We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning little retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison d'Ulysse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison d'Ulysse to your Saves list
La Maison d'Ulysse
20 Place Ulysse Dumas, 30700 Baron, Uzes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Baron B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“stunning little retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had such a lovely 2 days here. Gautier and Guy, and Claire were such wonderful hosts. We really couldn't have asked for more. Gorgeous, spacious room, stunning pool, fantastic food and lovely people. The house has been effortlessly converted into a chic and relaxing space. We'd definitely recommend staying here, and hopefully we'll make our stay longer next time! They also gave us a delicious pot of homemade jam when we left, which was such a sweet treat- also not to mention a nice, cool glass of wine on arrival! Have a great end to the summer Gautier, Guy and Claire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
162
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at La Maison d'Ulysse. We were given a warm welcome by Guy, Gautier & Claire, the charming and very capable Housekeeper. Our suite was lovely, spacious and unusual with many original features. Breakfast was superb, beautifully presented and everything one could possibly want. I do think they need to decide whether they are a "boutique hotel" or simply a very upmarket B & B. We spent 3 nights there and Gautier only cooked dinner (very good indeed) on one night (a Wednesday). On the other 2 nights we had to go and find a restaurant elsewhere (the one they recommended was 17k from Baron and parking only available a very steep climb away from the restaurant). After a long drive down from the Cevennes that day, the last thing we needed was to have to get back into the car and drive yet more miles. They no longer recommend the restaurant close by in the village of Baron. A very basic salad lunch is available on request on the days when Gautier is not in command of the kitchen.
All in all, quite delightful, but they need to decide exactly what they are prepared to provide. We would certainly go back there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite Fleur Dumas, which was lovely and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Of all the places I've stayed in France over the past thirty years, this stands out as the most personally hospitable and gloriously relaxing I have encountered, to date. The sense of being "at home" while receiving such individual attention was one of the reasons Us Girls changed plans and stayed three extra days. Not something we do! Our suite was large and the bathroom was perfectly equipped for women. Any extras were happily provided, the pillows were right, phew!, The towels were big and the air conditioning works,quietly. The Hammam was ready on a whim.Food is available all day on request. The building has been carefully restored with unique details and without ostentation.
The pool is set in a peaceful and pretty garden, a haven for butterflies. The nearest town is Uzes, offering a market twice a week and a good selection of cafes and restaurants .La Maison D'Ulysse is the perfect base from which to explore the area.
Our hosts Gautier and Guy, plus the wonderful Claire, were delightful and memorable. .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our intention when we booked this short 3 night break was to relax in nice surroundings whilst eating good food and mooching around interesting local villages. This is exactly what we did at La Maison d'Ulysse.
The outside gives nothing away and we entered with some trepidation but as soon as we stepped inside we were absolutely and utterly entranced and delighted. Gauthier and Guy are effortless hosts. We like our own space but they knew exactly how to play it. They were always there if we needed them and gave invaluable advice. They cook twice a week and in many ways this is perfect as they are happy to give advice about local restaurants. (We had the most wonderful meal in Vezenobres).
The renovation is wonderful with a magical combination of old and new. Rooms are comfortable, quirky and great fun to stay in.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at La Maison d'Ulysse for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. We booked through Mr and Mrs Smith.

We were welcomed warmly by Claire, who actually provided excellent service throughout our stay and made us feel very at home. Claire made us comfy quickly and served us with a glass of wine to enjoy by the pool. Gauthier and Guy were also extremely welcoming and sat down with us to recommend villages and markets we might like to see. We recommend the village Uzes, especially the Saturday market. We were 'checked on' throughout our stay to make sure we were happy and had everything we needed.

The hotel itself it simply wonderful. The architecture and interior design is modern and stylish. It was a pleasure to spend 5 days in the hotel and grounds. The gardens and pool offer a tranquil space to relax, it feel like a secret retreat.

Our air conditioned room was again stylish and we had several options of pillows, blankets, covers and sheets to ensure we were comfortable. The room was very clean and was cleaned each morning whilst we were down at breakfast.

There was a wide choice set out for breakfast, including local produce. This was delicious. We also booked into the Friday night dinner which Gauthier and Guy hosted. This was just gorgeous! Where possible they use food from the garden which they grow and consequently the food is delicious and fresh. Gauthier is an excellent chef.

Overall we had an amazing stay and we haven't stopped talking about it to our friends and family. We recommend staying here very highly and we will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Gauthier and Guy are excellent hosts: warm and welcoming, ready to help. A great sense of aesthetics, the renovated property has been done in such good taste, clearly paying attention to all the details that make it both charming and beautiful. Everything was impeccable and we highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Can't add much to what has been said before...Charming old but completely renovated house in the middle of nowhere but still near Uzès which is a beautiful city to visit. The hospitality, the ground, the pool, the breakfast, everything is top-notch. It's the kind of place where you want to unpack, settle down and stay more than one night...like we did...!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison d'Ulysse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Ulysse

Address: 20 Place Ulysse Dumas, 30700 Baron, Uzes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Uzes > Baron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your stay in the South of France, just a stone’s throw from Uzès and Pont du Gard… Guy and Gauthier welcome you to the Maison d’Ulysse, located between Avignon and Nîmes, at the crossroads between Provence, Languedoc and the Cévennes. This prestige boutique hotel is a real haven of peace, immersing you in a natural, restful setting. A perfect spot for recharging your batteries, in the middle of the garrigue scrubland, between the sea and the region’s numerous tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison d'Ulysse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison d'Ulysse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.