We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli

Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli
Av. Las Cabanas 13 | Frente El Hotel la Paloma, Barra de Navidad 48980, Mexico
+52 315 110 3550
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stewiacke, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great time great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Vainilla Pimienta is one of the newer venues in Barra, the hotel it is based in is still under construction. We went as a group of 10 for dinner and to hear the band. We also planned our meal to be able to watch the sunset. The food was great and the band and ambiance was outstanding. Chidos Band was playing. They were great on their own but they also had friends in the audience who added to the sound. Check out Vainilla Pimeinta for the food, but if you get the chance do it on the night when the band is playing and by all means go early enough to see the sunset.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great menu, consistent quality and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place may be the best place in Barra especially on nights when you can enjoy live music. Next time I plan to try the ribs. The chef there is a real pro and the staff well trained.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food, view and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

After dining our way through Barra (and Melaque) in the past three weeks, I put Vainilla Pimienta on the top 2 choices. Worth the extra block walk up from the water taxis. My pistachio salmon was on par with fine meals in the San Francisco Bay Area. The sides, a beet au gratin, was delicious.
Tip: Come before sunset for amazing views. Try the Thai Shrimps (on the main menu) as a shared appetizer. It was a Very unique and delicious way to try this entree as well. Enjoy!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

...you wouldn't expect a place this good here in Barra de Navidad. Excellent chef. Definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barra de Navidad, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with amazing atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I could spend hours gazing over the infinity pool to the ocean. It has high ceilings with marble floors that opens onto the beach. The best dishes here are the Middle Eastern Plate (which is very authentic and has around 6 items), the bourbon pineapple ribs, the spinach, goat cheese, beet, & candied nut salad, and for dessert the goat cheese cake with a berry compote with balsamic reduction drizzle. (Though my husband would probably say the chipotle/chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream.) Also for breakfast they have an egg dish called the Norwegian. It is smoked salmon benedict with a chipotle hollandaise sauce that is wonderful. I also tried my friends waffles that had berries and another who had the caramel nut ones and they were pretty amazing too. For lunch I had the empanadas and they were pretty tasty. Gaby, the owner, is a sweetheart and is very gracious and welcoming. Monday and Friday they have live music in the evenings which is really fun as well. This is definitely one of our favorite restaurants in Barra.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli also viewed

Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
 
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
 

Been to Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.