We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven is a place in Barra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Alondra

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Alondra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel La Alondra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sinaloa 16, Col Centro | Barra de Navidad, Jalisco, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Heaven is a place in Barra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We are addicted to Barra de Navidad, I know this pearl of the "pacifico" since 2005. Here, the Spanish and the Mexicans were starting to conquer the Philipines supported by the Mexican silver, long time ago... Us, we went there, 2010 and 2011, with our three, then four children. We used to stay about two weeks around Christmas at this marvellous small town hotel at the coastline, hidden from big tourism that is staying in the big Bay Area Hotel. Sunrise is reflected in the lagoon in between, when fishermen are leaving early in the morning. Sunset is seen at the ocean view, from the pool of the hotel (in case of big waves) or directly on the beach having a Margerita from the friendly staff. Or You may choose the roof top bar where You get the whole bay area with the volcano of Colimas in the background. Sometimes he is "smoking" which looks beautiful if the sun is painting it in orange and red in the early morning or evening defining Your 12 hours day "under the volcano" (Malcolm Lowry). It is a nice surfing site as well. New Year´s Eve, then was noisy as the building is not hiding any noise. The elevator sometimes is lazy in moving, but it is a very friendly and clean place. Remarkable the restaurant Berlin, where Simone is offering any food that Your heart desires. Originally, from the north of Berlin, she supports the beach service in any way. So we could have Mexican food as well as the food we are accustomed to from Berlin Germany. Not to be misunderstood. She has a restaurant in the same building on the first floor open at night. The hotel offers enough space in his junior suites at an affordable price. Flight is to Mansanillo and You may meet some Canadians, tired or retired hippies from Northern Californa as well living in their R.V. at the nortern end of the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great A/C. Nicely furnished bathroom. Big Refridge. Had a ocean view, looks onto the avenue closest to the ocean. The bed...hard as a rock! and the security guard only said my friends could visit for "10 minutes" it was only 12am. We were comming back for the local bars.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms are nicer across the street at ALONDRA BEACH CLUB? I know they cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at the annex across the street from the main hotel on the beach next to the pool.
Very nice rooms with a great staff. The best Margaritas in Mexico. The only problem which only impacted the main Hotels beautiful roof top Bar was that the elevator was broken. But the walk up the stairs was well worth the trip for the great views of all of Barra De Navidad. and the sunsets.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, SK., Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This was our first time to Mexico and didn't know what to expect. We found the hotel very clean and the hotel employees very friendly! The hotel is located in the center of town along the beach. The locals were very friendly and helpful. There are many little restaurants near to hotel for breakfast - we especially enjoyed Ramones across from the Hotel Barra. We booked a Harley Tour out of Barra with harelytoursmexico.com and had a fantastic holiday!!!! We saw many sights that are not in the tour books! The towns of Purification, Le Heurta, Cuyatlan, the bull ring at El Amalon, the waterfalls near Minitittlan, and, Chico's Paradise near Puerto Vallarta. This was one of the best holidays we've had!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Friendly, helpful staff, willing to show us the room before we committed. Our friend fell and hurt himself and hotel called a doctor who lived down the street. Excellent food at restaurant and fantastic outdoor bar with view of sunset. You won't be disappointed. Internet place in same building downstairs and coffee house as well. Many rooms have ocean view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

The hotel was conveniently in the middle of the small town so there were lots of restaurants to go to. The rooms were clean but no place in the hotel to eat breafast. The beach was also very clean and very nice right next to the pool area. Everyone working at the hotel was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

The hotel is really big and has the ocean in front and the people who work there are really nice

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Alondra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Alondra

Address: Sinaloa 16, Col Centro | Barra de Navidad, Jalisco, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Barra de Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Alondra 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Alondra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Alondra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.