We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cream Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive's Garden

Olive's Garden
Hill Top Cottage Mile Hill, Porthtowan TR4 8TY, England
(0)7546485061
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Porthtowan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cream Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

2 large scones with lashings of Strawberry Jam and Clotted Cream, topped off with lovely fresh strawberry, large pot of tea with refill, served in the garden by very friendly ladies

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Return Trip Well Worth It!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We returned to Olives Garden again on our return to Cornwall - yet again... the welcome was and if we were family.... the service excellent and the food amazing !!! Penny and Johnnie are great hosts with a selection of desserts to die for!!! I would recommend anyone in the area to visit Olives Garden for a piece of heaven

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were recommended to visit here for Cornish Cream teas. There were 9 of us and on arrival were told they had run out of scones. We were all quite hungry so decided when reading the menu to stay for a meal. Beautiful setting however very disappointed with the meal. Totally overpriced. I had Scampi which was presented in a basket with chips. For the price I would have expected it on a plate with veg and trimmings. The lady who served us however was so nice. She sounded like a Brummie and had a lovely way with everyone. Sorry but won't be visiting again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow !! Best cream teas ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Set in lovely gardens just off the main road, The cream teas were to die for, and the huge pot of tea was welcome ( not like the small cup in most places) The host and staff most helpfull.Parking a little tight ..but hey...well worth the squeeze. lol.We didnt try the other food on offer, but by the look of other peoples reactions,tasted like they looked....out of this world..Best suprise was the prices, cheaper than others we had tried, and twice the size ! And genuine home made ,
Will be back for more later on in the year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Steven S " perfect place and fantastic food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We visited Olive's Garden with family who live in Cornwall. The food was AMAZING!!!and Penny and Johnny made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for their customers. We enjoyed our visits so much we returned on three separate occasions. If you visit Cornwall, this is a place you must visit because the cakes are scrumptious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive's Garden also viewed

 
St Agnes, Cornwall
Truro, Cornwall
 

Been to Olive's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.