We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad about dchar's experience here, not typical...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Pacifico

Posada Pacifico
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barra de Navidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Pacifico
Mazatlan #136, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Barra de Navidad
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sad about dchar's experience here, not typical...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Have stayed at this family run hotel 4 yrs in a row. Very affordable. ($12- $35/per nite depending on number of people/ season/ length of stay) .Bungalows are difficult to get, so have moved onto apt living, but always start here on my search. Rooms are spacious and clean, cafe is lovely with on the street seating, good for people watching. I have dozens of friends who have made this hotel their home year after year, and we enjoy watching the maid's children grow up. As for a missing suitcase, very unfortunate, and unusual that something go missing from this hotel. In Mexico I have found the people to be most honest and trustworthy...sounds like the insurance company agrees that the suitcase, after checkout, was not the hotel's responsibility, and one should be more careful with their belongings wherever travelling.....

Room Tip: Book ahead and arrival early, weekends (Fri-Sun) the hotel fills up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Left a suitcase with over $600.00 worth of stuff in it, brand new baby clothes, running shoes, etc; called said "don't worry, if you left it, it's here". What a joke. Called back, mysteriously couldn't find it. Talked with their insurance company, yet another joke. It was determined that it was "the customers fault for leaving luggage". Guess it's fair game if you leave it. Someone is dressing quite well as is their child. Thiefs is all I got to say.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Another great vacation in Barra de Navidad! My husband and I have always stayed at this friendly little family owned and operated hotel. It offers clean, comfortable, friendly accomodation and is excellent value for the budget traveller. Only 2 blocks from the beach and situated in a nice airy part of Barra. If there is a breeze (and there generally is) this hotel gets it!! One of the daughters runs a breakfast cafe, so you don't have to go far for your morning cup of coffee! Good basic breakfast food (egg dishes, hotcakes, chilaquiles, and fruit with yogurt/granola) and fresh squeezed OJ.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

This is a neat clean little posada located in the heart of Barra de Navidad, which itself is a small town. Only a few minutes walk from the beach, and a similar distance to the bus terminal.

I scored a "twin double-bed" room, meaning there were two double beds side-by-side in the room. There was a small TV in my room, but only local channels (no English channels). A bathroom with a separate walk-in shower, and a small area to hang clothes. Ceiling fan to cool the room, and although there was an air-conditioning unit attached to the wall, the nights were cool enough that I only needed to use the ceiling fan on low speed.

There is parking, and a courtyard area with some couches and tables if you want to spend some time out of your room. Staff are friendly - one of the guys came to pick me up at the bus station as I had a very late arrival (circa 2am).

All in all for the price I paid, which was 250MXP, I thought Posada Pacifico was good value.

  • Liked — Price and central location
  • Disliked — Locks on doors could have been "beefier"
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin,Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

This a very clean hotel. It offers no extras,TV etc. But sheets are changed daily. A person will feel very safe staying here. It is family run and they are very gracious and helpful any way they can. Cheapest for the money in Barra!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Pacifico

Address: Mazatlan #136, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Barra de Navidad
Also Known As:
Posada Pacifico Hotel Barra De Navidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Posada Pacifico to your Saves list