We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A********” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Inn

Save Saved
You added Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Kirby Misperton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A********”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Lovely hotel, perfect room, friendly and attentive staff, food worth every penny, breakfast hamper a very good idea allowing a lie in! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
94
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed for two nights in January. I was truly impressed by the Black Horse! The service was impeccable and much better than at some 4* hotels I have stayed at before.

The room (The Milton Suite) is situated at the rear or the pub, it has exceptional furnishings and was immaculately clean. The carved four poster bed is one of the comfiest I have slept in, The room benefits from a stand alone roll-top bath and a massive walking in rain shower.

The Black Horse is much more than an inn, they go above and beyond what is expected. You are given the choice of a cooked breakfast in the restaurant or a hamper of pastries and fruit delivered to your room. The hospitality tray in the room is excellent, we had mineral water, appletiser, biscuits, tea, hot chocolate and FRESH GROUND COFFEE with a flask of FRESH milk! and a picnic hamper of cereals.

We chose to have a cooked breakfast on both mornings, the quality of the food was brilliant, with the black pudding even getting the thumbs up from us (neither of us were fans before). The attention to detail is consistent in the Black Horse, the toast was hand cut and arrived on a board rather than a rack, the jams and marmalades are made by a local family business and all of the finishing touches (table decorations, pictures, ladies bathrooms) have been placed with care and love.

We had drinks in the bar on both evenings and were pleasantly surprised by the good selection of real ales and malt whisky!

Have already recommended to friends and will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Milton Suite - Fantastic shower and beautiful roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is probably one of the top three of the many hotels we have stayed in and by far the cheapest.
Our room was furnished with genuine French antique furniture extremely comfortable with all the little luxuries you would normally only get at a far more expensive establishment
The staff are fantastic efficient but friendly and the food was excellent .
My only concern is that too many people will get to hear about the Black Horse and there won't be vacancies when we want to go back.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in the Milton room which was close to perfect; spacious, warm, cosy, individual with many little extras which offer such potential to achieving perfection including breakfast hamper in bedroom, fresh flask of milk, big fluffy towels, designer toiletries! Pub was characterful and breakfast was extensive BUT dinner was a different matter. Order was wrong; just one main course incorrect out of 4 but I was made to feel as though it was my fault and was even encouraged to accept the game pie incorrectly delivered rather than the gammon that I had ordered. This left an atmosphere in the air which resulted in a free round of drinks but even this was offered too late and not by the owner/manager who'd actually made the error in the first place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here in November in the Kauto Star suite -a huge and very comfortable room, with a great bathroom, and wonderful service from all the staff from the manager to the girl who cleaned the room. Little touches made the difference -thermos of fresh milk left outside your door each night, choice of drinks including fresh coffee in your room, no fiddly plastic butter pots at breakfast ... Which was freshly cooked to order with local produce. Evening meals just as good. A very relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Black Horse Inn, for a weekend with my husband and relatives from Canada. From our arrival Jacquie and her staff were very welcoming. Unfortunately the Inn was suffering from a lack of gas - but they overcame all the problems and provided us with a first class dinner (some of which was cooked at a nearby pub - what a great lesson i n co-operation). Our rooms were extremely comfortable, with Queen size beds, great bathroom with Molton Brown toileteries. Breakfast was provided, continental style, from a hamper in the room - fresh pastries and fruit, fresh milk etc., being delivered each morning.

Loved the attitudue and helpfulness of the staff in the face of all their problems - will definitely be back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Black Horse for 2 nights in November, and we loved it! The room was lovely, with a wonderful roll top bath in the bathroom. All the staff were friendly and the service they provided was excellent.

The food was very tasty and cooked well, with an excellent choice.

All in all the black horse is a great find and we have booked again for February.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn is a traditional village inn in Kirkby Fleetham with seven 5 AA Star Rated bedrooms and a 2 AA Rosette restaurant, just a short drive from Scotch Corner. Whether you live relatively locally or you've travelled miles to find us, the Black Horse Inn at Kirkby Fleetham offers everything you could want from a traditional village inn - a warm welcome, a gorgeous building filled with of character, top quality food and drink, lovely rooms for an overnight stay and a real community feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.