We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Black Horse.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
Black Horse Inn
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Return to the Black Horse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I am just back from my second visit to the Black Horse, this time I returned on leisure purposes previously having visited whilst on business.

Once again everthing was perfect - even the weather which was lovely and showcased the villaige around the inn to best effect.

Same room room as before - minus the loudest clock in the world this time - well done!

Pereect Sunday dinner was presented White Onion soup, roast beef with trimmings and Yorkshire Blue Cheese board, could not have asked for anything more, good beer and a delightful NZ Faultine Sauvignon Blanc.

Breakfast delivered to the room taken on the terrace overlooking new herb garden was delighful.

Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    45
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
158
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We came across this place as part of our quest to find the perfect Sunday lunch and this was as near to the holy grail as we've got so far. The pub is done out as shabby chic, which provides a nice relaxing atmosphere. Staff were helpful, polite and even smiled! Food was excellent - I could have eaten everything on the menu. Every dish the 4 of us ordered was superb, although I have to pick out the chocolate bar pudding - which was fine dining. We will definitely go back and may even stopover next time as the room rates looked reasonable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This place is just The Best! We stayed here for one night and happened upon it after having been stranded in the area (that's another story!). From the moment we phoned up to enquire until leaving the next day, the staff were SO friendly, attentive to our needs and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Everything about the place was fab. The quaint village, the attractive exterior of the Inn, the gorgeous, French shabby chic interior and equally gorgeous rooms with loads of little extras within, and the food they served was just amazing! We have stayed in many places but this does beat the rest. We wish we could have stayed longer and hope to return and spend more time in the area. We recently paid in the region of £80 to stay in a popular chain express inn and here we paid a mere £75 for our room which we would say is worthy of a 5 star rating. Do not hesitate to chose this place! Also recommended by Alistair Sawday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for one night on our way back from Scotland as it is so close to the A1 and wished we had stayed longer. Everything has been thought through to perfection. Our room was a suite (Room 3 - the Kauto Star) and was decorated in a fabulous shabby chic style. Molton Brown bathroom products and lovely fluffy towels and robe. Fresh coffee and milk and bottled water and orange juice - Excellent!
The food at dinner and breakfast was lovely.
We are trying to find a reason to visit the area so that we can stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We booked this Inn after seeing the website and on the strength of other reviews. We were not disappointed. Our room was more like a suite and the decor was 5 star. The bed was very comfortable. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was superb. The staff were friendly and attentive but not obtrusive. Breakfast was a choice of continental breakfast served in the room in a cute hamper or cooked breakfast in the restaurant. We opted for the cooked breakfast and again it was excellent.. The whole place is decorated in a quirky "shabby chic" style and the ladies loos in the bar are worth visiting just to look at! Amazing value for money!

Room Tip: room 3 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

What a stunning property, with fantastic food and top class service. Every little detail had been thought out to perfection...... We loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone. It really is a must for anyone wanting a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeals, Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This place is great! Everything including the staff, the pretty rooms, the bar, the restuarant, the food and the amazing attention to detail - but particularly Jackie who runs it, she's a star!

We stayed two nights and ate in both nights - and were not dissapointed. the atmospherer in the bar and throught the place is really first class. the room was a treat to go back to, very nicely furnished in a cottage-style romantic kind of way. we peeped in a couple of other rooms - they were all very well put together, and all different. Nice.

Any drawback? Well having to go outside to get from the lovely room to the main building (in the rain) wasn't great - but it's not far , and umberellas are provided (of course!). Also its between the Moors and te Dales - but not on either. That's either a drawback or an advantage - depends how you view it.

Room Tip: Some are roomier than others - ask when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn is a traditional village inn in Kirkby Fleetham with seven 5 AA Star Rated bedrooms and a 2 AA Rosette restaurant, just a short drive from Scotch Corner. Whether you live relatively locally or you've travelled miles to find us, the Black Horse Inn at Kirkby Fleetham offers everything you could want from a traditional village inn - a warm welcome, a gorgeous building filled with of character, top quality food and drink, lovely rooms for an overnight stay and a real community feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.