3rd visit we discussed perhaps booking a table for some of our friends for my 'big' birthday with the possibility of booking some of the rooms. We asked the owner after we had finished our meal if we could have a look at the accommodation & he said that he could show us one of the superior room as all the other ooms were occupied.

As we passed through the pub - we have had a drink in here & it's very different to the restaurant but relaxed & an equally good atmosphere - and into the reception area, the contrast was immediate & shocking. The reception was not only shabby but dirty & grimy. The owner took us up the stairs & to the first room on the left. I think my face must have said it all. Both myself & Moonface we totally speechless. The room was just awful. Bare, what furniture there was was old & tatty, the bathroom was dirty & mouldy, the paint was peeling on the walls & to be honest we were amazed that they have the front to rent out a room like this at all, let alone as a superior. And the owner seemed to think the room was lovely. After an embarrasing silence, we left promptly.

We will go back for a meal but the experience has been slighly marred by knowing what is on the other side of that door. My recommendation would be go for a meal & I doubt if you will be disappointed but don't what ever you do stay there or suggest to anyone you want to stay on friendly terms with to stay there either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillHouseTintagel, General Manager at The Mill House Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
We are glad that the reviewer enjoyed our restaurant and appreciates the level of service that our staff endeavour to provide, it is a shame that this wasn't reflected in their service score.

We do not feel that this is a very fair review for the following reasons:

1 - The reviewer did not stay with us.
2- The comments about the quality of the rooms were based on a cursory glimpse of Room 1, not other rooms were viewed.
3-This review was written 4 weeks after the visit and no comments were made to us at the time.
4-We accept that the room is in need of some decotation however we feel that the reviewer has exaggerated slightly, at the end of a busy summer season there is always redecorating and repair to be done, particularily in a 16th century building, this will start in November. We do not accept that the bathroom was dirty or mouldy.
Our reception area has also been earmarked for refurbishment this winter as this is a high traffic area located between the bar and the terrace.

Thank you

The Mill House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have just spent 4 idylic days here and only needed to use the car once. Very welcoming and peaceful place, a hidden gem. The beach is fantastic and is within walking distance. We walked the coast path in both directions which has stunning views. Breakfast certainly sets you up for the day and the paupers meal on Wednesday was fantastic and outstanding value. I've visited most of Cornwall over the years and this place is definitely high on my list of places to visit again I just can't believe it has taken me so long to find it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Looked really lovely from the outside, but on entering room 3 the wall below the shelf with tea and coffee on it was covered with damp and mould. the celing was mouldy in the bathroom and behind the tap was dirty and not been cleaned properly. this establishment was ment to be four stars, perhaps the other rooms were nicer but ours was a let down. also it was a sunday night and you expect the noise from the pub below to tail off after about 22:30, but at 23:30 the pub was still in full flow with music playing really loudly, which i thought was inconsiderate to their guests! this was supposed to be a break away which was long overdue and we felt reluctant to complain at the time as we were unsure if we would get anywhere at such short notice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel > Trebarwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Trebarwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House Hotel Trebarwith
The Mill Hotel
The Mill House Inn Trebarwith, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.