We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Condominium Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barra de Navidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Grande Condominium Resort
Km 6.5 Camino a La Culebra | Ejido El Rebalse, Barra de Navidad 48995, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Barra de Navidad
Harris, Sk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Words alone cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay at the Playa Grande for a month. As soon as we arrived we felt welcome and a part of the Playa Grande community. We loved everything about the condo and location. The Playa Grand has created an atmosphere that soothes the soul. We loved waking early to watch the sky lighten while we walked the miles of beach with the locals fishing with nets. The staff is full of smiles and goes beyond themselves. The residents are truly friendly, genuine and helpful. The grounds are well maintained and secure. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool bar serve excellent food. We totally recommend the Playa Grande.

Room Tip: Rent a car and use the ATM at the Grande Bay Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very relaxing - clean accommodation - spacious condo ; well kept property and very safe when one is traveling on their own. The pool bar and restaurant serve excellent food - great value. The little on site store is wonderful as you can get what you need without leaving the grounds. There are great days trips to be taken in the area. Playa Grande should be considered for any vacation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Awesome time spent at Playa Grande. Beautiful condos with great ammenitites and lovely people. Highly recommend it to anyone. Had the option to have the fridge stocked prior to arrival which was a nice perk. Played golf at a couple close by spectacular courses, went deep sea fishing, had a massage and had some very good R&R by the beach and pool while eating great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a lovely family vacation at Playa Grande over Christmas vacation. The resort is very removed from anything commercial, so just go and relax. The restaurant is managed by a group of Canadians and everyone speaks English at the resort. Nice pool side bar with good food. Restaurant is lovely, but with Canadian prices. No Mexican food deals here. You will definately need a car if you are going to Playa Grande. Lovely beaches nearby, but we did do some swimming at the beach by the resort. Really wild water, so be careful. Barra de Navidad is about a 20 minute drive or you can drive down the road to the next resort and take a water taxi across.
Barra has great restaurants and a flea market where I always find something to take home. This was our second visit to Playa Grande with family and I will definately go back again. It helps if you have some Spanish or feel comfortable not knowing the language if you go off the resort.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the ocean and pool. I would definately not get one facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited Playa Grande this summer (2012) near the end of July for a week which of course is the off-season. They only seem to rent out a few condos here consequently most vacationers are owners and families, respectful of other guests and facilities in other words. During the week we were there, less than 10 condos were occupied thus the environment was very quiet. We found the facilities to be exceptionally clean, new and in good working order plus the staff was very friendly and accommodating in every way, in fact the resort was as advertised or better in our experience.

There were two surprises that others should be aware of. The first which did not appear in the advertising anywhere when we were planning our trip is that during off-season the resort bars and restaurants are closed plus the on-site store has limited supplies. This means that if you are attempting to get away from cooking while on vacation then you will need to travel for each meal. We frequented the http://www.wyndham.com/hotels/ZLOGB/allphotos.wnt which is only a few minutes away through the golf course and has several very nice restaurants and bars. The other surprise was that the Wi Fi didn't work on-site except when standing at the front desk which makes any attempt to keep in touch with work a challenging experience.

With only these two exceptions this resort is world class and a perfect place to experience rural Mexico at its best.

Room Tip: Any condo in this resort has a great ocean view and is as good as the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Right in the middle of nowhere! Exactly where i wanted to be, and only 15 minutes to downtown Barra and Melaque. These are private condos, that go into their rental pool. I was in a beautiful 2 bedroom condo, right beside the pool. Location was great, but the condo did not have curtains in the front room and dining area. Next time i'll ask for a room with curtains, or on a higher floor for more privacy. I will be back,

Everything was first class, and the location is outstanding. Imagine being on a 22 Km long beach... with huge dunes and incredible waves. Pristine, isolated and worth every penny. You have no idea how quiet it can be, until you stand alone on the beach.

The BEST THING about this place, is the location. Its like being in another world, yet is so close to reality.

Book it.... you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with curtains. Being poolside was very convenient, and was not noisey. When i go back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wood's cove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is old mexico at it's best, great resort, pool, tennis court, restaurant on premise, with hot tub, barbecues for use on top of the roof tops, great quaint town of Barra just mins north for dinning out, golf next door, clay court tennis courts in Chiquatlan, 10 min drive, 20 mins to airport, easy, beautiful beach, and great surf just 3km south right on the beach......great family spot to vacation, way better then cabo which is over priced and this has a usable beach.....perfect cheap vacation spot for the whole family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Grande Condominium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Condominium Resort

Address: Km 6.5 Camino a La Culebra | Ejido El Rebalse, Barra de Navidad 48995, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Barra de Navidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Barra de Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the stunning and pristine beach of Playa del Coco sits Playa Grande Condominium Resort -- a tropical oasis that seamlessly blends modern amenities with old Mexican charm. Playa Grande offers two and three bedroom luxury beachfront vacation condos for rental at affordable prices, providing ideal accommodations for families, groups, and friends looking for some quality time away from the everyday. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Condominium Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Condominium Resort to your Saves list