We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Seafever Bed & Breakfast

Casa Seafever Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barra de Navidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Seafever Bed & Breakfast
208 Andres Ave | De Urdaneta Avenue, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Carmichael, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for about a week at the beginning of March while we got the new-to-us sailboat organized. Al picked us up at the airport and provided a delicious breakfast at his palapa which overlooks the canal. He even made sashimi to bring to our naming party for the new boat. At the end of our stay we came back for a couple of nights and enjoyed a wonderful fish dinner of the fish Al had caught the day before. We'll definitely be back. Thanks Al.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that overlooks the canal - it's spacious and gets a good breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our eleven day stay in Barra de Navidad was enhanced by our experience at Casa Seafever. Owner Al picked us up and dropped us off at the airport in Manzanillo. How nice to not have to worry about that part of the trip. Al is also very helpful with information and contacts in the local area.

We stayed in the canal room, which is roomy and comfortable. Access to the large palapa was easy and it was wonderful to relax in the warmth. Two hammocks encourage dozing and there is a fridge, bar and hot plate available as well. The lower palapa has a pool for refreshing dips.

We felt very safe in this neighbourhood and were only a short easily walked distance from the main street, but far enough away not to be kept awake by the surf.

Strong wi-fi helped us keep in touch with family and cable television offered programming in English.

A bonus – Al has the best coffee we had in Barra!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Casa Seafever for 12 nights beginning just after Christmas - our days just flew by, and our only regret was when it was time to pack our bags and return home.

The B&B is absolutely beautiful - the online photos do not do it justice. From the moment we arrived (the owner picked us up from the airport for a reasonable fee), we were made to feel welcome in this lovely home. We had the "canal room," which is a large airy room with king bed, private tiled bathroom (all the rooms have their own bath ensuite) and direct access to the second floor palapa that has comfy hammocks, a pool table, small efficiency cooking facilities, and great view of the canal. There are two other bedrooms and a 2-bdrm apartment on the same floor. Downstairs there is a lovely terrace where breakfast served by the swimming pool.

In addition to the beautiful casa, the owner has a boat and dock, and you can make arrangements to go out fishing, which we did. Lots of fun!

The village of Barra de Navidad is an easy five or ten minute walk, and there are so many great restaurants, it's hard to decide where to go. A quick and inexpensive local bus ride gets you to Melaque, across the bay, for more beaches and restaurants. Both towns are small, friendly, and safe, with some great shopping for local arts and crafts.

Casa Seafever is truly a gem - sparkling clean, beautifully furnished, and run by a friendly and outgoing owner. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We loved the Canal room, but to be honest, all the rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I just returned from this lovely Bed & Breakfast in Barra, host Alan was so accomodating and the ambience of the place is so peaceful and tranquil. He picked me up the airport and you can get a return ride from Manzanillo airport, so you are not stuck there by yourself, trying to get a taxi to your destination, one less worry when travelling. There is everything there to enjoy, the pool deck and upper deck face out onto this lovely canal, you can sit there in the morning, read your book, enjoy an amazing breakfast and watch global news at home, I loved that....you get to experience the mexican culture when you walk into town, that I really found
interesting as well.
The pool is perfect for a swimming or just soaking up the rays of sunshine. Late afternoon found me in the hammock just chilling out. You can walk into town and eat almost anywhere, Alan advised me where the best places to eat at, Isadora's was one of them... and also there is dancing in the streets, and it is very, very safe. Alan cooked up a fish fry dinner that was to die for...... believe me. The place is spotlessly clean and felt just like home at all times of the day. This place has good access to getting on the bus and exploring nearby towns of
melaque, La manzanilla and Santiago Beach, but it was always so nice to come back to a place that felt like home. Weather was great, loved my stay at casa sea fever....

Room Tip: Room on upper deck is beautiful and the suite is very very cozy as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colima
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We really enjoyed the 2 nights we spent at Casa Seafever earlier this month! Irene is a perfect hostess. As it was low season we enjoyed the casa to ourselves. We spent the afternoon around the pretty, clean pool and deck area. The king size bed was comfy, the house was very clean and the continental breakfast was yummy including homemade muffins and fresh squeezed orange juice. We enjoyed some great meals in Barra, and the casa is within walking distance. We hope to be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room that opens onto the upstairs palapa. It was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,B.C.Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was our second visit to Casa Seafever! What fun we had! Irene was great at accomodating our friends as well. We had great food and dancing in the charming town of Barra. Old friends and new friends gathered together on the palapas sharing stories of our days as well as the finds we made while touring the shops and tienges. From Barra we spent days at Melaque, La Manzanilla and Santiago Beach near Manzanillo. The pool was great to cool off in at the end of a hot day.We shared lots of laughs and good times. Breakfasts were super as well as the fish fry we had. Alan and Irene were great hosts!

Room Tip: The canal room is large and roomy particularly for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NANAIMO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

A great little B&B a short walk from the town in Barra de Navidad, in a quiet residential area, run by a great couple of Canadians from British Columbia. The house is beautifully decorated, with three B&B rooms and a two bedroom apartment. Each bedroom has it's own ensuite. Our room had a king sized bed, tv, air conditioning and a fan and sliding doors to the upstairs patio, with palapa roof, pool table, table and chairs and a fridge with honour system beer, water etc. There was also a computer for guest use and a small library. On the main floor breakfast was served under another palapa and we had full use of the patio and swimming pool. We chose whatever we fancied for breakfast, which is included in the price.
The house backed on to one of three canals and the hosts would provide fishing if required.
Bikes were also available if we had wanted to use them. Pick up and drop off at Manzanillo airport was also available if required.
Our hosts, Irene and Alan, could not have been any friendlier and made our stay one to be remembered. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Seafever Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Seafever Bed & Breakfast

Address: 208 Andres Ave | De Urdaneta Avenue, Barra de Navidad 48987, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barra de Navidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Seafever Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Seafever Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list